We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Parker New York(New York City)
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 52% below average rates

The price you found is 52% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$305/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Archer Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,631)
Filter reviews
6,631 results
Traveller rating
2,100
1,981
1,297
722
531
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,100
1,981
1,297
722
531
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln centered's chowder housegossip girlpool deckcentral parkcolumbus circlegreat locationrooftop barnew yorkupper west sidejunior suiterooms are smallaround the cornertimes squarenycstarbuckssubway
Filter
Updating list...
3,671 - 3,676 of 6,631 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room had terrible noisy air conditioning which smelt as well. We reported this and when we enquired an hour later we were told that we were on the list. No one came and we unplugged the fans when we were in the room.

Brilliant location next to the Lincoln Centre and very near Central Park.

Unless it's cheap stay somewhere else nice and spend the money on cabs

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Peter F,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel, we are however sorry that your experience fell rather far, below your expectations.

Although we disagree with your assessment of the hotel being shabby, we appreciate your feedback. It's too bad your situation was not addressed when you were still with us, so you could at least enjoy a portion of your stay. We do understand that not everyone's experience will be perfect, but we prefer to address the unfortunate circumstances when the guest is still with us.

We can say with complete confidence that your experience was an isolated one and not common of what guests have come to expect from The Empire over the past 120 years. We invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com so we can address your concerns personally.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We did an early check-in at noon, and could not check-in until 3PM. We reserved a high floor room with a view. We returned at 7PM for our room and the front desk said it wasn't ready. I wasn't too happy with this answer. We ended up getting a 4th floor room with a view of the street. The front desk made an attempt to apologize with (2) free drink coupons... too bad we don't drink. The room was very nice and the hotel was gorgeous. I had to clean a large hair clump out of the shower drain (which was nasty) but otherwise it was a very clean and overpriced NY hotel. I would go back, if I could get the same price deal as last time. For full price, I would upgrade. Location was perfect, three blocks from subway and central park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Franklin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Franklin H,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience on our Trip Advisor page.

We are very sorry to hear about the late access you were given to your room. Occasionally this does happen and we do our best to make this up to all guests when any inconvenience happens. Aside from this, we are thrilled that you enjoyed everything else about the hotel and do look forward to welcoming you back, when the opportunity arises.

Thanks again, if there is anything we can assist with leading up to your next visit to New York, we invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Empire Hotel and found the experience a good one. The concierge was extremely helpful and patient. The room was nicely appointed though the bathroom was exceeding small. For 1 night it was tolerable. Since we were going to Avery Fischer for a concert the location was perfect. We also enjoyed a lovely breakfast outdoors at The Smith across the street. Only one issue to fault. The elevators are slow not working well. This should be fixed asap!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Susan S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community!

Great to hear that the service levels that you received exceeded your expectations, but the size of the bathroom was a frustrating feature. The reason why the elevators are slow is because we are in the middle of renovating them. We are renovating the cars one at a time, and this does impact the efficiency and frequency of the cars.

Please do think of us again when your travels bring you back to New York City and do not hesitate to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com and we'd be pleased to assist with anything you might need.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The elevators were not working well while we stayed there but everything else was fantastic. The rooms are well sized, nicely decorated, comfortable. The location is truly amazing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Herbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Herbert H,

Thanks for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page. The only reason why you found our elevators to be slow was due to an ongoing renovation with our elevators. One elevator is being taken out of service at a time, to be fully modernized.

Great to hear that you enjoyed everything else at the hotel, including the service. We do hope and trust you'll think of us again when planning a return trip here and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com if there is anything we can assist with.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the Empire hotel in NYC through a package with BA in July. We were given a room on the 11th floor and told it was an upgrade from the room we had booked. The room was very nice although quite narrow and long. There were two queen sized beds in the room. It was really warm in the room when we arrived at 7 pm. The A/C was an outdated unit under the window in the center of the room. We turned the temp down as low as it would go and left soon afterwards to go to dinner. On our return several hours later, the room was still really warm and very uncomfortable. We called the front desk and asked to be moved the next day. We were told to leave all of our things packed in the room and they would be moved to another room by 5 pm the next day. We barely slept all night because the room was so warm and had to sleep on top of the covers. Came back to the hotel the next day at 5 and although we were given a room on the 8th floor, our things didn't arrive for another hour. This room was still really warm and after two engineers arrived and cleaned the filter, they said it would get better, but it didn't. It was better than the 11th floor, but far from great. The temp was my only real complaint, other than the halls were REALLY hot and the elevators were unbelievably slow. The location was good. 59th nd Broadway, but I wouldn't stay there again as long as the A/C was the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tracey5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello tracey5105,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel, we are sorry however, that your experience feel below your expectations.

Your situation with the climate control units was isolated and by no means a systemic issue here at The Empire Hotel. We are in the midst of renovating all of our elevators and one elevator will be out of service for the foreseeable future. We do not understand this has impact on the guest experience, but this is a proactive step.

Please do reconsider a return visit to The Empire Hotel as we would love to have you back. If you need any convincing, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews