We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Archer Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (6,645)
Filter reviews
6,645 results
Traveller rating
2,105
1,983
1,300
725
532
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,105
1,983
1,300
725
532
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln centered's chowder housegossip girlpool deckcentral parkcolumbus circlegreat locationrooftop barnew yorkupper west sidejunior suiterooms are smallaround the cornertimes squarenycstarbuckssubway
Filter
Updating list...
3,672 - 3,677 of 6,645 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel is well located to the West Side,Lincoln Center and restaurants. "Funky" atmosphere is great. Serious bar scene. A little worn in places. It gets a lot of traffic, fun to people watch. Good price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Richard E,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share some kind words about your experience.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the vibe and ambiance here at the hotel, that in conjunction with cleanliness, comfort and convenience are paramount to our success. The evenings here can get quite busy and are in high demand. This results in an exciting environment for all of our guests to enjoy and have exclusive access to.

We are looking forward to a full guest room renovation in early 2015 which will give The Empire Hotel a fresh new look, while maintaining it's unique decor and style. We look forward to a return visit from you. In the meantime, we thank you in advance for referrals to your family, friends and colleagues.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous find ( thanks to Trailfinders) - centrally located and value for money. The hotel is quirky with great decor and lovely rooms. The bathrooms are well stocked and have a great shower.

I could not fault the staff in any way, BA lost all our luggage and they could not do enough to help us, lending us adapters, offering free Wi- Fi and keeping us up to date with news.

The rooftop bar was my best highlight and only complaint. It has the most incredible views and the perfect place to relax on after a day out in NY. The fact it closes at 9pm is such a waste of the hotels best feature! Having said that I think $20 for a small beer and 2 cans of coke was scandalous and possibly would put people off staying up there. I'd really suggest looking at this as the prime selling point. It's quite spectacular!

Thanks for a wonderful stay and I'd recommend your hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Nicola B,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community!

The organization that you reserved with is a great partner of ours and has been for quite some time. Although it is very unfortunate to hear about the airline losing your luggage, I am thrilled to hear that the staff went above and beyond to make you as comfortable as possible, considering the circumstances.

Thank you for the feedback about your Pool Deck experience. The demand at this venue really reduces after 6:00 pm, so staying open anytime after 9:00 pm is not necessary on most days. We invite all guests to move down one level to The Rooftop for some creative cocktails and show off your dance moves after 9:00 pm. The view is just as spectacular from the 12th floor and it really is a great environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you in advance for recommending The Empire to your family, friends and colleagues. If you need any assistance when planning your next trip to New York, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Empire Hotel is at a great location in Lincoln Center. Not as hectic as Times Square but easy access to everything in the city. Rooms are nice. Make sure you check the size as some rooms are small. The Chowder House at the hotel is very good. We visit several times a year.

Room Tip: always check the size of the room and the floor. higher rooms have a better view of Lincoln Center.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Diane S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your great experience on our Trip Advisor page!

We could not agree with you more about our location and it's convenience and accessibility. It is ideal not being in the middle of Times Square, but yet being within a 15 minute walk. You're absolutely right, we have a wide range of rooms as it relates to square footage and we highly encourage all guests to do their homework when making reservations. The last thing we want is disappointment when all guests first enter their assigned room.

We thank you for your ongoing loyalty and are already looking forward to your next stay! If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is affordable and in a great location, across from the Lincoln Center, very near Central Park and within walking distance of Times Square. Great rooftop bar, although it is a little difficult to access as the elevator doesn't go all the way up to the roof. Everything was clean. Speaking of elevators, they still haven't managed to get that issue under control yet. Several times there was only one working. Other than that, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Margaret J,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community!

Great to hear that appreciated the value and location of the hotel and this exceeded your expectations. As it relates to our elevators, we are in the middle of a full replacement of all four elevators. Currently we are working on 1 of 4, but major progress is being made.

Please do think of us again and we appreciate your referrals and recommendations to family, friends and colleagues. If you need any assistance when planning your next trip to New York, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wonderful location, funky lobby, mostly great staff, good value for money. Loud grumbling A/C (in two rooms where we stayed), terrible Internet service, tiny bathroom, small and cramped toilet, shower sprays water all over the place, some awful staff, pay-for-view TV never worked in two weeks, loud club on top floor.

What could be a great hotel smack on Lincoln Center is a rather run-down hotel with tiny rooms. Most of the staff is extremely helpful, empathetic, plain nice. Some others are as responsive as wall paper. Not bad for the price, a somewhat endearing place that could be in much better shape.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a quiet A/C, good Internet connection, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rsachs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello rsachs24,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and please allow us to apologize that your stay was only mediocre.

Hopefully our maintenance team was able to assist with your loud climate control unit, they are here 24 hours per day and ready to assist. To our knowledge, we did not have any widespread internet challenges recently, sorry you were subject to this.

The associates here at The Empire Hotel are known for their hospitable charm and to hear that this contradicts your feelings is rather surprising.

Thanks for your feedback,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews