We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #98 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here for our wedding night. It had always been my dream to one day stay at the Plaza. Prior to our stay, the hotel gave my husband a tour of the hotel and of the various rooms. We stayed in the Edwardian Park Suite room on the highest floor below the penthouses. The suite was spacious and luxurious. The view of Central Park (although "partial") was thrilling. We appreciated that my husband was able to check-in early and get ready at the hotel with some of his family prior to the ceremony.

The next morning, I called the concierge to inquire about dry cleaning my dress and his suit (we were going to have photos taken in Paris). The butler promptly came up and said they could be ready the next day: "Madam, it will be done!" The dress and suit were ready for pick-up the next day (Sunday) as promised.

Prior to checking out, we asked the concierge to make us a reservation for brunch at Sarabeth's on Central Park South. They said Sarabeth's doesn't take reservations, but they would add our name to the list. When we arrived, we were promptly given a table on a busy Saturday afternoon.

We were very pleased with the service we received at the Plaza and will remember our stay there as a highlight of our wedding.

Room Tip: Request the highest floor available for the Edwardian Park Suite if you want a partial view of Centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    403
    196
    117
    84
See reviews for
642
797
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

we last stayed at the Plaza in 1981 - so it was kind of nostalgic to go back after a major make up for a weekend stay in this Landmark hotel! we missed the old reception area which was always featured in movies - as well as the Oak Room which was unfortunately closed for renovation - the Plaza never disappoints, the staff is extremely helpful and would go out of their way to meet your satisfaction - it is unfortunate that no hotel room overlook Central Park as we were told that these rooms were converted for luxury appartment suites! Somehow the Plaza NY still glitters ... will always go back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Talal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I always take old elegance and class over bland modern hotel chains. When you stay at the Plaza Hotel you are taking in the history and the opulance of many decades. Large luxurious rooms. I spent a few hours down at the bar drinking. I won´t lie. The staff were very attentive. Money and technology cannot buy elegance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABGallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We had a great stay at the Plaza, our room was an Edwardian Park View Suite that was truly an amazing space by any standard. Our Daughter loved the brand new pull out sofa in the parlor area. The staff was great, especially at the champagne bar!! They took excellent care of us, and once they recognized it was my Birthday on one of the days they bent over backwards to make me feel at Home and a very special guest. All of this comes at a price but in our view was well worth it and was an experience to be remembered.

The only negatives that we found were the supposed Butler service was way to Reactive, he was supposed to meet us on our floor, show us around, offer certain services available, ask about needs, likes, dislikes etc.. This never happened. The only other comment is we ordered (2) Latte's one morning and they were $48 after svc fee etc..!! I suppose i should have asked but they came up looking like a basic cup of coffee.. i promptly declined as i have never (anywhere) paid $24 for a cup of coffee. I get its the Plaza, but when you are spending $1000+/- a night certain things should be part of the stay.. Paying $48 for 2 cups of coffee is outrageous. Room service needs a bit of work.

Afternoon Tea is great and very well done. All in all a great experience and wonderful location, we will be back and would recommend the Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: View form our park view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginian Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What an WONDERFUL experience we had at the Plaza! From the moment we arrived we met the most attentive, caring people we have ever met in our travels! From the Doorman to the Reservation Agent , they were all so attentive! We went for our 44th Wedding Anniversary. It was total LUXURY! From the beautiful flowers and the surprise dessert that were delivered to our room, to the wonderful bed and sheets, and the GORGEOUS BATHROOM !!!!!!! WOW !!!!! It was an AWESOME EXPERIENCE! NO wonder the Plaza has such an amazing reputation! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The street view room was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andystassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I usually stay at W in NYC. My sister was turning 40 and we splurged on the Plaza

The rooms have been renovated and they are luxe. Much larger than normal rooms in NYC. We stayed in a suite and the bathroom was enormous. The shower was the size of a Kingsize bed. Huge soaker tub with toiletires and gold inlayed in the tiles. Just beautiful.

Turn down service, lots of special touches. Location is right on the park, perfect for shopping down 5th. Drinks in the lobby lounge were great for people watching.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat, pricey but you leave feeling like it was special and you were pampered.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxwellGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great location on Central Park. Expensive but alot of five star hotels in New York are. Good service overall but different businesses run the hotel, food outlets and shops and conference facilities so sometimes there is a bit of a 'that isn't my job attitude' which isn't good when you are paying that much money. Food hall downstairs is great for lunch or dinner - informal dining and alot of choice with great service and not bad value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing