We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great downtown Manhattan Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #227 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great downtown Manhattan Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is in the South Street Seaport area and is within walking distance of all downtown neighborhoods. Our room had a great terrace and view of the East River and Brooklyn Bridge. We had dinner in Soho and walked back to the hotel. It was quiet, well staffed, free wifi, and continental breakfast. We even parked overnight for $20. I prefer downtown because it feels like NYC and is far less congested than midtown. This hotel also has lots of good deals so it's a find in NYC. Did I mention the tasty cookies in the mid-afternoon? Or the fabulous Italian wine store around the corner? They are doing construction on Peck's Slip but we were here on the weekend and had no noise. They are also refacing the front of the hotel, so if you are planning a weekday trip, might be worth asking about whether those factors will impact your stay. The Fulton Street subway is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2TravelNJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaporthotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Luv2TravelNJ15,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate when our guests let us know how we are doing. Our location is ideal when you are driving into the City. Where else can you get $20 for parking in New York CIty? And it is close to subway easy commute to all attractions in NY. Again we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Best Western Seaport Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    392
    90
    30
    21
See reviews for
305
273
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckley, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We found this location to be a perfect spot for us. We used the hop on/off bus as our transportation for our 3 days and the stop is just 2 blocks away. Our room had a view of the Brooklyn Bridge. It was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast area is small but a decent selection. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

If you want a nice hotel with great amenities in a quiet location of NYC, stay here. You get a refrigerator, free wifi, continental breakfast and warm cookies. Near the South Street seaport - very quiet location - don't hear the subway or honking of horns.

It's about a 15 minute walk to the nearest subway stops - but multiple stations on various lines so easy to walk to. About 1/2 mile from Chinatown and great restaurants. Great view of the Brooklyn Bridge.

One of the favorite hotels in NYC - away from the chaos that you find in most areas in NYC.

If this is your first trip to NYC it maybe too far from a subway stop - but I highly recommend this hotel and location. Friendly staff too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great stay, exceptional service, friendly & helpful staff/people, outstanding! This is where I will stay when ever I am next in New York City

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
909 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

If you are tired of Times Square and the busy-ness of the city, but still want to make sure you have a decent hotel in Manhattan, this is a good candidate. Its almost a mile from the subway, so you have to be ready to walk or take taxis, but that is part of its charm. This hotel is on the east river, in an area that has been struggling to be redeveloped for a long time. Its on a roughly cobblestoned road, and surrounded by old warehouses. It does have the flavor of old New York- the one that used to be a seaport. And its only a few blocks from the South Street Seaport bustle. There are many good restaurants in the area.
The room was spacious by New York standards, and our room on the Peck Slip side was free of street noise because of the construction project. (I hear it will be a park.) The room was very clean. My only complaint was that when the fan came on it was so loud it woke me up repeatedly but without it the room would have been too warm.
Not much of a business center (one computer) but it had free wifi that was very good. Also a nice breakfast was included.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from the Brooklyn Bridge if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel was great! The staff were all exceedingly friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and up-to-date, and the decor throughout the facility was lovely. It was far removed from the grimy, dated image that I have of most affordable New York City hotels.

The Seaport area is also very pleasant, even though some renovations are taking place near the river.

Just ignore the "Terrible" ratings, and remember that the last one was in 2009. I strongly doubt that there are very many reasonably-priced(for New York, that is) hotels on Manhattan island that offer this level of quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVANSMONTGOMERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We always look forward to returning to this great hotel. The front desk staff is outstanding. Tia, Douglas, Dion, Nick were friendly and helpful. The room was as usual, clean and neat. Housekeeping was attentive but not intrusive. Marlenin, in charge of that department, along with everyone else follows the high standards set by the manager, ZB. ZB pays close attention to all details of guest experience. We are planing our next trip already. Thank you, Seaport Inn staff

Room Tip: Have been in many rooms queen and king. All great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#348 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Financial District
Eurostars Wall Street
Eurostars Wall Street
#392 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing