We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,882)
Filter reviews
6,882 results
Traveller rating
2,173
2,046
1,348
758
557
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,173
2,046
1,348
758
557
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln centered's chowder housegossip girlpool deckcentral parkcolumbus circlegreat locationrooftop barnew yorkupper west sidejunior suiterooms are smallaround the cornertimes squarefew blocksnycstarbucks
Filter
Updating list...
3,898 - 3,903 of 6,882 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The elevators were not working well while we stayed there but everything else was fantastic. The rooms are well sized, nicely decorated, comfortable. The location is truly amazing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Herbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Herbert H,

Thanks for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page. The only reason why you found our elevators to be slow was due to an ongoing renovation with our elevators. One elevator is being taken out of service at a time, to be fully modernized.

Great to hear that you enjoyed everything else at the hotel, including the service. We do hope and trust you'll think of us again when planning a return trip here and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if there is anything we can assist with.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the Empire hotel in NYC through a package with BA in July. We were given a room on the 11th floor and told it was an upgrade from the room we had booked. The room was very nice although quite narrow and long. There were two queen sized beds in the room. It was really warm in the room when we arrived at 7 pm. The A/C was an outdated unit under the window in the center of the room. We turned the temp down as low as it would go and left soon afterwards to go to dinner. On our return several hours later, the room was still really warm and very uncomfortable. We called the front desk and asked to be moved the next day. We were told to leave all of our things packed in the room and they would be moved to another room by 5 pm the next day. We barely slept all night because the room was so warm and had to sleep on top of the covers. Came back to the hotel the next day at 5 and although we were given a room on the 8th floor, our things didn't arrive for another hour. This room was still really warm and after two engineers arrived and cleaned the filter, they said it would get better, but it didn't. It was better than the 11th floor, but far from great. The temp was my only real complaint, other than the halls were REALLY hot and the elevators were unbelievably slow. The location was good. 59th nd Broadway, but I wouldn't stay there again as long as the A/C was the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tracey5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello tracey5105,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel, we are sorry however, that your experience feel below your expectations.

Your situation with the climate control units was isolated and by no means a systemic issue here at The Empire Hotel. We are in the midst of renovating all of our elevators and one elevator will be out of service for the foreseeable future. We do not understand this has impact on the guest experience, but this is a proactive step.

Please do reconsider a return visit to The Empire Hotel as we would love to have you back. If you need any convincing, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

There are some good and bad points to this hotel but overall I probably expected it to be better.

We arrived just before check in time and being tired after a long flight we were more than ready to get into our room. We were told it would be 30 minutes...... Then after that another 10 minutes...... Then another 5. We got our room at about 4pm and in the end it wasn't the room they mentioned as that still wasn't ready.

The staff on the desk seemed to be very busy and 2 were dealing with complaints while I was waiting. Because of our wait they did give me complimentary wifi.

Not sure if the room we should have had would have been better but the one got was very small. Coffee machine but never use it as it was $3 a small cup so the Starbucks next door was a better option.

One reason we booked was because of the pool for the kids. The picture on the website is very misleading. The plunge pool is tiny and wasn't really suitable for kids.

Enough of the moaning!!!

The hotel is in a great location. Not too far from The sights and Times Square and just over the road from Central Park. The staff were generally friendly and the rooftop bar is nice.

I don't have any other New York hotels to compare this with but i did expect better. All in all we didn't use the room for much more than sleeping as it's New York! So you will be out and about most of the day but I probably wished we had just paid a bit less and tried somewhere different.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Michael V,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We are sorry that it left you with an impression of expecting more. Our goal is to have all rooms ready by 3:00 pm, but occasionally this is not possible due to various operational reasons.

All guests are more than welcome to visit Starbucks and pass on the in-room coffee. This is simply an option that no guest is obligated to opt into. Please advise us of the "misleading" information on the website as we believe this is not the case. We can be reached at gm@empirehotelnyc.com. Yes, our plunge pool is not suitable for swimming laps or a game of water polo, but there is no disputing that it is a refreshing and unique feature of the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our location, we do agree that it is perfectly situated.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Was disappointed with this hotel, room was very basic, poor lighting, lifts breaking down all the time, carpets smelly and bathroom tiny but to end on a positive note staff very helpful and great location. Would think about paying extra for different hotel in same location next time

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Pauline R,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel, we are however sorry that your experience fell below your expectations.

We would like to know what else we could be providing in the room to make it less basic. Please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com, we would appreciate hearing from you. We do shampoo the guest room carpets on a very regular basis, but I do apologize that yours had an odor.

On a positive note, we are pleased that you found the service levels to be good as well as the location. We do hope that you do reconsider the likelihood of returning to The Empire Hotel as we feel strongly that your experience was an isolated one.

Thank you and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Not in a good way. Elevators rarely worked. Housekeeping continuously tried to enter room around 8 am every morning not to clean room but to see what they could charge for items available in the room. Staff was not courteous. Location is only thing going for this place

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank nlwithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello nlwithers,

Sorry to hear that your stay with The Empire Hotel fell below your expectations. We are in the process of fully renovating and replacing our elevators which is why you would have experienced periodic extended wait times, during high demand times of the day.

We do provide "Do Not Disturb" and "Please Make Up Room" signs in all guest rooms for convenience and privacy. We encourage all guests to use these signs each day so we do not cause any inconvenience to their day.

We would appreciate learning more about our staff not being courteous. If you would be so kind to email some specific details to gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thank you and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews