We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, clean, gret location but small rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Ranked #330 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Montreal Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best value, clean, gret location but small rooms!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Great hotel close to subway stations, restaurants and Empire state building. Small rooms but clean and comfortable (amazing bed!). You don't hear anything from the next rooms or even outside.
restaurant in lobby but also great breakfast places (malibu diner) close by.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    558
    307
    93
    60
See reviews for
421
296
99
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The Holiday Inn is a great choice if you are looking for a clean and new place to stay. The hotel is very nice and the employees are great. Ask for a high floor room to have some great views. I would give this hotel 5 stars if the rooms were not so small. If you are staying more than a few nights this might not be the hotel for you if you value space. However, for a few nights it is perfect especially if you value a super clean and new hotel. I would have no problem staying here again for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Room was clean, but very small. If you just want a clean safe room to sleep in it is OK. Not a lot of things close by.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irisgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

The Holiday Inn on 26th St. is so new that some cab driver did not even know it existed until we gave them directions to the hotel. It's a tall and slender hotel surprisingly in a quiet street between Chelsea and the Flatiron District.
As many travelers have commented on past reviews the lobby and rooms are small. However, there is a bar and restaurant that provides a larger space to socialize away from busy crowds in the lobby. I was amazed by the friendly service the front desk provided even with people crowding at the desk wanting to check in, check out, ask for directions, and complain. The employees are able to handle such stress and maintain a friendly smile throughout the craziness.
We stayed on the 16th floor wtih a view of 26th street. The double beds were really comfortable, but as other travelers stated, the rooms were fairly small. The bathroom itself had a tiny sink, but four people were able to manage a weekend in this tiny room without any issue. I did not hear any noise coming from the hallway since some of the doors to the rooms are tucked in small hallways. As far as the elvator situation, we really had no issue waiting between the two in the building. It ran up and down quite fast so there was no issue having to wait for a long time. This elevator is in comparison to The Pod, which unfortunately ran slow and was smaller. We had drinks at the bar and the people there are so friendly and will make you some strong drinks. However, it was pricey like all other bars in NYC.
The neighborhood is really interesting since it is mixed with tourist, straight, and gay people around. On 7th street lies FIT and Martha Stewart's studio and on 6th street lies your CVS and Starbucks. The subway are on 28th and 23rd street, but would reccomend 23rd street since its busier around the Flatiron Building and provides multiple tracks (RWFV). Cheap breakfast can be found at A Taste of NYC on 23rd and 6th (literally eggs,sausage, and hash brown for under $4). After hours dinner and good dessert is on 23rd at Malibu Diner. There is a bar next door to the hotel, but there is also Rogue around the corner. This bar felt like the employees were snobby so we didn't go there again.
If this is the new look for Holiday Inn, then I definately agree they have stepped up to a level of competition with Hilton, Sheraton, and Radisson. This hotel was very comfortable even with small rooms, the bed was amazing. Its ambience and exceptional customer service made the place bigger than it really was for a weekend stay in NYC. The neighborhood is far enough from the crowds of Time Square, but close enough to see the lights on the corner of 7th and 26th. I definately would stay here again since the neighborhood offers all nearby attractions without the noise and crowds of NYC. Holiday Inn is a tall secret on 26th street that will make a memorable stay in Chelsea, NYC.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gamxiated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The reviews that we read about the hotel were realistic and well written. We were plenty surprised by the cleanliness and service-oriented staff. Yes, the room was a little small, but it was actually cozier than small. We found the location very convenient to all the attractions that we were interested in. It is a short taxi ride to Times Square or a good, brisk walk up 7th Avenue to Madison Square Garden, Times Square, or the restaurants and services in Chelsea. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarletman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tifgmu2003
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Check-in: Very smooth and uneventful. The front desk was really helpful during our long weekend. One gentleman recommended the Malibu Diner for breakfast and we ended up eating there 2 mornings in a row because of the quick service, low prices and we loved the French Toast and Club sandwiches there. When we checked out on Sunday, the staff at the front desk offered to hold our bags for us so we could do some more exploring before catching our bus. They also graciously allowed us to sleep in a bit on Sunday before checking out which is ALWAYS appreciated.

I read reviews that the elevator wait time was long but we never had a problem with this. Even if we had, we were on vacation so it wouldn’t have ruffled our feathers too much.

The room was very small as you would expect from previous reviews, but since we weren’t expecting anything different, we weren’t disappointed. The bed was definitely a plus with a really comfortable king mattress. Only thing I wished is that I had requested a better view since we just had a view of a building right next to us. No biggie since we weren’t in there much, but if you pay full price, it may be something to request since they sometimes can accommodate you. Another somewhat annoying thing that I don’t normally notice, was how much you could hear the neighbors. We could hear our neighbor slip the key into their lock next door and it was so audible that I couldn’t shake the reflex of jumping up and thinking the maid was coming in. I don’t think there’s much you can do about this since the building it so tall and narrow, the rooms are really tightly packed together.

The location was great for us since there were plenty of quaint places to eat within walking distance. I was like a kid in a candy store, just exploring and picking a restaurant based on the displayed menu or the look of the place. We walked everywhere. We liked being able to walk to Times Square and doing lots of shopping at the big Macys. I recommend walking to the Chelsea Piers for lunch one day because they have fresh seafood in their mall and the most amazing bakeries I’ve ever seen. Gourmet hot chocolate was excellent at a coffee stand in there. For Central Park, the Met, Little Italy, etc, you will probably need a taxi like we did, especially if it's cold.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tifgmu2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel which is relatively new, it’s OK but;
The upside, free internet access, only 10 minute walk to Penn Station, so easy access for the train to Jamaica for the JFK airtrain or for the train to Newark, so no expensive taxi ride needed.
Down side, very small rooms, no comfy chair and the bathroom entrance is off the room which is all right if you want to sit on the toilet and watch TV in the room. It has a tiny work desk and very small closet, everything is very cramped up. The worst thing of all, no video check out, so if you want to leave at a busy time a long wait at the front desk would be involved and the lobby is also very small.
This hotel is fine for a short stay, if you just want a basic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewxGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#264 of 466 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#168 of 466 in New York City
1,890 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#320 of 466 in New York City
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#209 of 466 in New York City
2,021 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#175 of 466 in New York City
3,417 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#312 of 466 in New York City
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Address: 125 West 26th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the cusp of trendy Chelsea and the picturesque Flatiron District Enjoy comfort at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Manhattan 6th-Ave Chelsea. Located in the heart of the Chelsea neighborhood, we are close enough to the action of the Big Apple, yet secluded enough to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. Attractions such as Times Square, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building, Chelsea Market, Herald Square and Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Broadway, and the Fashion Institute of Technology are within reach. Whatever your reason for coming to New York City, let us provide an experience you will never forget. Families and Corporate travelers alike will feel at home in our newly renovated lobby and restaurant space. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant and lounge, Prime Cafe, a 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Want to stay in? Take advantage of our convenient room service. Feeling adventurous? Our on-site concierge is happy to secure sightseeing tour tickets, Broadway theatre tickets, shopping coupons and discounts, and even helicopter tours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nyc - Manhattan 6th Avenue Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing