We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Plaza
Ranked #107 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ample-sized, well appointed room made our stay very comfortable. Great location, impeccable service and classy ambiance complete the picture. Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in. USB charging ports in the room would have helped though. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Rex Y,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Plaza, and greatly appreciate the feedback! We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wonderful location. No question about that. Reception area was disappointing, understaffed with queues of guests waiting in line. Check in was delayed which after a long journey was not great. Couldn't check in on time. Our suite was nice, slightly faded glory but nice. Some repairs needed, eg cracked sink, been like that a while! Nice partial view of Central Park though was fab. Butler came and introduced himself, but was never seen again!!! Hopeless. Biggest disappointment was that the only proper dining room available to us was shut for refurbishment. There was no advance warning to our travel agent and no mention on arrival, until we asked. So we didn't see the iconic room, Palm Court. This left only a small area near reception for all the guests to have breakfast, we there had to leave the hotel for breakfast. There is a food court below the hotel but this open to the public and was very busy and hot. Overall I'm glad I've stayed at The Plaza, but I'd probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Local_lass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Local_lass20,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and your overall stay. We do apologize for the wait to check-in to your room, and for the lack in follow-up from our Butler Service. This is certainly not the norm, and we ensure that your feedback is shared with the team. We sincerely hope that you will return to enjoy the iconic Palm Court as it is re-imagined by our new Culinary Director Geoffrey Zakarian. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Plaza for our honeymoon in August 2013. We had the most amazing time and the hotel was wonderful. The staff were friendly, the decor and cleanliness were impeccable. We would love to come back and stay in this amazing building. What a fantastic location too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlottex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Charlottex_12,

Thank you for your post and for choosing The Plaza for such a momentous occasion as your honeymoon. We hope to welcome you back for many anniversaries in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We decided to try The Plaza on a long weekend getaway. Splendia offered an attractive discount so we gave it a try. A classic NYC property with lots of history. The staff have been trained in "Ritz Style" customer care. A true A+ experience. Right across from Central Park, a great location for dining and checking out all that NYC has to offer. Unfortunately inside construction as they update the main eating area was disappointing, but still a great time.

Room Tip: Use Splendia.com to get a good room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Love is the only word I can use to describe the fabulous experience I had staying one evening in The Plaza. I have never experienced white glove service before..I feel like I have arrived! The staff was super friendly, the room was gorgeous, we were in a suite with a terrace beautiful, the chandeliers, the bathroom was crazy the marble, the gold inlay, the tub was big enough for two people, the shower ( I have to admit I took three showers because the shower was so inviting) the grounds were impeccable. I love all the rich history about The Plaza not just from the movies although knowing that Robert Redford walked the same red carpet as I isn't too shabby. Hands down one of the best hotel experiences of my life!! Enjoyed every single moment of my experience at The Plaza!

Room Tip: Loved room 522!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteelerGirl426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear SteelerGirl426,

Thank you for your post. We are so happy to hear that you loved your experience at The Plaza and are thrilled that our rich history helped to make for a memorable stay. We are also happy to know that you found the bathrooms so inviting! We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back to The Plaza in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This review is one year late but I felt I had to write it. We stayed at The Plaza for 12nights in June last year and we had a fantastic time. Our son and daughters were pampered with costumes, customised knights and princesses chocolates, Eloise books and videos. The location of course was exceptional and the best I've ever experienced. They were able to secure the best seats to all the shows I wanted even at the last minute. Rooms, bath, toiletries were well appointed and every bit luxurious. We also loved the Plaza food court for quick snacks especially Luke's Lobster Rolls!!!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank SID&AKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear SID&AKAY,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay! We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay and hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wonderful stay, upgraded to a suite with butler service. Culinary options are many, concierge service was excellent. Wonderful location! Perfect place for family, friends, couples.
Room was excellent, staff attentive and personable. Great location for museums, central park, the best shopping in NYC, and other attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank SLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear SLJC,

We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay and enjoyed the opportunity to experience one of our suites! We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#59 of 470 in New York City
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#138 of 470 in New York City
211 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 470 in New York City
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £379 - £2,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing