We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After 10 years in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #103 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gliwice
1 review
“After 10 years in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very best stay at the city. Location very easy to catch many places. I am very satisfy to br here. But I have compliants that New York Knicks did not succside NBA championat. This is shame for such a city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Krzystof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    392
    193
    114
    83
See reviews for
627
776
105
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

services provided by staff....
the room was neat and classy
the heated floor
the chandeliers
the geographical location
the safety precautions
the breakfast was great
the dining area in the lobby was beautiful

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wonderful place to stay in New York to make a stay special. Large, beautiful rooms with warm attentive service.
Great location across the street from Central Park. Excellent food hall on lower level with large selection of types of food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Henry I,

Thank you for your post. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful and special stay, from our great location to the spacious rooms, warm service, and The Plaza Food Hall. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall good experience: two issues prevented from being great. Room was not ready at scheduled time, was over an hour late! A hotel of this caliber shouldnt have this issue. A/C was controlled remotely

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had stayed at this hotel before but it has changed a lot for better. Especially the food alley created below basement was wooow. Congrats.The rooms are very spacious and very highly decorated.
The business center is really professional

Room Tip: Value for money. Really exclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErdenBilginer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ErdenBilginer,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the recent renovations and refurbishments at The Plaza, in particular the Todd English Food Hall and The Plaza Food Hall. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My room was huge, the decor old-fashioned elegance (you'll want to move into the bathroom! A gold-plated fantasy!). Best sound-proofing of any hotel I've stayed at in years. Great bell staff, but the front desk guy wouldn't speak loudly enough to be heard (I have normal hearing), and it was hard to know when things would cost something, like the Butler service. And no in-room coffee machine, I was afraid to ask for one in case it cost.

The decor is a throw-back to 19th Century, but lovely. I hope they keep it instead of replacing it with particle-board Modernity.

Not a place to make friends, but a lovely oasis in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MystiAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I brought my daughter-in-law for a "girls shopping weekend." Since I get to the city often, and she had never been, I knew I wanted to make her trip truly memorable. Choosing what shows to see and what restaurants to eat at was tough; choosing what hotel to stay at was not. There is no other place to stay when visiting NYC than The Plaza Hotel. The level of courteous and professional service, attention to details, location, amenities, high tea service and beautiful décor throughout the hotel is unmatched anywhere. I booked the two bedroom suite and my daughter-in-law was simply blown away. So was I. As usual...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mybeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear mybeezer,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were delighted with your stay and we hope you will return for another girls shopping weekend soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#326 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing