We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it looks in the pics!”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #344 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Negatives - Hotel is advertised as a 4star. More like a 2/3 star. Room size not too bad though shower room very small and flooded a lot. The view - hotel air conditioning units and piping - which are VERY noisy and hotel walls. What happened to the Lincoln Centre/Central Park views. Room service & mini bar VERY overpriced. Food and drinks expensive. Pool is tiny and not like the pictures. I paid extra for breakfast by the pool (seved 8-11). Turned up at 10 one day and 9 another and hardly any food left and what was left there was pretty bad and obviously not edible. Lifts of the 4 there was always 2 broken and were very slow. Roof top bar - I was turned away as it was too busy with outsiders even though I was staying in the hotel. Decor is very dated and tatty and in need of a refresh.

Positives - excellent location for everything. Room was cleaned well daily. Mr. Zee was excellent at reception as were a few of the others and couldn't do enough to help most of the time.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank 84sjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,281 - 3,287 of 6,193 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great room with a gorgeous view
Thanks Mr Ze for the upgrade
Looking forward to staying here more often this makes it hard to resist not coming back here very often.
Furniture is modern and hip.
Looking forward to sitting by the pool and having drinks and lunch tomorrow

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Dagabman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Dagabman,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel; we are thrilled to be included in your anniversary celebrations!

Great news that Ze took great care of you and enjoyed the location, the view and the style and design of our unique hotel! Please do enjoy the pool deck as the weather is supposed to be beautiful for the next several days and there is no better place to be enjoying delicious cocktails!

Please enjoy the rest of your stay and if there is anything we can assist with, please dial extension 7030 and we'd be pleased to help.

All the best and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Before I begin this review I should say that having read through some of the reviews prior to my stay I was really concerned about my booking and whether the hotel would meet my (previously high) expectations.
I made my concerns known to the hotel via the power of social media and on arrival at the hotel (a Saturday night in June at around 9pm) we had been upgraded to a corner suite free of charge. I was really happy & surprised about this.
Our room was really big (by City standards) had a lounge area and a good sized bathroom.
Our room was on the 10th floor and yes the lifts are slow and a tad unreliable.
We weren't disturbed by the street noise or by the roof top bar.
The bed was comfy but the wardrobe space left a lot to be desired. Considering that tourists do a lot of shopping in NYC, wardrobes could be better.
The bathroom was ok, it had a shower although no shower screen so the floor got pretty wet every time you washed.
Breakfast in the hotel was in their restaurant and was a choice if A la Carte or Continental buffet, we are here twice and were satisfied.
The rooftop is a really nice addition after a day in the city. The pool is tiny but it's a nice novelty.

Not sure I would stay here again or even if I would recommend it to friends but we did have an enjoyable stay and were happy and grateful for the free room upgrade.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello sarahp103,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page.

We understand that reading reviews can certainly influence travelers and ultimately determine where guests stay, we do appreciate you persevering and choosing to stay with us. We are in the middle of a full elevator modernization project which explains why you experienced any extended wait times for the elevator. Yes, we have one elevator out of service, but this is based on proactive circumstances.

We do hope that your opinion changes and you do decide to make a return visit to The Empire Hotel. If you require any convincing, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Upon arrival, Mr. Ze was very helpful with check in. Once he noticed I was traveling with children, he upgraded our rooms to get them close together. We found the rooms to be very clean and well stocked. We will be very comfortable here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Jen A,

Thank you for choosing The Empire Hotel and welcome!

Great to hear that Ze got your stay off to a perfect start and managed to get you situated ideally with your family. Just as important, the rooms need to be comfortable and well-stocked, so we are pleased you feel this way.

Please do enjoy your experience here at The Empire Hotel and do not hesitate to call on us if there is anything that you need assistance with.

Enjoy!

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Perfectly located. Rooms adequately sized and very clean. Good value.
While we did not go to the rooftop lounge, it seemed to be very popular. Concierge was very helpful in getting us to the right subways and attractions. Rooftop "pool" however was more of a lap pool, so not great for kids. Ed's Chowder House a great restaurant.



  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tricia15002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Tricia15002,

Thanks so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for writing such a generous review about your overall experience!

It's always rewarding to hear guests comment about our great location, cleanliness and service levels! Between these things and our Rooftop, Pool Deck and Ed's Chowder House, it certainly makes it easy to have a great stay with us!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel and kindly ask that you recommend us to your family, friends and/or colleagues. If there is anything assistance we can provide leading up to your next visit, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We paid extra money for a room with two queen-sized beds, but they put us in a room with two double beds instead. When I politely mentioned this to the people at the front desk, they told me that "hotel queen beds are actually smaller than real queen beds" and acted like I didn't know what I was talking about. They were rude, smug, and completely unprofessional, and refused to correct their error. The elevators are very slow and work about half the time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Great location. Very clean. Had to pay for tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast on the roof $15 for a Danish and a coffee. Bit pants when you've spent so much in the room. Great concierge. Close to Central Park and Broadway. Thin walls if people are having sex next door!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Katherine E,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Sorry you felt the Pool Deck breakfast was not of appropriate value and you did not indulge on the cereal, fruit and yogurt that is available to everyone paying the $15.00.

Excellent to hear that the Concierge delivered great service and you found the location of the hotel to optimal and very accessible to many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back and the hopefully your neighbors are much quieter the next time you stay with us. Should you need any assistance, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 469 in New York City
5,336 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#306 of 469 in New York City
1,113 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 469 in New York City
6,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 469 in New York City
4,380 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,639 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 469 in New York City
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £121 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing