We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Rooms (and beds) are Tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #336 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I knew the rooms would be small but they were much smaller than I expected. The double beds were more like king singles and therefore uncomfortable for a family of four (inc two teenage daughters). The service was OK. The location was good particularly travelling in and out of Penn Station. Would I stay here again... Not sure. I have stayed in better NY hotels for a similar price. If I stayed here again as a family I would definitely need to look at two rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi MHJB - thank you for your honest review! We pride ourselves on our clean hotel, friendly service, and great convenient location. Our "New York sized rooms" are great for returning from a long day of sightseeing. We hope to see you the next time your family returns to New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

For an NYC hotel, the rooms were surprisingly large and you can't beat the location. Just steps away from Madison Square Park, the Flatiron building, and many subway stops. We walked with luggage from Penn Station with no worries. The attached restaurant was decent and had some good happy hour specials daily. We paid just a few dollars extra for a room on a higher floor, and it was money well-spent. We had awesome views of the Empire State Building. The higher floor however, meant we were more inclined to use the elevator, which sometimes had long lines. For the location and price, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for the city view room. You're higher up, which means less noise. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

As the title indicates, my recent experience at this hotel was a positive one. It was a good hotel in a great location. This hotel is convenient to subways, restaurants, business areas, tourist attractions. The rooms are small, but they are nice and serve the purpose. The public areas are average, but this is a moderately priced hotel. Service was very good. The price was fair for this hotel and location

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Good price and location for NYC business trip, typical NYC tiny rooms. Underground parking about a block away for reasonable rate ($30). Small footprint, so all rooms are within close proximity to elevator and stairwell. Service was average for an IHG hotel, and only problem encountered was limited hot water while showering in the morning.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank traceydee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Holiday Inn Chelsea for 5 nights in Late November. We enjoyed our stay here and although yes the rooms aren't huge, they are adequate enough and you don't feel cramped. We were initially given a disabled access room which we hadn't asked for. This room was nice enough but didn't have a bath and was missing a bedside cabinet (as it's designed for use by disabled persons), so we asked to be moved to another room. One of the managers, David was very helpful and moved us to a good room on the top floor, with a direct view of the Empire State Building. This room was very nice and although it would have been nice having a fridge in the room, we made use of the ice machine which was located on the 20th floor. The cleaners came in every day and the room was very well kept.
The location of the hotel was really good. We were in walking distance of most places. The Empire State Building and Madison Square Gardens were only a short walk away, as were Times Square and the Rockerfella Center. We also walked down to the World Trade Centre and up to Central Park. These took longer to walk to, but we didn't mind the walking. There's plenty of subway stations nearby if you want to get around a bit quicker as well.
The hotel has a restaurant attached, which seems up be privately run, as opposed to run by Holiday Inn. We didn't have breakfast there, though we did have dinner there on the last evening. The food was very nice, but a bit pricey. For breakfast, most days we ate at The Malibu Diner which was located at 163 West 23rd Street, two blocks down. The food here was excellent and we would highly recommend eating here for breakfast. Its a traditional American Diner and the portions are very generous as well as the staff being very helpful. If you prefer something more healthy for breakfast, we also ate one morning at a place called 'Fresh & Co'. This is a franchised chain and there are several in New York City. The food here was of good quality and as its name suggests, is all from fresh ingredients.
A very enjoyable visit and this is a hotel we would definitely stay in again on our next trip to New York.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Railroadtycoon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel was newer and very clean and comfortable. The rooms are not that large but I do understand it is New York. Had breakfast there one morning and it was excellent! The front desk staff and management was very friendly and helpful. The only cons I have is that the elevators were a bit slow and the internet was extremely slow. We were in room 2502. We had a great view of the Empire State Building. I would go back again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 2502 had a great view of the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holidays and had a great visit to New York.
When I made the booking I made an error in the type of room we requested. When I realized my error I contacted the manager Mike Williams who kept in touch with me and found us the accommodation we needed.
I was most impressed that he took the time to make sure we had the room requested.
While the rooms are small the location is stellar.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and the elevator pretty slow so try and book on the lower floors to avoid having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 469 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 469 in New York City
1,928 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#200 of 469 in New York City
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#196 of 469 in New York City
840 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#321 of 469 in New York City
2,067 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#229 of 469 in New York City
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Address: 125 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £89 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing