We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #247 of 466 Hotels in New York City
San Diego, United States
1 review
“clean, good location and value”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed there for two nights during the July 4th week. The room is clean, having more than enough amenities. Beds are comfortable. Staff and services are also helpful and good. Breakfast is good, but like other reviewers said it runs out pretty quick. Location is very close to Wall St, WTC site and ferry to Staten Island, but it's a solid 20-minute walk to nearest subway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ge Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    392
    90
    31
    21
See reviews for
305
273
54
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a very positive experience at the Best Western in New York City. Stayed at the Seaport location. Very convenient to a lot of the happenings in the area. World trade center, battery park, Statue of Liberty,Wall street, Shopping, Bars etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived early and we were able to check in, the staff checking us in and all day long at front desk went above and beyond their duties to make sure every need and question we had were answered. WE LOVE LOVE LOVED OUR STAY.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 799tammyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown (what a mouthful !) in late June 2014 for relatively-long stay of 11 nights and found it to be all that I had hoped for from the description and reliable TA reviews (important for me as my stay was long enough for any annoyances to become a problem as opposed to just a quick 1-night stop). It is in a quiet location offering nearby public transport links and was clean/comfortable.

I had booked my stay via Expedia which, before some special discounts, cost a total of $2453 (incl taxes - make sure you allow for this when you compare prices like-for-like as some hotel quotes exclude them !) for a 'Standard Room, 1 King Bed' to include the 'headline' features of breakfast and free cancellation (up to the day before, I've often found this handy before in case a better option crops-up at the last minute !).

I've been to New York a number of times before for tourist holidays and, as I had plenty of time there for this visit, a location for quickly accessing the busy/central 'tourist' attractions of Manhattan was less-important to me as I didn't plan to go to them much. What I needed was somewhere in mid/lower Manhattan BUT with the right combination of in-room facilities, nearby public transport links and quiet surroundings - so I could relax/'chill' in peace overnight away from the hustle and bustle of the central city area.....

After a lot of research, I found that this hotel easily offered the best value to satisfy those requirements and include a private bathroom, breakfast, an in-room fridge, free wi-fi and an in-room safe - those latter 'mandatory' features took a LOT of the lower-priced hotel options out of the reckoning !

So, for me, this hotel was the best compromise. The location of your hotel is probably the biggest factor for contemplation, so you really need to weigh-up your plans to help you decide. I used public transport a lot to get around (+ to/from JFK) as my long stay would eventually take it's toll on my legs with general walking around anyway - plus I went to The Bronx/Yankee Stadium on 6 occasions, Brooklyn 3 times, Staten Island twice and made a day-trip to Philadelphia....

The hotel is located in what I felt to be was a developing quite 'chic' district, generally very quiet at all times (occasional daytime construction work) despite being near to the busy Wall St area and having a lot of open-air activities at the very close, rightly-popular, pedestrianised 'Seaport' area.

Within easy reach you have subway stations for the 2/3, A/C/J/Z and 4/5 lines and stops for the M15/M15 'Select'/M22 buses; for mid/lower Manhattan I used the bus a LOT (incl as a link to/from JFK - esp as the subway stations were a little uphill !), as the stops are nearer than the subway and the service often just as quick/practical, they serve east Manhattan better. Plus, as the weather was VERY hot you avoid 'cooking' in the sweltering heat of the poorly-ventilated subway station waiting for the equally-late/delayed/often full trains....!!!

The Seaport area and adjacent Fulton/St John streets also have just about every well-known standard retail outlet (eg Subway, CVS) plus a good choice of deli's and an excellent 24hr supermarket called '55 Fulton Market' (good prices/deli + special offer 24x500ml bottled water for $4, yes $4 !) . I'll add some photos of the surrounding area to show how different it is to central Manhattan and why I believe it is such a pleasant/realistic contrast to staying 'Uptown'.

I e-mailed the hotel before arrival and 'pre-requested' a preference for a room on a high floor, with a view of Brooklyn Bridge and away from the lift (aka elevator) - I got a rapid reply and ultimately was allocated a room which satisfied all of those desires !

I've little to say about the room/bathroom, as it was clean, appointed exactly as expected (with a multitude of very handy room-appointments eg suitcase stand, coffee maker and desk/chair) and I got my peaceful evenings/sleep even with the reasonably-effective A/C on most of the time !

The reception staff were always helpful (if nothing else make sure you get their excellent 'Concierge' NY map as it is of a good, well-detailed, scale and VERY handily overlays the subway stations/routes (esp as it showed the available transfers for each station - the NY subway system can be a nightmare to navigate !). I'll add some photos of my room/bathroom and facilities; the TV included a range of useful sports channels for MLB and in-progress FIFA World Cup !

There were 2 lifts which were rarely busy, a well-stocked reception area and the adjacent dining area provided 24hr availability for essential facilities/supplies. For me, breakfast was generally fine and offered a few more options than the usual standard USA hotel but with a stay of 12 days the never-changed boiled egg/sausage cooked option did eventually become unattractive !

So, I enjoyed my stay at the Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown very much and found it to offer an excellent combination of facilities, value and a quiet location.

Despite having good public transport links, a multitude of very useful nearby facilities and (perhaps most importantly) being in an attractive/quiet area the location might not be practical for all, but if you check all those things properly against your visit plans I think it should turn out to be an ideal option for most....

Room Tip: 5th floor or above, towards Brooklyn Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LPWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed in one of the suites facing the river towards the Brooklyn Bridge and from the terrace on the 6th floor it is an amazing view! Also anything I asked of the staff they provided and did so with a pleasant attitude! Well worth the money and close to so many things. Subway is a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is located just a block from the Brooklyn Bridge. It is in a nice area that seems to be trying a improve environmentally and architecturally. I walked the block and found a lovely community garden, many shops and taverns, and a public concert/movie area.
We arrived at the oddest hour, 3am, due to a delayed Amtrak train. Unfortunately the night desk clerk seemed either new or unprepared to deal with a travel group. After that, we had a very positive experience. I would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ttrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I enjoyed my time at the hotel. The rooms were a nice size, the breakfast was decent, and my room had a great view of the Brooklyn Bridge along with a patio. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The only real knock I have on the hotel is the location. Not much around it, and you have to walk a short distance to get to a street with cabs on it. All in all, not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Brooklyn bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rastko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#234 of 466 in New York City
1,030 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#187 of 466 in New York City
383 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#350 of 466 in New York City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#222 of 466 in New York City
537 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#273 of 466 in New York City
505 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#58 of 466 in New York City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing