We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked a room at the Comfort...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Ranked #269 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We booked a room at the Comfort...”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked a room at the Comfort Inn because it was one of very few hotels that offered two beds in the same room. Our experience at the hotel has been very disappointing. The hotel did not have our room available and only had a room available with one bed, despite the fact that we were charged extra for choosing a room with two beds. The receptionist refused to let me talk to her manager over this and told me that I should have called the hotel ahead of time to confirm that the specific room had been available.

Our room was extremely noisy. The heating was really loud, and we could not sleep at night with the fan on. And it was freezing cold when we turned it off. Moreover, there is a night club right next to the hotel that got pretty loud. And finally, our room was next to the dining area, and we were awoken at 6 am by noise from other guests and staff.

While our room had two telephones, a TV and a coffee-maker, it didn't have a closet or any other place to hang our clothes! Moreover, there was a four foot-high pile of trash right in front of the hotel entrance. Terrible experience, stay away!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dreamercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    459
    193
    64
    46
See reviews for
394
281
62
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I met up with some friends in NYC for the weekend and booked a Jr Suite at Comfort Inn Times Square and was amazed at how easy it was to access when I drove in from PA. There is parking across the street and they gave me a discount when I had the hotel stamp my ticket. There is a small lobby for check in and a larger waiting area in the basement and that worked out well b/c we all came into the city at different times. Our room was HUGE compared to others I had stayed in while visiting NYC (still small overall but that is how things are in NYC) There was a pull out sofa, 2 TVs, large bathroom,mini fridge, and microwave. Shavana at the front desk was a great hostess and made sure we had everything we needed. I would stay again for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Some friends and i took a small vacation to NYC for a few days just for leisure and it was awsome. Staying at this hotel was ok. the staff was very friendly and helpful. the location is great. walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping. Timesquares main attractions are a few blocks over so it was great. one downside though is that its right next door to a nite club so wen u get home late at night there is drunk people right outside your hotels front entrance door. kinda scary for 2 girls from texas traveling alone. also the rooms are tiny. would have been perfect had we not had luggage but of course we did. there was no room to even walk about the room to get dressed. we did ask for a bigger room but there was no availability. there is 4 rooms to a floor and the corner rooms are smaller than the other 2. the front desk attendant was very helpful and even tried to switch our rooms to accomodate us but with no luck. she also mentioned that most rooms in most hotels are the same size. i guess NYC hotels build up instead of out and that is why thier rooms are so narrow. Also before i forget the AC/heater unit is right below the window and the bed is against the window covering the unit so the AC/heater blows directly to the bed. kinda sucked. i visited another hotel with a friend and it was just as small so good luck. travel light. Other than that it was good. there is a concierge in the lobby ready to book your tours if your interested. we took several tours. i recommend the Top of the Rock tour. it took us every where we wanted to visit. statue of liberty, central park, soho, Rockfeller Center, etc. it was great and very inexpensive. Good Luck. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpsofia2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

they take towels from the room and don't return them. Also rooms.are way to small its like a cruiseship but with a horrible view of abandoned buildings.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dertyllama792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your feedback. I do see that you were a guest with us in April 2011. The hotel has not had a linen or terry shortage since I began as the General Manager last year. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the property in the near future; we are confident you would not be dissapointed.

The Comfort Inn Times Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After visiting NYC for 20 years and staying at various hotels, I am so glad I found this Comfort Inn last year. Within walking distance to Penn Station & Times Square. A ton of places to eat nearby as well. Modern rooms, very clean & the staff are super nice. Great complimentary breakfast. All in all, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleluvsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timessquare_gm, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive comments!! We try to keep all our guests happy and returning to the Comfort Inn Times Square! Looking forward to greeting you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our theatre company holds auditions in NYC frequently, so we've stayed at many hotels there over the past 20 years. This one was heads and shoulders above any other hotel we've stayed at!! The staff was SO friendly, the rooms were well-appointed and clean (although small but, then again, what reasonably priced hotel in NYC doesn't have small rooms?), parking was conveniently located directly across the street, they accommodated every request (from early check-in, to storing bags 5 hours past their normal cut-off period - in fact, when I offered the hotel staff person a small tip for the luggage accommodation, she politely refused and asked me to just write a positive review of the hotel!), and price could not be beat. The only minor negative comment is that the fan for the room heater went on and off frequently throughout the night - finally just turned it off. We've already recommended the hotel to others and will most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#253 of 468 in New York City
974 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,356 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#316 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#187 of 468 in New York City
562 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#266 of 468 in New York City
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square South
Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing