We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ludlow New York City
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ludlow. Not only is it a beautiful property, the staff was really helpful and very friendly. They did not have a restaurant when I stayed there, and did not have cider in the bar, so I didn't really hang out there. The bed was SOOOO comfortable, and the location is amazing. Right next to Katz deli and right in the new hip part of the lower east side. There is a lot to do in the area and everything you could need is walking distance. That being said, there were a lot of people around super late at night. There is some great food nearby late at night too. I loved the room and the location very much. The only dumb thing was there are only 2 elevators, and sometimes they took forever to come get you. I would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: my room was on the 407 and it looked out on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msfixit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno V, General Manager at The Ludlow New York City, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear msfixit21

Thanks for sharing your feedback - Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel as much as the neighborhood we are part of. Most of our guests tend to agree with you : the beds are so comfortable! Looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    186
    53
    24
    6
See reviews for
72
290
55
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On my taxi ride in from JFK to the hotel, the cab driver looked aghast when I said I wanted to go to Ludlow Street. OMG, he said. That is such a strange neighborhood. You don't want to be there, he said. Well, he couldn't have been more wrong. Not only is the neighborhood hip and happening (and perfectly safe) but the hotel itself is FANTASTIC. Great service. Super friendly staff. Great rooms with incredibly comfortably beds, really nice amenities. There is no problem getting a taxi if you need one and there are lots of wonderful bars and restaurants in the area. Maybe it you're going to be spending your entire time in NYC on the Upper East Side (at museums, for example), this is a bit out of the way. But there are subways and it's not difficult at all. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blondventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno V, General Manager at The Ludlow New York City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear blondventures

Thank you so much for sharing your Ludlow experience.
We feel very proud that you have named us your new fave in NYC and look forward to welcome you back on a next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Words can not describe how wonderful our stay was. The rooms are very well appointed with beautiful furniture and deep soaking tubs. The staff could not be more genuine and accommodating. Both my mother and I plan on a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KendraGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno V, General Manager at The Ludlow New York City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear KendraGrace

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Ludlow. The team joins me in thanking you dearly for the kind words. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stumbled upon The Ludlow Hotel by chance there was no name or sign anywhere outside. My daughter lives in the lower east side and we were just curious to see this new building finally open in the neighborhood. As soon as we approached the building we were greeting by a nice doorman who said, "Welcome to The Ludlow Hotel". As soon as we walked in the lobby we were stunned by the design and craftsmanship. The staff was friendly and truly welcoming.
A handsome young man with an accent who looked a lot like Johnny Depp asked if we wanted to see a room.

He took us on a tour and we absolutely loved the king room. We were hesitant to ask about the price but luckily on our way down we were informed about the soft opening rates.

That same evening we decided to book the king room! We went back to my daughter’s tiny apartment packed our luggage & checked in The Ludlow Hotel.

Not only was the bed exceptionally comfortable, the views from our room were to die for and the bathroom was just gorgeous!

I told my husband this is the only New York City Hotel we are booking from now on. I hope their prices stay reasonable. Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno V, General Manager at The Ludlow New York City, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Liz B

We are so thrilled that you have named The Ludlow your new favorite hotel in NYC. Thank you for your kind works on the staff, in particular Christian, our very own Johnny Depp! We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Room size is small. But room is exquisite. Simply perfectly detailed. Front desk had a bit of an attitude, but it's NYC and I'm not always the most pleasant either. I stayed in a queen room, the bed was also extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno V, General Manager at The Ludlow New York City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Adam H

Thank you so much for staying with us. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of the bedding and the look and feel of your room. Sorry to hear about attitude from our front desk staff - being in NYC should not be a reason or excuse...We will definitely address this. Looking forward to welcome you back on a future visit downtown New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at the Ludlow before its official grand opening, so we got a great rate and an early look at this fresh new hotel on Ludlow in the Lower East Side, down the street from Katz's Deli. Great decor in the lobby that reminded me of a hip lodge combined with light fixtures that were reminiscent of Game of Thrones. The rooms were well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely view (of a school) and slept like babies after our days and evenings on the town.

The Ludlow wasn't quite finished with construction yet, but it looks like the bar and lobby lounge will be a great place to hang out before or after hitting the city. Plus, they serve a lovely continental breakfast and have a friendly bell staff awaiting your arrivals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RyanB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno V, General Manager at The Ludlow New York City, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear RyanB2011

Thank you for staying with us while we were putting on the finishing touches. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the look of the hotel as well as the friendly service.
Our lobby bar is now open and Dirty French, our restaurant, is on track to open mid summer. So primetime is around the corner. We hope you will be back with us on a future trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Newly Converted warehouse building with cool chic decor, huge modern ny deco style bathroom with rain shower head, deep soaker tub and great lighting. Comp. breakfast, great off- Houston st location and comfy, clean bed. Lobby still under a bit of construction. No way these opening low prices will last, it was an incredible value. Neatest hotel I've ever stayed at- modern and yet new york.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DvaRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno V, General Manager at The Ludlow New York City, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear DvaRK

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope The Ludlow will become your home away from home in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ludlow New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ludlow New York City

Property: The Ludlow New York City
Address: 180 Ludlow St, New York City, NY 10002-1514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ludlow New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ludlow New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing