We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #334 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great upgrades”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here previously and liked it... the proximity to Penn Station is what brought me in to begin with. But after going back this month I felt compelled to right a review. They recently updated the restaurant and the lobby and the improvements made an already good hotel better. The rooms are smaller, but its NYC... that's to be expected. The rooms are CLEAN and modern. That's what's important, at least to me. There was a fun vibe in the bar/restaurant for happy hour and the chef (I forget his name, but an older/friendly gentleman) came out personally to discuss the menu and recommend some dishes. Long story short, if you need a midtown hotel for a good rate, go with this one. It's my go to. Never a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Empire State Building. Great views as you fall asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabbajabbahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    537
    296
    89
    60
See reviews for
399
285
95
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very small - lobby, hallways, and rooms. It's clean and front desk / maids are friendly. Lots of good restaurants in the area.

Hotel restaurant is very unfriendly. I was looking for a place to sit for a little while because the lobby was full (only 4 or 5 places to sit), I stepped into the restaurant(which was 100% empty at 9:30am, and asked if I could just sit for a few minutes because the lobby was full. I was told that I could not sit there, I would have to order something. I told them I was a guest at the hotel, but did not matter to them. The restaurant needs an attitude adjustment. Maybe that's why the place was empty. Restaurant gets no stars from me.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Duane B - Thank you for sharing your experience with us. On behalf of our restaurant Team, I want to apologize for your poor experience with them. Our lobby was recently renovated, which now allows for more seating space in the actual lobby. We doubled the usable space in our lobby. Regardless, we want our lobby AND restaurant to be a gathering place, whether you order something or not. I have already brought your concerns to our restaurant ownership, and sincerely apologize for this situation.

Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@hi-nyc.com the next time you are traveling to New York City. I'd be happy to personally handle your reservations.

Thank you.

Mike Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
764 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel several weeks before arriving, based both on the basis of reviews and location. I arrived late and found myself in a building site - with the restaurant and bar closed and no real apology or guidance of where else to get a quick meal. I wanted a bottle of water and none was forthcoming, being told to walk to the nearest pharmacy - in the pouring rain. Not what I expect from a Holiday Inn. My room was as expected in New York, i.e. small, but it did have a view to the a Empire State Building. This was good but I would have preferred a clean carpet and a shower with no hairs from the previous occupant. The corridor was oppressive and the hotel needs a complete face-lift. I raised my issues with the manager and whilst he understood and recompensed me with additional points, my biggest gripe is with the Intercontinental Hotel Group who promote the hotel: they were very quick at reminding me several times re my reservation but there was no notification that the hotel was undergoing renovations that would affect my stay. Yes, the renovations had over-run their scheduled time and whilst I can empathise with the management, I do not feel that I was an informed consumer: had I been told that there was no restaurant etc I would have cancelled my reservation and booked elsewhere. I feel that the manager did the best that he could in the situation but feel totally let down by IHG. Poor show.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Skippy50 - Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize for the experience you encountered at our hotel. However, I am pleased to report that our restaurant and lobby renovations are now 100% complete. We spoke upon your departure, and we also communicated via email afterwards. As I stated, I sincerely do apologize. There unfortunately was no "good" time to get these renovations done. We did the best with the situation, and compensated appropriately in certain circumstances.

Please feel free to reach back out to my at gm@hi-nyc.com should you wish to return to our hotel. We would love to make up for your last experience.

Thank you.

Mike Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

It is an affordable hotel in a great location. It is clean, inexpensive, near restaurants, subway and many New York attractions. It is not swanky, but then again, you are not paying top dollar. I forgot some toiletries, called the reception and in 5 minutes had everything I needed brought to my room. One minor complaint: two elevators can barely keep up with volume of people going up and down, so we always had to wait. It wasn't a big deal, I will definitely consider this hotel for my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I travel to New York at least once a month and sometimes for 3 weeks. The staff at this hotel have amazing customer service. I appreciate that even from my first visit there the staff remembered me, are ALWAYS willing to help. They have provided me & my crew with recommendations for food, how to get around town, transportation and so forth. We only stay at this hotel when in NYC now because it is well kept up, friendly staff, best price in town for all that you get. It is centrally located & we always have great customer service. Hands down we won't stay anywhere else! I wish all the hotels we stayed at around the US were as great as the Holiday Inn in Chelsea.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side and in the upper levels have a great view of the empire state building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I went into NYC on a whim with some girlfriends. We weren't looking to break the bank so this hotel was right in our budget. Because of that we also didn't expect much (and didn't expect to be inside the hotel room too much) but the staff and accommodations were wonderful. We were greeted with smiles throughout the hotel and it made our night that much more fun and memorable! Can't wait for the next random rendezvous in NYC! We will definitely be back here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DKNJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for four days from 5th June to 9th June fully paid in advance but after our arrival at front desk they asked for credit card for verification but without my knowledge they charged 100 dollars.
Rooms are just bigger than "rat's trap" hardly 10 square meters hats why room pics were never shown on any booking web page.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanjaydeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W, General Manager at Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Sanjaydeep - Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Upon arrival, we ask for a credit card and ID from all guests. No matter if the reservation is pre-paid or not, a credit card is still required to check-in. We authorize a certain amount on this card, depending on your specific length of stay. This is a fairly standard practice in the hotel industry world-wide.

I have also sent you a private message, which you can feel free to respond back to.

Thank you,
Mike Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing