We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's the big deal about the Plaza?”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What's the big deal about the Plaza?”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband got me two nights at the Plaza as a 40th birthday present. I was excited as the hotel was synonymous with New York and I had always wanted to stay there. Unfortunately the experience I had was below average. Firstly when I arrived the doorman assumed I was going to use the food hall rather than be a guest of the hotel so tried to usher me towards the side entrance. I had several issues with my room upon check in. The safe didn't work; I couldn't dial out externally from the phone and I could not find the switch to turn off a main light. As I had been given no information about the room facilities upon check in and also could not dial down to the front desk (phone not working), I had to go down and ask if there was a standard room facilities booklet that you usually get in a hotel room. I was told then that it was all contained in the ipad in each room. I don't know why this was not mentioned at check in. The next day, the morning paper I had requested didn't turn up so I had to chase it up. When I checked out, the staff member behind the desk asked me 3 times if I needed help with my bags even though the answer was yes all 3 times. Even so, no-one showed up to help so eventually I just did it myself. Apart from these annoying things that added up to a less than stellar stay, the hotel room I was in looked a bit worn and lacklustre The finish overall was not what you would expect from a hotel purportedly of this standard. The staff seem a bit bored and not really invested in their roles. I have stayed at many top ranking hotels around the world and the Plaza just does not measure up on any level apart from the fact it has a glamorous history.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    402
    196
    117
    84
See reviews for
640
796
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had an amazing stay at The Plaza for so many different resons!!
It was just so amazing I loved it so much!!
It was a memory I will never forget!!
Go and see as much as you can! Get a tour! Go see the Eloise room! Most important have a time of your life and spend every second you can admiring the amazingly beautiful hotel!
You really need to take your hole family maybe even some good friends of yours! It can be such an amazing time you should enjoy it with fun people you like to hang around with! Have as much fun as you can and also,enjoy your hopefully amazing stay at The Plaza hotel in New York City!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've stayed at numerous places in New York, both mid-town and downtown. However, I always find you just can't beat the Plaza. The charm is great, staff is very welcoming and attentive to your needs.

The room was beautiful that I stayed in, as attention to detail is something this hotel focuses on. And with it's proximity to Central Park, it really is worth the extra dollars to stay here if you're looking for mid-town accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a high ceiling room - they're very charming. Try to avoid connecting rooms, as I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowlth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

location: very good and near central park.

services : excellent .

clean : excellent .

facilities: excellent.

room: very nice room.

staff : friendly

food & drink : was excellent .

value for money :good.

check in : easy.

check out :easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsaloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Glad to be back to this historical place, and discover it's lovely outlets: Rose bar and Champagne bar. Building facade is under renovation right now, so, most of the rooms has no view. Looking forward to be back here after renovation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton_Desyatnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I am a frequent business and recreational traveller to NYC. I don't always stay at the Plaza (sometimes the rate is just too high to justify), but when I do, I never regret it. Great rooms, friendly and helpful staff, amazing location. Only negative is that it is missing the Old Oak Bar restaurant.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to at least a jr. suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

finally at 59 years old we got to experience The Plaza....and it was excellent! our room was a Rose Suite which offered a separate sitting area with a very nice sized bathroom. the linens were perfect and the furnishings were beautifully appointed. The butler service was exquisite and we thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of the Todd Simpson food pavilion ... the lobby is so welcoming to simply relax...the only drawback is the exterior is being repaired which necessitates a protective scrim being draped over the entire building which hides scaffolding from view of the street...hence, we didn't quite have the views and morning sunshine to help awaken us....we can't wait to take our gdaughters for a visit...they also have a Caudalie Spa which is supposedly quite exceptional....

Room Tip: room 1329 was our suite...elevators we're very timely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing