We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #278 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel might seem to be located away of the tourist areas but in fact it is a walking distance to ground zero, Staten Island Ferry, China Town, Wall Street, Brooklyn Bridge and so on. The closest subway station is Fulton St. I had a great time in this hotel, the staff was very helpful and you feel welcome. The room might need some updates but the one I had was cleaned, spacious and comfy with a view over the Brooklyn Bridge. The breakfast is good and you can make your own waffle. I have been at the BW President at Time Square and had a very very bad experience. Comparing price/quality/service BW Seaport Inn is unbeatable. BW Seaport Inn is a hotel to look at when visiting NYC. The Fulton area is offering a great variety of dinning choices and in summer time you can also watch movies on sundeck chairs sipping drinks and tasting food from nice food trucks that change from day to day. Being very picky about hotels this one is worth the money and a very good choice when staying in NYC. I highly recommend it and will definitely be back to that one for my next visit to the big apple.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jarjarbings34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I very much enjoyed staying here in May 2014- both for the value and for the convenience to restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. It is most interesting to witness the rebuilding of the South Street Seaport area and have access to the various water taxis in the area. overall, this was a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank patatchelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was close to the Brooklyn Bridge. It isn't very close to Times Square/Central Park but you can get the subway. We walked most places because the weather was lovely and it didn't take too long. The most disappointing part about the stay for me was the breakfast. The selection mainly consisted of bread which wasn't great for me since I am wheat intolerant so I was extremely limited on what I could actually eat. I was told there would be eggs but most mornings when I arrived down, the eggs were all gone and were not replaced. I wasn't going to get up at 7am to ensure I got eggs because I was on my holidays but I was up usually before 9am and still I wasn't guaranteed eggs. The breads didn't look very fresh baked either, they looked like bought in processed pastries. Maybe I'm just used to 4 star hotels in Ireland where you would always have freshly baked goods and each guest would get a cooked breakfast to set you up for the day. Most mornings, I had to buy breakfast outside of the hotel so just keep that in mind when you are booking. The staff very quite helpful overall but again, they looked at me a bit funny when I asked if they could call a restaurant for me to make me a booking. Again, maybe that isn't something they do in the States. The basics for the hotel are there but just don't necessarily expect anything above and beyond the standard experience. I was just disappointed. Oh and on a last note, be careful about letting midgets into your room if you open the window. I kept waking up with a load of midget bites and couldn't understand why they were only appearing in the morning. Then one night before I went to bed I sprayed myself with deet and my boyfriend was eaten alive instead so it must have been in the room. Maybe buy some repellant

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCars26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful. Nice and quiet as it is near the port. We really liked that. I would stay here again. The breakfast was decent if you got there really early, if you got there after 8am they usually ran out of the meat, if any was being served. Once items ran out they were replaced but usually by something else. Our room was very clean and we had plenty of towels and toiletries we never had to ask for more. We had 3 adults in the room and we stayed 4 nights. We just walked to the lights and caught a yellow cab as one person in the group was 92 and had heart and lung issues and was unable to walk far. So that worked out great for us. We could usually get a cab within about 5 minutes or so. Much cheaper then having the staff at the desk arrange the taxi. Its actually a very pretty area especially along South street (port area).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarisaLovesSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well kept, nice exterior and tasteful interior, quiet location, many decent quality breakfast choices (except fruit). helpful, competent staff. More than a standard motel, less than a full hotel. Regular prices are a little steep. 10 minute walk to subway or Brooklyn Bridge (walk across and explore Brooklyn Heights and DUMBO. 20 minute walk to 9/11 memorial (see it once in the daytime to honor the names and once in the evening lit up) and museum. 20 minute walk to Chinatown. South Street Seaport is a work in progress but there appear to be a couple of interesting choices for drinks and dining within a few blocks of the hotel. There is also a TKTs branch close to the hotel- though they didn't appear to have as many offerings as the main location in Times Square.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank GEORGE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Worth staying if you need a NYC hotel not in the outer burroughs that won't bankrupt you. A bit far from the nearest subway stop (Fulton). Great plus is, near to World Trade Center site--the memorial fountains are not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent location. Excellent service. Within walking distance to city sights. Ten minute walk to subway. Very clean. Great breakfast. Large room. Bathroom essentials. Comfortable beds ..Refrigerator. Internet available. Nearby restaurants. Delicious cookies!! We'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lawrence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#250 of 470 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#364 of 470 in New York City
523 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#213 of 470 in New York City
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#276 of 470 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £235 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing