We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and well located”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #349 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Mr. Zé recomendation
The rooms are clean and very well decorated. But the lobby is a little dark.
We were very well receveid
And the hotel is very well located. Next to Brodway avenue.
When we arrived there wasn't water in the rooms. It took abouttwo hours to return...

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janacavalheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph C, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Hello Janacavalheiro,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad you found our centrally located hotel convenient during your stay as well as noting our well appointed rooms. We are sure our guest service agent Ze provided you with exceptional service and we are grateful you have mentioned him by name.

We apologize you were temporarily inconvenienced with limited access to water while the hotel performed routine maintenance with our water system. Please reach out to us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com when you decide to visit again so we can arrange for a warm welcome back. Thank you for staying with us!

Best Regards,
Joseph C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,227 - 3,233 of 6,226 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just got back from 5 days in NYC. My teenage son and I stayed at the Empire. The best thing about it is the location. It is right across from Lincoln Center, close to Columbus Circle and the Central Park, and a subway ride to everything else. The rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller, but not unusual for New York. The funny thing about the bathroom is that only half of the shower staff is contained so no matter how hard I tried, I soaked the bathroom every time I took a shower. I think they will deal with this when they do their planned remodel. Also, the air conditioner in our first room was quite noisy and knocked when the cold air kicked in. I found the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. We requested an upgrade to two doubles and they gave us one at a modest price. As others have said, the mini bar items are very expensive, but if you go around the corner to Starbucks or Duane Reade, you can easily find cheaper snacks. One big disappointment was the pool. In the hotel photos, the pool looked like, well, a pool. When we arrived, we realized it is really a very tiny pool no more than 5 feet across and maybe 20 feet long. The main feature of the "pool deck" is the bar, and there is lots of action there in the evenings. We didn't feel the pool was really worth swimming in, and that was a disappointment, but the view from the pool deck area is stunning. Finally, our second room was on the street side, which was quite noisy even late at night. Perhaps some soundproofing on the street side is in order. Overall, a really nice hotel, and a few tweaks will make it a great hotel.

Room Tip: Street side rooms will get noise from the street even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adenacb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello adenacb1,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

The location of the hotel without question, is second to none! Sorry that your room was somewhat on the small side and the water from the shower did not stay contained. Perhaps next time, you can treat yourself to Superior or Deluxe room category. We frequently maintain the climate control units in the guest rooms and it's unfortunate that the compressor was making such a loud noise when turning on; hopefully maintenance had the chance to address this during your stay.

Our pool can very well be perceived on the small side and we do apologize you felt the photography on our website is somewhat misleading. There is no questioning however this novelty and the great environment that we provide in the space, and how refreshing the pool is, even if just for a quick dip.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future. If you need any assistance when planning your next trip, please email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Will update further into my week long stay but first impressions: tasteful, comfortable, very clean, all amenities, good wifi, incredible location for theater and UWS. Best is the staff: kudos to Minerva for a smiling, helpful, welcome brimming with professionalism and warmth. This far: I'm impressed and highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Bob N,

Thank you so much for choosing The Empire Hotel and we hope and trust you're enjoying your stay this far and are confident you'll leave with great memories!

Your comments about the service (specifically Minerva) are much appreciated as well as the cleanliness and comfort of your guest room. These elements of a hotel experience are often taken for granted and we're happy to see this is not the case with you, based on your generosity.

Please enjoy the rest of your stay and do not hesitate to call Minerva or any of her colleagues if there is anything at all that we can assist with.

All the best!

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. I stayed in a suite thinking I would have all of the amenities. No wifi, no hot water (ever). Shower leaked on the floor and the room itself was dark and the layout was awkward. Service was terrible (except for the bartender, Andrea.. she was fantastic). The hotel front desk was blatantly rude to the patrons and me. The "club" brought in some interesting characters. Elevators hardly ever worked. The hotel was run down and I was not impressed at all. The hotel staff were unapologetic and frankly, the level of service I expected to see was just not there. I don't think anyone I witnessed during my stay were impressed with the hotel or the staff (sans Ricky at front desk, Andrea, and one other person working behind bar).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Sarah H,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel. We are very sorry that you had such a poor experience with us. It is very unfortunate about the inconvenience in your guest room as we had plenty of hot water in the rest of the building and every other guest room had wifi!

It's not very often we hear that the front desk is rude, but we do apologize that you had this perception. Their goal is to simply exceed the expectations of our guests each and every time. Our elevators are currently being renovated, which is why one was out of service during your stay. We cannot operate the car and renovate it, simultaneously.

At least Andrea and Ricky were the only "bright light" about your experience; we'll be sure that they receive the feedback you have offered about them.

We will begin renovations in early 2015 and many of the concerns that you mentioned will be addressed. Hopefully you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations at that time.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lots of pros and cons for this hotel, whose web site lauds its "lavish" rooms.

Pro: location, cheerful and friendly guys at the front door (not so much at the front desk), lovely rooftop pool deck and lounge, efficient service for our small convention, good food, window in room that actually opened, rational level (i.e. not Arctic) of air conditioning in public areas.

Con: room was tiny by any standards, lighting too dim for reading, bathroom so small it was easier to towel off in the bedroom, cold water in shower for the first 10 minutes, hot by 20 minutes (five mornings in a row), a vast array of items for sale (pods for the in-room coffee maker, water at $7.50 a throw, snacks and whatnot) taking up valuable real estate with not so much as a complimentary tea bag, paper cups only, ironing board but no iron, no hair dryer...

What the hotel could do better: improve lighting in rooms and halls, allow access to pool level during the day by the front entrance elevators so guests who have trouble with stairs can get there, stock the rooftop bar so that some of the beer listed on the menu is actually available, fix the hot water heating system to avoid such a shocking waste of water.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kitsilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello Kitsilano,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for the detailed review about your experience.

The service, location and food quality are certainly great features of hotel and we appreciate your recognizing this and sharing with the Trip Advisor community. We regulate the climate in the public areas at 22 Celsius and this accommodates 95% of our guests comfort levels.

We do have many categories of hotel rooms, sorry that you chose one that is on the smaller side. Perhaps next time you're with us, you could upgrade to a Superior or Deluxe room category. We do apologize about the hot water challenge, there is no reason or excuse for why this happened.

Thank you for all of your constructive feedback, it is all well-received. We do hope that we're within your realm of consideration when planning a return trip to New York, we would love this opportunity and provide a much improved experience.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I visited The Empire on 11th August this year. After reading mixed reviews I can say I was thrilled with our stay here. On checking in we were congratulated by staff on our wedding and were upgraded to a kingsize room where we were met with a bottle of champagne. What a lovely start! The room itself was great, not what you would expect from a kingsize room in England but we already knew that New York hotel rooms would be smaller. The bathroom was small and the shower had no door but was nice enough.The hotel is in a brilliant location, very close to subway stations and around a 15 minute walk to times square, also close by is central park and along 9th ave (hell's kitchen) there are lots of lovely restaurants and bars.
We visited the rooftop club one night, although the drinks are expensive, the club is great, busy and open until 4am. We went to the rooftop bar once when there was a hot day, great views, service and atmosphere. The pictures of the pool online are very deceiving though, I wouldn't call it a pool as it is very very small. Nevertheless people seemed to be having a good time.
Our stay at the Empire was made all the more fantastic by the friendly staff who are always willing to help with anything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jessica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello jessica m,

Thanks so much for including The Empire Hotel in your honeymoon celebration and congratulations on your recent nuptials!

We do have mixed reviews on our Trip Advisor page, but 2100 of the reviews are positive ranging from average to perfect! Our location certainly is a gem with incredible access to several world renowned attractions, many of which are a very easy walk.

I would agree that our Pool Deck pool is by no means large, but it does allow anyone to take a dip and cool off during the dog days of a New York summer! We strive to provide friendly and professional service throughout the entire hotel and are thrilled that you feel we delivered this!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel and invite you to email us at gm@empirehotelnyc.com is there is anything we can assist with leading up to your next visit.

Thanks again and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A former New Yorker and a seasoned visitor - have tried many NYC hotels over the years (east side, west side, mid-town, boutique, high-end, bargain, etc.) ... this hotel is a GREAT location for NYC and we had a room with a fabulous view of Lincoln Center and up Broadway ... would MAYBE consider staying here again for those two reasons ... but otherwise it is an expensive hotel for being outdated and cheap. Too bad - such a classic hotel - it could be so nice. Room with a view (albeit very small), beds very comfortable with great linens/pillows (thank goodness) - but the bathroom left much to be desired (standing room only) ... dumpy shower with cheap shower heads (broke while using), sink off the base, toilet barely worked. Did not appreciate the $7.50 for water and $3.50 for in-room cuppa coffee out of the little coffee pot. The lobby was okay but a time-warp - felt like I should be wearing go-go boots. Elevators didn't work that well. The staff was fair to midland (albeit friendly). On our way out in the morning a late night guest left some vomit in the elevator and the staff member we told didn't seem in too much of a hurry to clean it up. The hotel seems to be a magnet for the young crowd ... the rooftop bar/pool with DJ - again great but just not all that classy. It gets the job done but if you are looking for a higher end hotel or even a really cool boutique hotel ... this is not really up to par on that score.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonik322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello tonik322,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Empire Hotel and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page.

Our rates do fluctuate rather significantly from day to day and season to season. With this being said, you may well have been here during a very busy time when our rates were rather high. Sorry to hear about your bathroom experience, this is not feedback that we typically receive.

The minibar items are there for guest convenience, sorry that you did not appreciate this. We are in the midst of modernizing all of our elevators which being done one at a time. This does mean that we are down to three operating elevators, but this is due to proactive measures that we're taking.

The Rooftop on the weekends does often draw a younger crowd, too bad you were not here during the early days of the week, when they have live jazz at The Rooftop.

Thanks for your feedback and all the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 469 in New York City
5,405 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,492 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 469 in New York City
3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 469 in New York City
4,430 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 469 in New York City
4,881 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 469 in New York City
3,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £114 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing