We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 11 August 2014

No thermostats in the rooms. Just a fan to set on either HI or LOW. Rooms were musty smelling. Bellman/Doorman almost got in a fight with the limo driver who came to pick us up. Our driver had to ask other cars to move out of the way. When he asked the bellman why THEy weren't doing it, they got defensive and confrontational. They acted in an extremely unprofessional manor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Carmen G,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. Would you be so kind an email us to let us know what was overpriced? We can be reached at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

The thermostats are integrated in the climate control units. All guests can fully control the temperature of the air leaving the unit. While more recent technology has an external digital thermostat that occupants have full control over and setting their preferred temperature, we do not have this functionality.

Sorry that you were subject to a disagreement between your limo driver and the bell men here at the hotel. We understand that the interaction between the two parties was unprofessional and this should not have happened.

Thanks for your feedback and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,152)
There are newer reviews for Empire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,237 - 3,243 of 6,152 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

From check in to check out, I really enjoyed my stay at the Empire Hotel. Mr. Ze at the front desk was very helpful with an upgrade! The room was big by Manhattan standards, and very clean and welcoming. The rooftop bar is also worth a visit! I stayed on a Monday and their was live Jazz music, which was truly lovely! I did get quite dressed up, as I had read reviews online that said they were strict with their dress code. But judging from the crowd I don't think that it always the case.
Overall this is a really great hotel in a location where you can walk to a lot of the main sites in NYC!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Kirsten M,

Thanks so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your perfect experience with the Trip Advisor community!

We are thrilled that you had such a great stay and our Front Desk Agent, Ze, played such a major role in your experience. The Rooftop Bar on Sunday's and Monday's is definitely worth checking out and we're glad that you enjoyed this as well.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and ask that you recommend us to your family, friends and colleagues in the meantime. Should you need any assistance leading up to your next stay, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

Thanks and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It was good you have someone taking care of you when you check in. The room is so so and a air conditioner making noises bet we get help with smile and a difrent room weich is good makes everything different

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Eli B,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel! In spite of a few challenges you had, it is clear that Ze's level of service trumped everything, which is great to see!

We do understand that things may not always be perfect, but it is our service levels and recovery efforts that can really turn things around and or be the leading factor in what makes any experience a positive one.

We do look forward to your next stay with us and ask that in the meantime, if you could recommend us to your family, friends and colleagues. If there is anything we can assist with leading up your next trip to New York, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com!

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently stayed at The Empire Hotel. Amazing service and very fun decor. Room was clean equipped with a flat screen TV. Amazing big shower. Jose comped us WiFi and was very welcoming.

Great location! Greeters at the door when you arrive and always happy to see you when you come back.

DON'T forget the introduce yourself to Andrea and Frank at the Lobby Bar. Amazing people who actually make you feel welcome. Frank is handsome and Andrea is an amazing beauty.

Entire stay was perfect!

Room Tip: We had Superior King Room. It's Manhattan so don't expect large
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davidz286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Davidz286,

Thanks so much for your recent review and for posting such a great review on our Trip Advisor page!

It's always rewarding when guests extend the generosity of mentioning specific associates here at the hotel. It's great to hear that Jose, Frank and Andrea all exceeded your expectations and had a memorable impact on your overall experience. It always helps the experience when the guest room you're staying in clean and spacious!

Please do think of us again when your travels bring you back to NYC and we would appreciate any and all referrals to your family, friends and/or colleagues. If there is anything we can assist with leading up to your next trip to New York, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel is well located to the West Side,Lincoln Center and restaurants. "Funky" atmosphere is great. Serious bar scene. A little worn in places. It gets a lot of traffic, fun to people watch. Good price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Richard E,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share some kind words about your experience.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the vibe and ambiance here at the hotel, that in conjunction with cleanliness, comfort and convenience are paramount to our success. The evenings here can get quite busy and are in high demand. This results in an exciting environment for all of our guests to enjoy and have exclusive access to.

We are looking forward to a full guest room renovation in early 2015 which will give The Empire Hotel a fresh new look, while maintaining it's unique decor and style. We look forward to a return visit from you. In the meantime, we thank you in advance for referrals to your family, friends and colleagues.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous find ( thanks to Trailfinders) - centrally located and value for money. The hotel is quirky with great decor and lovely rooms. The bathrooms are well stocked and have a great shower.

I could not fault the staff in any way, BA lost all our luggage and they could not do enough to help us, lending us adapters, offering free Wi- Fi and keeping us up to date with news.

The rooftop bar was my best highlight and only complaint. It has the most incredible views and the perfect place to relax on after a day out in NY. The fact it closes at 9pm is such a waste of the hotels best feature! Having said that I think $20 for a small beer and 2 cans of coke was scandalous and possibly would put people off staying up there. I'd really suggest looking at this as the prime selling point. It's quite spectacular!

Thanks for a wonderful stay and I'd recommend your hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Nicola B,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community!

The organization that you reserved with is a great partner of ours and has been for quite some time. Although it is very unfortunate to hear about the airline losing your luggage, I am thrilled to hear that the staff went above and beyond to make you as comfortable as possible, considering the circumstances.

Thank you for the feedback about your Pool Deck experience. The demand at this venue really reduces after 6:00 pm, so staying open anytime after 9:00 pm is not necessary on most days. We invite all guests to move down one level to The Rooftop for some creative cocktails and show off your dance moves after 9:00 pm. The view is just as spectacular from the 12th floor and it really is a great environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you in advance for recommending The Empire to your family, friends and colleagues. If you need any assistance when planning your next trip to New York, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Empire Hotel is at a great location in Lincoln Center. Not as hectic as Times Square but easy access to everything in the city. Rooms are nice. Make sure you check the size as some rooms are small. The Chowder House at the hotel is very good. We visit several times a year.

Room Tip: always check the size of the room and the floor. higher rooms have a better view of Lincoln Center.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Diane S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your great experience on our Trip Advisor page!

We could not agree with you more about our location and it's convenience and accessibility. It is ideal not being in the middle of Times Square, but yet being within a 15 minute walk. You're absolutely right, we have a wide range of rooms as it relates to square footage and we highly encourage all guests to do their homework when making reservations. The last thing we want is disappointment when all guests first enter their assigned room.

We thank you for your ongoing loyalty and are already looking forward to your next stay! If there is anything we can assist with, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,241 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#352 of 468 in New York City
4,348 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#389 of 468 in New York City
6,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#226 of 468 in New York City
3,683 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#75 of 468 in New York City
3,585 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £143 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing