We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible NY Experience”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beverly Hills
1 review
“Incredible NY Experience”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

For the ultimate NY Experience, you cannot beat The Plaza Hotel. It is a New York classic in the true sense of the word. You can walk to every great mid town and upper east and west side restaurant, store and museum. The staff, particularly the management, is top notch. The rooms, particularly the suites, are incredible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jefery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    402
    196
    117
    84
See reviews for
640
796
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Neil, a longtime member of the Door Staff. The first thing out of his mouth was "Welcome Back Ladies, I remember you, how long has it been?" The fact is, it had been 3 years since my sister and I stayed The Plaza.

This is the kind of service you can expect at The Plaza. Everything was wonderful, from check-in to check-out. The guest rooms were spacious and luxurious. Dining in the Palm Court is simply a must as is the Todd English Food Hall.

Of course the location is second to none. So what are you waiting for...go be part of New York history.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 733Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It was our second visit and we decided to go back with the family because we liked the location so much. We were not disappointed in general, but we noticed a few things that really could be improved.
We had a normal room and a suite and both were well appointed. Unfortunately for a hotel of this standard there is no lounge. We had a visitor who was joining us for dinner and he had to wait for us standing up near the front desk. The few seats near the bar are always reserved and basically there is nowhere else (the bar 1 floor up was suggested, but we didn't really want a drink). One day in the afternoon we came back to our room to find a Koran, a prayer mat and a strange device on the toilet. We rang the front desk and a young man came to remove the mat and the Koran. The contraption on the toilet stayed with us for the duration. It was obviously a mistake and everything was intended for a Muslim guest. However a word of explanation and regret for the inconvenience should have been basic standard in an establishment like the Plaza. I mentioned the occurrence while checking out and they "took note" of my comments. Service was in general good, the chambermaids very nice. Finally I would like to mention the outside steps/red carpet: they are a disgrace. I cannot believe that the Plaza cannot afford to keep them clean and tidy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Plaza is living on its reputation. It is in an excellent location and the remake was done in expert fashion as the interior decor is magnificent in the common areas and rooms as well (we've been in three rooms). As a five star hotel, however, it lacks a great deal. The front entrance is a disgrace. The front name plaque has the gilt stripped from one of the letters like someone smiling without a front tooth. The doors are weather worn, peeling, dirty and suggestive of a blighted tenement entrance. Where is the manager? Other Fairmont properties that we use have a sit-down and welcoming reception. Checking in here is like buying a ticket at a bus terminal. Want to meet someone in the lobby or just sit for a few minutes ----forget it!!! There is no place to sit. The area normally considered a lobby is a customer hustled lounge/restaurant where, at all times when you need a place to sit, the tables are usually taken. When this place was converted to condos, the remaining hotel part of the building was thrown a few crumbs, so it has only the vestiges of space, comfort and facilities for hotel guests. In terms of guest relations, we always felt like intruders when we entered the hotel rather than being welcomed as is our usual experience (my wife and I are dressers and I always wear a jacket and often a tie). The Plaza attitude places non-guest/outside patrons and shoppers ahead of hotel guests who are treated poorly. Some may attribute this to New York, but I lay it on management---or lack thereof.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank E Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We recently stayed at The Plaza for a long weekend of art and theatre. The location couldn't be more central. We were able to walk to great restaurants, shopping and shows. The decor is refreshed old world. You feel like an extra in The Great Gatsby - it's opulent. Rooms are a good size with crystal chandeliers and 24 karat plated bathroom fixtures. The rooms are the view, not what's outside the window. We had a "city" view which was a black glass windowed wall of the building across the street. All the park views belong to residents, not hotel visitors. If you're looking for the big city view, this is not the place for you.

Breakfasts were also disappointing. Very expensive and very underwhelming. We ordered room service the first couple of mornings and thought the restaurant might redeem our bad impression. It didn't. Breakfasts are not their strong suit and it's impossible not to spend $100.00 for the worst hotel breakfast experience. I would go outside, if it hasn't been included in your stay. Oatmeal was terrible (forgot to bring milk for it and by the time the server came back to our room, it was cold) and was served with a hardened ball of brown sugar that required a chisel. Yogurt parfait came with one raspberry (menu said it came with "berries") in a bowl of plain yogurt, a jar of tooth-breaking granola and another jar of honey - I guess it was a DIY parfait. I ordered eggs over easy and got 2 hockey pucks that had to be returned. The scrambled eggs were only partially cooked... You get the idea - stick with the afternoon tea.

Otherwise, it does feel like a step through time and I'm glad I experienced staying there once in my lifetime. Staff are very courteous. Rooms are immaculate.

Room Tip: Apparently the corner end rooms have a partial view. Didn't see for myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Pauline T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to learn that you found our breakfast to be disappointing and have shared your feedback with our Culinary team. We are however please to hear that you enjoyed our staff, decor and the heritage of the building. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Plaza on your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had pretty much stayed at all the five star luxury hotels in NYC recently but this one and decided to give it a try because well, we had been everywhere else, and we were bringing along our 10 yr. old daughter and thought she would enjoy it. We also knew the location couldn't be beat. We had stayed their twice 15 years ago but let me be the first to say this is NOT The Plaza of 15 years ago, with old tiny bathrooms and oddly shaped rooms. Basically, the only thing that is the same is the name. We booked a Deluxe Rose Jr. Suite at what was a very reasonable rate compared to other rooms at other similar properties thru Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts. We were upgraded immediately without asking upon our arrival to a One Bedroom Suite that was very large and perfect for three. We had 1 and 1/2 baths and the sofa pulled out for our daughter. The bathroom was one of the largest I have ever seen in NYC. Overall the room was extremely luxurious and comfortable. Had to cringe just a wee bit at fake portraits and some decor, but overall extremely nice. Service was almost flawless ( and I consider my self to be a more demanding guest) just about anything we asked for we got. Concierge was excellent and very helpful. I was driven almost everywhere without asking in the house BMW. Had breakfast at the Palm Court every morning which was so elegant. Only drawback was lobby bar is very small with limited seating. Todd Food Hall downstairs is unique and is great for a quick light dinner after getting the extra late checkout they were happy to give you before leaving for the airport. Really can't complain about much. Was very pleasantly surprised and would definitely return.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites with pullout sofas and 1/2 baths are perfect for parents and children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitzicmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I recommend the Sunday Brunch to feel like royalty. Our server Fariz was excellent - when I spilled my drink, he was quick to replace it and clean up. I also love the lobby stairs and the champagne bar. A terrific memory of New York.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing