We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but practical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New York Presbyterian Guest Facility
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive but practical”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Since we are here for medical purposes the location was top priority. The room, studio with mini kitchen, is clean, spacious and utilitarian. The set price of $250 a night is rather steep but I guess it's NY! Awful pillows and toiletries are a minimum. Small flat screen tv but no comfortable seats. Only table chairs and a chair you see in doctor offices. The Ac is lacking so glad we brought our own electric fan! It was $47 from LGA with a prearranged limos.com reservation. We go to see Jersey Boys on Wed pm. I will let. You know how much the cab is from here! We are headed out to find restaurants close by

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank travelismypassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    146
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
233
75
63
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Owasco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When you have to be near the Hospitals at NY Presbyterian, Special Surgery, Sloan Kettering, etc., or next door to Sotheby's or Mary Manning Nursing Home, there is no better solution than staying here, where you can chose between a one bedroom suite, a corner room, or a studio apartment, all with a fully equipped kitchen, and great service! The parking garage is underneath and served by the floor elevators, while shopping and dining in First Avenue is one block away and with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: No matter where your room is, it's always nice and quiet, but rooms on the west side have a city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed here around two back surgeries that I had at The Hospital for Special Surgery. I rested easy knowing that her room was a short walk from the hospital, and was a pretty safe place. It isn't cheap, but what is in NY? I would recommend this place to anyone needing a place to stay during medical appointments at HSS or the other area medical facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife actually looks forward to my next joint replacement surgeries (2 so far 2009 & 2011) and Most major medical procedures are stressful for the accompanying loved ones as well. NYP Guest facility (Helmsley) goes out of their way to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. She especially loves strolling around the neighborhoods where there are numerous wonderful restaurants and other attractions to take her mind off my procedures. BTW, Hospital for Special Surgery is the ONLY orthopedic hospital that consistently ranks number 1 in the world! A part of New York Presbyterian complex, HSS is next door to the Helmsley.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street (traffic) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I spent 12 nights here while my husband was inpatient at Sloan-Kettering for pancreatic cancer surgery. I had a corner suite room 1124, which was spacious and very nicely appointed for $270/night the weeks between St. Pat's and Easter, which was much more reasonable than area hotels (and includes a full kitchen.) The staff is top notch; unfailingly kind and polite and well aware that most of the guests are emotional and strung out. I can't praise them enough. When I forgot to extend my stay when my husband wasn't released when expected, an older gentleman at the front desk (I wish I'd gotten his name) went out of his way to make sure I didn't have to pack up and change rooms for my last 2 days, which I'd totally been prepared to do.

Rooms are maybe a little worn and not super stylish, but I was really only in it to sleep after 12-14 hour days at the hospital. Laundry facility in the basement. Only things you really need to bring is paper towels, food, and a sharp knife (not included in the room's utensils.) There are towels, plates, cups, glasses, bowls, silverware, a dishwasher, a microwave, a coffee maker. I saved a fortune eating in vs having to eat out or at a hotel. Parking discounted for hotel guests with copy of your bill. Someone always available at the front desk with issues or problems. WiFi is free but can get pretty slow. My fridge smelled horrible upon arrival but it was such a minor concern, I didn't complain and just got a box of baking soda to put in it. Great water pressure in shower, lots of closet space, windows opened to let fresh air in which was a huge bonus. My room had a great view of 71st St as well.

Housekeeping visits daily, so you get all the perks of a hotel plus all the perks of an apartment. A very unique property serving a very unique group of people. I'm grateful they were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I'm so grateful for this facility! During the surgery of a family member, it was such a relief to not have to worry about travel to Cornell-Weill, parking, or high fees; I could focus all my time and energy on my family member. The room was very clean. The kitchen was fairly well appointed, and all of the kitchen appliances and amenities were very clean. The refrigerator was large enough for several days' worth of food. There was a large round table for dining. It wasn't a beautiful room, but I spent little time there, so it didn't matter -- the cleanliness and amenities were all that I cared about, and I was quite satisfied. The concierge was very helpful with information. The parking deck employees were efficient, and the parking was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were in New York City for only 1 night for a medical consultation - and our first trip there. We got a cab at the airport which delivered us to the front door where we were checked in by a friendly clerk at the desk. There is a computer in the lobby with free printing where we were able to print our boarding passes for the next day's flight. We were on the 11th floor and our room (1118) had been redone with new cabinets, appliances and bath. There was a hair dryer and toiletries provided in the bathroom. There was also complimentary coffee and tea in the kitchen and two trays of ice in the frig. The room was very quiet, the only outside sound we heard was one siren. The rooms are very large with a kitchen which even included a small dishwasher. We had a very comfortable stay. The area is a safe one; we walked to a restaurant for dinner after dark. It was only a couple of blocks to the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center for our appointment the next morning. I would highly recommend this hotel for people from out of town coming for medical treatment or consultations.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pjreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#240 of 466 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#68 of 466 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 466 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,845 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 466 in New York City
4,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Presbyterian Guest Facility? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Presbyterian Guest Facility

Property: New York Presbyterian Guest Facility
Address: 1320 York Ave, between East 70th and East 71st, New York City, NY 10021-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
New York Presbyterian Guest Facility Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing