We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Times Square South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Ranked #266 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The rooms were clean, the staff were helpful and courteous. I really didn't think i would have found something that nice, so close to times square, for that rate.

It was a quick walk to the shows in Times Square or Madison Square Garden. The subways near there can get you anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Thomas G,

Thank you for your terrific review! We are glad that our centric lactation was to your liking and that we could be of service. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    443
    190
    61
    45
See reviews for
381
271
61
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Comfort Inn for 6 nights - the rooms were perfectly adequate. Not flash but certainly good for the price paid. All of the staff were very friendly. It was nice having breakfast included in the price - ( the breakfast room could be bigger though. It is a very small room and sometimes there was no room at all to sit )
The location was very central to Time Square.

Room Tip: Get a room that ends in 02 as they are a bigger room. We had room 1201 and my daughter had room 120...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Shez 13,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant review with us! Its rewarding to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast selection and that are limited seating area didn't affect your overall stay with us.
We look forward to having you join us again soon!

Safe travels,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed twice in Feb and March for 3 nights and 1 night respectively. The location is excellent for me for business and touring. The rooms are small but adequate - the breakfast is great and the all day tea and coffee is lovely touch. The free wifi is also awesome.
My only complaint was a lack of sleep on the first night - a student group was making an incredible racket outside my room - I should have phoned security as it went on for hours. When I told management the next day they were great and apologetice - ensured that I was checked into a higher floor next time to avoid this and gave me a late check out to compensate.
i'll definitely use this hotel again.
Very good value too

Room Tip: get one on a high floor and ask to be away from tour groups and student groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for your high praise and recommendation. I am thrilled that enjoyed your NYC visit and the hotel and its services met your expectations. We hope we have another occasion to welcome you both back in the future. Please do not hesitate if I can be of any assistance now or in the future.

Warm wishes,
Susana McCoon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmineruby
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our trip was Feb 28-Mar 2 (Fri-Sun) and we wanted to stay near Times Square but not pay crazy prices. This hotel fit the bill. The beds were comfy, lots of pillows! The room was clean and quiet. The showerhead was the kind that you could spin to choose your water flow--that was a pleasant surprise. The beds had nightstands next to them, lights and electrical outlets were above the night stand--both very much appreciated. The room is small but big enough for 2 adults. You could easily fit 4 adults in the rooms with two beds (which we had, but you would have to get creative about where to put 4 suitcases. That being said, I think it would still be manageable. The complimentary breakfast was in the basement and the area was also better than I expected--nice furnishings, tv, soda and snack machines and for breakfast a variety of cereals (in boxes), fruits, yogurts, breads, and a hot dish. There were two elevators, we were on the 15th floor and never waited to long for one. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful.

Times Square/Broadway is a short L-shaped walk away...maybe two or three blocks. There's also a Walgreen's drugstore right around the corner from the hotel. There are many places to eat nearby and a subway stop nearby. We took a cab from Penn Station to the hotel--it cost $5. The hotel is next to a male strip club. Do not be alarmed, we wouldn't have even known what it was had we not been curious about the red carpet laid out at night. One night we came back around midnight and the carpet and velvet rope were both gone. We saw no lines, no one going in or out, and heard no noise. The rest of the block is equally as quiet.

I paid about $400 for a weekend stay including taxes, all things considered, I'd stay here again. (Note: we were also able to walk to the Javits convention center from here and one member of our travel party was in a walking boot).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmineruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear carmineruby,

Thank you very much for your amazing comments, I will be sure to share them with the team. It is always pleasure to hear that our guests have the opportunity to enjoy all that we have to offer as we consistently strive to exceed expectations. Upon your next visit to NYC, I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome both you and your friends.

Warm wishes,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the 44th St location during the last big snowstorm and found the staff to be super friendly, very accommodating, the room was very clean and we would love to stay there again because it is super close to all the major tourist spots in Midtown Manhattan.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Sam P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing the Choice Hotels as your destination of choice. We are devoted as a brand to serve you and to make your stay special with wonderful memories. We are so glad that your enjoyed our charming location and we hope to welcome you back and make your stay even more relaxing and pleasurable!

Warm regards,
Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had a great experience staying here for my birthday. In great walking distance to Time Square, dining and entertainment and transportation. Very central and easy to get to. Staff was very professional and helpful with pointing out places of interest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are grateful to see that you graded us above all of the other hotels nearby. We pride ourselves in providing extraordinary service with the standard amenities that all Comfort Inn Time Square offer’s such as our free breakfast which you mentioned to have enjoyed. I'm also glad to see that you did not let the size of our rooms greatly affect your opinion of us. We hope to see you soon. Safe travels!

Best regards,
Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Booked 4 last minute rooms at an excellent price within walking distance of many tourist locations, 2 blocks from Times Square, 20 blocks Central Park. Rooms a little small but fine. Clean. Decent shower. Complimentary breakfast pretty good too, cereals, bread, omelette, sausages, yogurts, muffins. Gets you set up for a busy day! Breakfast room very small and does get v busy at peak time. Bit noisy being so close to Times Square but you get used to it! Staff we met were friendly. Comfortable beds. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie070284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Marie070284,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant review with us! We are glad that you had a memorable stay and found us nearby to the wonderful attractions that Times Square has to offer. It is rewarding to hear your compliments about our wonderful staff ! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and once again in the near future. Safe travels!

Warm wishes,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square South
Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing