We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Primi

Bar Primi
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Primi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,150 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar Primi is an Italian pasta shop on the border of NoHo and the East Village.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

There was not a bad dish to be had! Service was terrific. Food was the absolute best in italian! There were 8 of us, we were seated immediately. Food came out promptly, as did our drinks. I will be returning again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KayGeeTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    61
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Casual and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Went here twice during a week long stay in New York. Their daily specials look great, I did want to try their beef cheeks but hey we're out so get in early. Service is excellent. Great range of wines.

Would gave been happy to eat here every night but hey this is New York and I had to try other resturants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Bar Primi is a non-pretentious, beautifully done, Italian Restaurant located just North of Houston on the Eastside of NYC. Chef de cuisine Sal presents an excellent menu, and has transformed delicious,traditional ideas into wonderful dining choices,and the staff provides an excellent atmosphere for a comfortable dining experience. Try the Burrata Bruschietta, a creamy Mozzarella cheese, server with blended herbs, anchovy, and roasted peppers on garlic bread.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
272 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“New, fun and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a great meal here! The restaurant just opened a few weeks ago but was very busy. The prices are very reasonable (most pastas on the menu were $14-18), and everything we had was really tasty. We got the meatballs, the pomodoro, the branzino (a special) and the tortellini (another special.) We also had the sangria which was delish! It was a nice find!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sfbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian west of Italy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is hands down the best casual Italian spot in NYC.
Food is outstanding. Best meatballs you'll ever have. Antipasti salad is great. All the pastas are crazy good
Really nice room upstairs and downstairs. Crowd is lovely and nice. Service is spot on

Helpful?
1 Thank Scipiotrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Primi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bar Primi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing