We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this hotel and you will be happy you did like me!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Ranked #327 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very hospitable staff. Clean and what you would expect for standards at a chain like Comfort Inn! Great location! Breakfast started us off right in the morning! Small but NY doesn't have any space left! I still think NYC hotels are over priced but I think you at least get the most bang for your buck here!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Patti M,

We thank you so much for the very detailed & honest review. We appreciate, and take all of our guests' feedback extremely seriously, but we consider ourselves especially fortunate to be reviewed by an obviously seasoned traveler. It sincerely brings us great pleasure to know that we not only met but exceeded your expectations!
On behalf of my entire team, we look forward to serving your future travel needs!

Safe travels!

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We travel extensively as part of our jobs and although not the swankiest of hotels we normally stay in, it was certainly the warmest, most accommodating and genuinely nice place we have stayed in. Suzanne and Leo instantly greeted us in a natural and 'warm' manner which instant,y made us feel at home. Much prefer staying here than in te more imperious, cold 'swankier' establishments we usually stay in.

The rooms were perfectly clean, big enough considering it is NY and the price was reasonable.

We'd recommend skipping the hot breakfast which is very much identifiable meat however there's plenty of cereals and yogurts which are fine to take up to your room.

Fortunately there's a Dean & Deluca on the next corner or Starbucks cross he road.

We were also surprised at how quiet it was given the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Sandi682014,

We are delighted to hear that we made such a lasting impression! Thank you kindly for your kind words and praises! We strive to exceed our guest expectations and when we get reviews like this one it only motivates us to reach further and aim higher with each guest we have the opportunity to be of service with! We thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Times Square South and look forward in having you visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Small but very clean rooms. Comfortable beds. The location and service is superb. Breakfast is more than adequate although the dining room does get very crowded. Leo and the boys at the front desk are fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippychick808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear hippychick808,

Thank you for your amazing review! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope you visit us again soon!

Safe travels,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a tiny hotel with only 4 smallish rooms per floor, but its location is super convenient. It is only a short block away from the Port Authority Bus Terminal, which includes a subway stop for the A, C and E lines. The room was clean and NO bedbugs. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is very small and cramped, and can only accommodate about 20 people at a time. The breakfast selection is pretty basic, but enough to get you started in the morning. Starbucks and other local coffee shops are readily available right across the street or in the PABT. The location was perfect as a home base for my wife and I to explore the city and take in Broadway shows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your valued review. We continuously strive in exceeding our guest every need therefore, your feedback is of most importance. We sincerely thank you for
choosing our hotel and look forward in having you join us again soon!
Safe travels!

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The heat was fine in the room. But when I stepped into the bathroom, I felt I had stepped outside. My suggestion is to have the bathroom open from the inside so that the heat can fill the bathroom. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Bobglen1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing extraordinary service with the standard amenities that all Comfort Inn Time Square has to offer. I'm also glad to see that you did not let the heating in the bathroom greatly affect your opinion of us. We hope to see you soon. Safe travels!

Warm regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My family and I stayed in this facility on our recent trip to New York. We arrived before check-in and the Staff particularly the Facility Manager was very accommodating. She allowed us to store our luggage so we can go around the City "hands free" (this is also true after check out). They also let us use the breakfast room to meet with friends and family (hotel room and lobby were small). We had a pleasant stay in this hotel with its central location, clean rooms, and friendly and accommodating Staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenayari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Jenayari,

We thank you dearly for sharing your fantastic review about your stay. We are very pleased that our ideal location was to your liking and that we were close to your areas of interest. We are happy to hear that you were able to indulge with our service and amenities. We enjoy creating special moments and endless memories so that your stay is always special and unique. Your wonderful compliments about our hotel, service excellence and professional staff are greatly appreciated. We would all be honored to welcome you back and create another wonderful experience here at the Comfort Inn Times Square!

Best wishes,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As a top contributor, it is rare for me to give a "5" rating to a hotel, but this Comfort Inn hit the bullseye on all of the things that I consider important when staying at a hotel during my two night stay.

Check-in was handled quickly and efficiently by a most helpful front desk person - Leo - who went out of his way to explain the free breakfast, wi-fi, and other guest logistics. This was a person who seemed to really enjoy his job and help make the guests feel valued. That got things off to a good start.

I had booked two rooms. One was a king suite; the other, occupied by a friend, was a single room with 2 king beds. The rooms are small but comfortably and tastefully furnished - and impeccably clean. My king suite consisted of separate living and sleeping areas - both nicely furnished, with ample work space on the desk, a small fridge and microwave, and flat screen TV's in both the living and sleeping rooms. The single room had 2 large beds which occupied most of the floorspace, flat screen TV, but no fridge. The bathrooms of both rooms had the typical bathroom amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner) and delivered good streams of hot water. The beds were very comfortable and delivered a good night's sleep, and the in-room climate control units worked flawlessly.

There's a free breakfast included, but I did not sample it and thus cannot comment on the variety or quality.

The hotel's location was, for me, ideal. Located on 39th street just west of 8th Avenue, it's a short walk to Times Square, Madison Square Garden, and Penn Station, and the subway station is 1 short block away, with access to the the whole Times Square subway complex. There are plenty of small take-out restaurants in the immediate vicinity, as well as convenience stores and a couple of pharmacies.

Check-out was also handled efficiently by a front desk person who also seemed to enjoy her job and who went out of her way to make sure that we had enjoyed our stay.

What was unbelievable was the price. Various discounts are offered on the hotel brand website, including senior, AAA, advance purchase, and various association discounts for members with the right codes. Since pricing can vary, I won't mention what we paid, but let's just say that it was surprisingly attractive, all things considered.

Bottom line - these are simple accommodations - but "simple" should not be construed as "cheap." Pride in delivering excellent value was in evidence throughout all aspects of my stay. As I mentioned at the beginning, I rarely give a top rating to a hotel, but this one definitely deserves it. It will be my first choice for return visits to Manhattan.

Room Tip: The King Suites are great values - when I booked, it was the same price as a regular room, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Step12dude,

Wow!!! Thank you so much for the very detailed and amazing review. We appreciate, and take all of our guests' feedback extremely seriously, but we consider ourselves especially fortunate to be reviewed by an obviously seasoned traveler. On behalf of my entire team, we look forward to serving your future travel needs! Safe travels!

Warm regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#287 of 473 in New York City
1,031 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#322 of 473 in New York City
595 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#176 of 473 in New York City
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#343 of 473 in New York City
2,304 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#249 of 473 in New York City
2,548 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018-1401
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £84 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing