We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place - service needs adjusting!”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #98 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful place - service needs adjusting!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The suite was lovely!! The location terrific!! But let me be honest - the service was much less than billed!
For example, we had "butler service" as part of our suite- we never met a butler - there was a phone tab for "butler" but anytime we used it and explained our needs ( ie more towels, concerns with turn down service, questions about nearby restaurants...) the answer was always "let me connect you with ...") Well - why bother with "butler" - just give me a phone tab for housekeeping etc and let us explain our concerns once!

In a similar concern, every room has an iPad - on that iPad you can "order" room cleaning and turndown service and request a specific time. One day, We requested ( and received a confirming message) room cleaning for noon - we came back from breakfast at 10:30 to find the door open and housekeeping there - ordinarily no big deal- but why bother giving us the expectation that we could request a room cleaning time? Likewise, on our room iPad we requested (and received a confirming message)for turndown service, we returned home 2 hours after the requested time to no turndown - called the "butler" who listened to our concern -but put me through to the housekeeping department where I cancelled the service since we were now back for the night - 30 minutes later the sweet housekeeper showed up for "turndown"

Now despite spending over $1400/night for a room, I am really not high maintenance - just don't promise me services that you can't deliver! Forget the "butler" service, let me contact the appropriate service directly and let me voice my concerns one time instead of twice! And don't give me the "option" of a particular cleaning or turndown time - just come when u can and leave it at that!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mommd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear mommd23,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It sounds like while you enjoyed the hotel itself, you experienced a number of service challenges. We pride ourselves on our service, so this is particularly disappointing to hear. First of all, I apologize for not receiving your room cleaning or turn down services when requested. There is certainly no excuse for that oversight. Also, I regret to hear that your calls were passed around so many times. That should have been handled differently and I can imagine the frustration it must have caused. I truly appreciate your honest feedback and agree that we should have delivered better service. I hope you will be willing to give us a second chance to give you the experience you deserve on your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    402
    196
    117
    84
See reviews for
640
795
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I really love the Plaza hotel from when I was kid, so I wanted to share the experience with my children. The quality of the amenities and room were nice, and the location is amazing. There is so much to do and see nearby there (not to mention the rest of New York City). The service could have been a bit better. Check in was slow as well as room service. This landmark is great and could be amazing with a bit better service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is the first time I have ever felt compelled to revert to writing a review on trip advisor.

On a recent visit to NY we attended Palm Court for afternoon tea to celebrate a special family birthday. Booked day before requesting a table for 6 at 4pm. Arrived 20 mins early and although numerous tables were vacant, we were advised that table would not be available till 4pm but to have a drink in the residents bar. Bar staff and service were excellent. Returned to Palm court at 4pm only to be seated at a table that had been vacant since our earlier visit. We were taken to the table,it was obviously far too small for a party of 6 adults. Three of our party had individual seats whilst the other three had to squeeze up on a chaise longue. After looking around the area it was obvious that a number of other larger more suitable tables were available, I called over a member of staff who appeared to be a manager and raised my concerns about the size of the table and requested we be moved to a larger table. His response was that he thought the other tables were going to be reset for other bookings and that he had been doing this for twenty years and that space would not be a problem. He walked away and never returned to our table. Please note the other tables were never utilised until we left at around 5:30pm, afternoon tea last seating is at 5pm. We placed our order for varied afternoon teas from the menu and our cake stands were brought to the table. There were four stands brought through 2 Fitzgerald's on one stand,, one Fitzgerald on another, one Snowflake on another, and an Eloise on another. We sat and awaited the arrival of the last one we had ordered which was a New Yorker before starting our food. We waited a further 5-10 mins before we could attract the attention of one of the servers, we advised him that we were still awaiting a further New Yorker, he advised that we weren't, a somewhat heated discussion took place before he agreed to bring the New Yorker, a further 5 mins later. He advised that he would not charge us extra for the New Yorker, don't know what he meant by extra we were only requesting what we had ordered in the first place. By the time all our food had arrived and we could all start to eat the sandwiches on most of the stands had started to dry out and go hard. With all the cake stands on the table they required to be located directly in front of the guest leaving no space at all for a plate to eat from, all guests required to eat directly from the cake stands. In order to access sugar and milk in the centre of the table you requied to stand to reach over the cake stands. As for the food we regularly take afternoon tea in various 3,4 & 5* establishments throughout the UK, I would describe this as average and nothing special and have had better afternoon teas in 3* hotels in the UK, certainly not worth the money. The service was not what you would expect in this type of establishment. When the check arrived it was just under $440, this included a service charge of $61.58 @18%. This apparently according to the check did not include "gratuity". I handed over $500 to settle the check. The server returned to the table a few minutes later to state "do you wish your change" . If this had not have been for a special occasion I think I would have caused more of a scene at the time but I did not wish to make my wives birthday experience any worse. I have emailed the hotel direct in relation to this review and I await a response.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank alan070361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked a last minute weekend at the Plaza for my wife's birthday and it couldn't have been better. Service was prompt and friendly but not overbearing. Enjoyed a drink at the Champagne Bar before heading out to dinner at Maialino. Next morning a light bite and capuccino in the Food Hall were convenient and tasty. No shortage of casual tasty choices down there. After a bit of shopping on 5th walked down to Flatiron to have a bite at Eataly. Despite the crowds we enjoyed our roast beef and pork sandwichs and coffee then toured around the area for a bit. Took a Sunday morning walk through Central Park which is a must for anyone. Can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Österreich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

+ Amazing landmark
+ beautiful lobby
+ very nice and helpful staff
+ brilliant room, nice room size, wonderful bathroom
+ housekeeping is very attentive and friendly
+ location
+ very helpful concierge

- the only kind of negative thing is that since the hotel is quite large it is not very personal. staff has probably no chance to really remember guests since there are often also many people in the hotel who are not guests but just want to take a view pictures

all in all: our place to stay during our next trip to nyc

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Staying at the Plaza has been my dream for nearly 20 years! On our second trip to New York, we decided to book the plaza for one night. We booked the lead-in room. I emailed the hotel a few months prior to explain that it was our first wedding anniversary (we were also engaged in NYC two years prior), and while I understand it is rare to have a park view room (especially in the cheapest category), we would absolutely love and appreciate it. They replied to let me know that the Edwardian Suites are really the only rooms with guaranteed park views. I completely understood and had no expectations of anything different.

Can I just say at this point - even the lobby and public areas of this hotel are gorgeous. The level of service is exceptional (even bar staff), and I think even going to the Palm Court for a meal would be a fabulous experience.

We dropped our bags off around 10:30am on the day of check-in. We knew we wouldn't be able to check in, but we enquired anyway. The very nice man at the desk (SO sorry I didn't get his name, he was fab) let us know that they had reserved a 'partial park view room on the 19th floor' for us, and it wasn't ready yet, but they did have a room available on the 13th floor. I didn't want to give up even a partial view room (again: no expectations!), so we waited. We had lunch reservations at Park Avenue Autumn, so we went there and then walked around Central Park for a bit.

We got back to the hotel around 3pm, and the room still wasn't ready, which was fine. In an exemplary show of service, they gave us 2xdrink vouchers to the value of $28 each! We enjoyed these in the Champagne bar - The Imperial Plaza signature cocktail and a glass of Moet.

The room was ready at about 3:45. We got our room keys and went up. We didn't realise until we were in the (stunning) elevator that the 19th floor was the highest apart from the penthouse! Feeling lucky already. We had to walk right down the end of the hallway to get to our room. We opened the door, walked in, and the room was absolutely gorgeous.

I'd had this fear that because I'd been wanting this for so long, I'd be disappointed (like I was after seeing pictures of the rooms at the Waldorf Astoria) - but I was most definitely not. The room itself exceeded my expectations.

And then I looked out the window...

We had a perfect view of Central Park.

It was slightly obscured by the front side of the hotel, but we could see nearly the whole length of the park. I literally burst into tears and started crying. I cry in movies a lot, but it takes a bit in real life to set me off like this. I was absolutely speechless, and hysterical! We were so blessed, I sat at the desk for hours just taking it in. The colours of the trees (we visited in fall) added to the gorgeous view, it just could not have been better.

While we were still in the room (I didn't plan on leaving!), a knock at the door (after our bags had already arrived) was a man with chocolate covered strawberries, with a card congratulating us on our first anniversary. Little touches like this just make the experience even better - if that's possible!

After taking a million photos of the view and the room, we decided to head down to the Plaza shops. I bought a few bits and pieces at the Eloise store (because I love, love, LOVE the Plaza!), and also spent nearly $200 at the Plaza Boutique - I needed things to remember this experience! They included a large cushion with a sketched picture of the Plaza on the front, a coffee table book on the history of the Plaza and a Plaza hand towel.

We went to the Todd English Food Hall for dinner. We were seated near the Asian section at the bar, was cool to watch the food being cooked and prepared. This is a great dining experience with a lot of great options.

After we headed back up to the room, we put on a movie and ordered room service. This was very Home Alone-esque, I ordered a sundae (DH had cheesecake), and it came with so many little bits and pieces to put on! A turn-down service had occured while we were out, with bottles of Fiji water on each bedside among other things.

I have stayed in only a few true five star hotels throughout the world, but the Plaza has exceeded anything I have experienced before. I would greatly recommend even one night (more if possible) to anyone even considering it. Every detail of the entire hotel is perfect. I could not have dreamt a better experience.

Room Tip: I believe rooms in the back area of the hotel in the 36s-40s will have the best views of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stelle-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear stelle-89,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this great feedback. First and foremost, congratulations on your one year wedding anniversary! We are honored that you chose to spend your first anniversary here at The Plaza and so pleased to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome back you and your husband in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here on our first ever trip to New York.
The location is perfect - right on Central Park. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance or the subway is right across the road.
The rooms are stunning as is the rest of the hotel - you feel like you've stepped back in time. It's just pure opulence.
The hotel is extremely classy, everything looks and feels perfect.
A trip to the bar is a must - best Cosmopolitan I've had in a long time and a great cosy atmosphere.
The service does leave a little to be desired, definitely not what I'd expect from a hotel of this calibre. The bellmen were pretty useless and they made it very very obvious they were waiting for a tip even when they'd barely done anything to help. They very rarely opened the door for you and we had to ask them to carry our bags out to the taxi when we left - something that I would just expect to be done for us.
I often felt a little like we were looked down upon as if we weren't good enough to stay there.

Overall though a beautiful hotel to stay in but probably a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat-aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing