We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Ranked #305 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice people, small but reasonable room, feels safe, a couple blocks away from all of the action of Times Square. Stayed here for 2 weekend nights with my 2 teenagers. Walk to Penn station and Times Square. Subway is easy to figure out, and hotel staff are helpful with maps, etc. My complaints about this hotel: On Sunday morning at 9:30 they were out of food, plates, milk, etc at the free breakfast (supposed to serve until 10- we knew we would be last minute, but figured we could at least get cereal... but no milk). Another complaint- room key stopped working a couple times and had to go down to get new ones. Also, no extra toilet paper in bathroom, so we are almost out...strange. Lastly, not extremely clean, but not bad either. PS: I requested a fridge and they brought one to the room... so if you need one for your Carnegie Deli leftovers, it's an option! Oh- one last note, there is a laundromat 1 block away if you need one... as I did!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Anne B,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your review and for giving us the opportunity to be of service. We are glad that you liked the modern design of our lovely hotel and truly regret to know that your breakfast experience was not to your expectations. Please accept the most sincere apologies from our devoted breakfast staff for not satisfying your breakfast needs. We are very passionate in providing each of our guest the finest amenities because making you feel special and unique is our utmost priority. We hope to have the honor to welcome you back and provide the most memorable and indulging experience that you deserve. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience so that we may discuss future arrangements.

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

The room was OK, no complaints (although small & cramped). But breakfast didn't happen. This is what was wrong:

* The breakfast room is far too small and could not fit everyone trying to get in.
* The breakfast room has a large triangular shaped table in it that makes moving around the room (eg. to get to the food) a bottleneck and queues just stall and back up.
* The hot food was awful. Some yellow circular pancake looking thing that was meant to resemble an omelette, and cheap "sausages" that looked and tasted awful.
* They had no milk. No milk! So therefore no cereal, no coffee, no tea, etc.
* They ran out of (plastic) plates while I was there so there was nothing to eat off.
* Plastic cutlery, plastic plates. Just awful.
* The seats in the breakfast room have stains on them. Disgusting.
* The housemaid staff shout at each other (not in English) so peace and quiet vanishes when the staff arrive on the floor.
* The staff ignored the "Do Not Disturb" sign and banged loudly on my door asking "What time you check out?". I told them but when I pointed to the DND sign, they spoke back to me in a language other than English. Who knows what abuse they were giving me.

This place is a disgrace to the name Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Stay away - better to stay elsewhere, like somewhere that has a clean dining room, real plates, real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Craig M,

Thank you for your candid review about your stay experience. It is very disheartening to learn from your comments that we failed to meet your expectations. The type of breakfast experience you received is not the experiences we strive to create for our hotel guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We take all our guest comments seriously in an effort to better our services for our guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make up for this unfavorable experience as winning back your loyalty and trust is utmost priority.

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

this hotel has very small rooms, but if you can't afford anything else, request a room on the back not facing the street, those rooms are a little larger. Otherwise you will not have a place to even lay your suitcase down! and if you happen to be in a handicap room, watch out! there is NO where to place a bar of soap or shampoo except for on the floor of the shower...yuck. There is also no place to put a comb, curling iron ect... so be prepared to use the floor alot! And if you are utilizing the free breakfast...be prepared for the crowds...there is a huge triangle table that monopolizes the whole room with 2 other smaller tables with very large chairs...they really need to redo and utilize their small space better. It is the same food everyday but they seem to have something for everyone. It is about 5 blocks from the heart of times square and a couple of blocks from the subway but the area is not the nicest of neighborhoods, there is a male stripjoint next door. The staff were all very nice and accomodating, but the cleaning staff needs to do a better job, the long black hairs that were found everywhere we just gross!

Room Tip: rooms on the backside not facing the street give you more room, there are only 4 rooms on each floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woltmannfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Woltmannfamily,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. At The Comfort Inn Times Square South, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. I have personally reviewed your issues with our team to ensure that we not only meet our guest expectations but, exceed them. I hope you have a moment to contact me so that we may discuss this further. We certainly hope we have the opportunity to change your opinion on your next visit to New York. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of service you have every right to expect from Choice Hotels.

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank 927Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed during the week of July 4th, and it was the most affordable hotel in the area. I was expecting a dirty room, so I when with cleaning utensils and candles for the smell. It is a small hotel, but clean and comfortable. Rooms are small, but nice and clean. The staff is nice and professional especially Peter in the front desk. Breakfast is ok, but hello is free! They should design another area for breakfast or change the gigantic table that is in the room, which occupies almost the whole space. Location is perfect! You would not be disappointed! The parking for $ 40 is a very high rate, we almost paid more for parking than for the hotel room !other than that we had a great time !

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank BJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear BJudith,

We thank you dearly for sharing your stellar review about your stay. We are so excited our charming location was to your liking and that we were close to your areas of interest. I am grateful that you have returned to stay with us on different occasions and allowed us to indulge with our service and amenities. We love making special moments and endless memories so your stay is always special and unique. Your kind compliments about our staff will forever be cherished and we are touched that you felt the warmth of our hospitality. We all would be honored to welcome you back and create another wonderful experience.

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Took my girls to New York for their 18th & 21st birthdays. Chose Comfort Inn as a recommendation from Travel Agent and was very pleased I did. Excellent location, great value for money as the most important thing in New York is to 'get out there and explore'. Comfortable rooms, good sizes especially as we were on top floor over looking Times Square far enough away for a good night's sleep but with a fantastic view, especially at sunrise. The staff were amazing from check in to check out could not do enough for us. Always with a smile. Great team... Thank you. Breakfast was great to start the day but if you want relaxed sit down service Ruby Tuesdays in Times Square superb. Would recommend Comfort Inn to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Naomi,

Amazing!!! Thank you so much for the very detailed review. We appreciate, and take all of our guests' feedback extremely seriously, but we consider ourselves especially fortunate to be reviewed by an obviously seasoned traveler. On behalf of my entire team, we look forward to serving your future travel needs!

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager





Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location, just a couple blocks to the subway, and close enough to walk to Penn Station and Times Square. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are tiny, but you're really only in the room to sleep and shower. We were traveling with my sister and her family, so we had 2 rooms, 1203 and 1204. 1204 was a larger than 1203. There are only 4 rooms per floor due to the small footprint of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CITS_Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Rebecca H,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are grateful to see that you graded us above all of the other hotels nearby. We pride ourselves in providing extraordinary service with the standard amenities that all Comfort Inn Time Square offer’s such as our free breakfast which you mentioned to have enjoyed. I'm also glad to see that you did not let the size of our rooms greatly affect your opinion of us. We hope to see you soon. Safe travels!

Best regards,

Susana McCoon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#272 of 469 in New York City
1,004 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#331 of 469 in New York City
559 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#252 of 469 in New York City
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#197 of 469 in New York City
675 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 469 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square South

Address: 305 W 39th St, (39th St and 8th Ave), New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £127 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Comfort Inn Times Square South is conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Broadway Theater District, Times Square, Madison Square Garden arena, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center are all within walking distance from this New York, NY hotel.Each of our 100 percent non-smoking guest rooms feature modern decor and upscale amenities, like flat-panel, televisions, pillow-top mattresses, coffee makers, spacious work desks, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Times Square South Hotel New York City
Times Square Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing