We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Plaza”
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #110 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful Plaza”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Having originally spent a night at the newly opened Quin we decided that we preferred the old world charm and spaciousness of the Plaza. although our room was of a significantly lower level at the Plaza it was roomier, more welcoming and had far better closet and cupboard space.
The place exudes old style hotel class and the staff are particularly welcoming. The size of the rooms by New York standards is excellent and outside the weekend, when its packed, the lobby is a pleasant area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank London_traveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    411
    198
    120
    88
See reviews for
659
814
109
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at The Plaza mid March and it was AMAZING to say the least. Excellent customer service. Every staff member was very helpful and polite. The place is immaculate. We stayed in an Edwardian Suite with a partial view of Central Park (bridge and pond view). The room was spacious and had 1.5 baths. The Plaza is in a prime location close to everything (Central Park Zoo, Shopping and more). The Todd English Food Hall was delicious and convenient. Many food, drink and snack choices. The room service is excellent as well. The Palm Court offers a great Sunday brunch. Our overall stay was amazing.

Room Tip: The Edwardian Suite with partial view of Central Park. This was my first time to NYC and I enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefaniKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have always loved the Plaza Hotel. My last visit to the Plaza was four years ago and I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton and Loews Regency for stays in between. I did not notice many differences with the exception of The Todd English Food Hall. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Rose Suite. The extra space is wonderful and we found the suite relaxing, comfortable and very quite. The bathroom is exquisite with a separate deep soaking tub, shower and water closet. The mosaic golden tile reminds you that you are at the Plaza. Service was more average. I had checked in online and found check in at the hotel somewhat slow and just a little rude. The bellmen and chambermaids were very nice and we only used the white glove butler service for ice. This was a contrast to past visits when the butler greeted us and even helped unpack our luggage. I tend to pick Fairmont managed properties in the US and Canada whenever possible and while I rate this service experience as very good it was not excellent as expected and a let down. The location is great for Broadway shows, great restaurants and exploring the Museums nearby. Being right on the edge of Central Park is a bonus and my family and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55135Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

For the ultimate NY Experience, you cannot beat The Plaza Hotel. It is a New York classic in the true sense of the word. You can walk to every great mid town and upper east and west side restaurant, store and museum. The staff, particularly the management, is top notch. The rooms, particularly the suites, are incredible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jefery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Neil, a longtime member of the Door Staff. The first thing out of his mouth was "Welcome Back Ladies, I remember you, how long has it been?" The fact is, it had been 3 years since my sister and I stayed The Plaza.

This is the kind of service you can expect at The Plaza. Everything was wonderful, from check-in to check-out. The guest rooms were spacious and luxurious. Dining in the Palm Court is simply a must as is the Todd English Food Hall.

Of course the location is second to none. So what are you waiting for...go be part of New York history.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 733Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It was our second visit and we decided to go back with the family because we liked the location so much. We were not disappointed in general, but we noticed a few things that really could be improved.
We had a normal room and a suite and both were well appointed. Unfortunately for a hotel of this standard there is no lounge. We had a visitor who was joining us for dinner and he had to wait for us standing up near the front desk. The few seats near the bar are always reserved and basically there is nowhere else (the bar 1 floor up was suggested, but we didn't really want a drink). One day in the afternoon we came back to our room to find a Koran, a prayer mat and a strange device on the toilet. We rang the front desk and a young man came to remove the mat and the Koran. The contraption on the toilet stayed with us for the duration. It was obviously a mistake and everything was intended for a Muslim guest. However a word of explanation and regret for the inconvenience should have been basic standard in an establishment like the Plaza. I mentioned the occurrence while checking out and they "took note" of my comments. Service was in general good, the chambermaids very nice. Finally I would like to mention the outside steps/red carpet: they are a disgrace. I cannot believe that the Plaza cannot afford to keep them clean and tidy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Plaza is living on its reputation. It is in an excellent location and the remake was done in expert fashion as the interior decor is magnificent in the common areas and rooms as well (we've been in three rooms). As a five star hotel, however, it lacks a great deal. The front entrance is a disgrace. The front name plaque has the gilt stripped from one of the letters like someone smiling without a front tooth. The doors are weather worn, peeling, dirty and suggestive of a blighted tenement entrance. Where is the manager? Other Fairmont properties that we use have a sit-down and welcoming reception. Checking in here is like buying a ticket at a bus terminal. Want to meet someone in the lobby or just sit for a few minutes ----forget it!!! There is no place to sit. The area normally considered a lobby is a customer hustled lounge/restaurant where, at all times when you need a place to sit, the tables are usually taken. When this place was converted to condos, the remaining hotel part of the building was thrown a few crumbs, so it has only the vestiges of space, comfort and facilities for hotel guests. In terms of guest relations, we always felt like intruders when we entered the hotel rather than being welcomed as is our usual experience (my wife and I are dressers and I always wear a jacket and often a tie). The Plaza attitude places non-guest/outside patrons and shoppers ahead of hotel guests who are treated poorly. Some may attribute this to New York, but I lay it on management---or lack thereof.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank E Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 468 in New York City
1,214 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 468 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing