We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #229 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

First trip to New York city and it was only a few days after Christmas. Being a best western plus, I wasn't expecting much. Sure the building isn't pleasing to the eyes when driving up to the hotel. The elevator area wasn't that much better. However, the lobby wasn't bad and the room arguably is one of the best deal you can find in New York. Another friend of ours booked a much more modern hotel for a much higher price but we would have rather stayed here instead. The room was roomy it was modern enough, had enough aesthetic appeal and amenities. It is a best western plus standard room but in New York. Hotels in NY are a whole dif ball game than anywhere else. Did I mentioned that it is in Seaport and next to the Brooklyn Bridge? Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    392
    90
    30
    21
See reviews for
305
273
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The service was wonderful. Staff was very friendly and went above and beyond. The location is great. Loved all of the views especially since I got a balcony at no additional charge. The rooms were average size and for being NYC very quite. They were clean.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitnsaly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
240 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Location ! Location ! Location ! Along with a wonderful place to stay and friendly helpful staff. It is close to: Financial District, SoHo, Freedom Tower, Statue of Liberty, Chinatown, Pier 17, and some really big, famous bridge. Many of the rooms have been updated and ours was quite nice, and quiet ! They serve a hot breakfast in one of those traditional 'continental-type' atmospheres, and it's better than most like it. We like this hotel because you don't have to figure out which bank of elevators to take you up to the 3,257th floor. Every afternoon, they serve fresh cookies with tea and coffee. There is also: complimentary WiFi, a 24-hour fitness room, parking (it costs $25 for 24 hours), complimentary USA Today, sundry shop, and pet friendly rooms. We have booked there three times and plan to stay again this August.

Room Tip: Every time we've stayed here, our room has been quiet, so I don't know if there is a 'no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel is nice, Staff is friendly - Parking is $25.00 per night!!!!!!!! reasonable dining at a near by diner. easy access to the subway system. Stayed here for our anniversary took in some Broadway shows and went to the statue of Liberty. It is located in the downtown district of NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Best Western Plus Seaport Inn. We found the location great- away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet only a couple of blocks from the subway so easy access to Times Square and all of the other areas. It was a 2 block walk to a fun outdoor area with live music and an open bar. Several good restaurants were right across the street. Make sure you request 6th floor for a wonderful terrace that overlooks either the Brooklyn Bridge or the Financial District. We thought its was a great value for the money. Free wifi, free breakfast and free cookies in the lobby!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Spent literally 15 hours comparing prices, reading reviews, hitting up all the major hotel sites, scrutinizing specific needs: distance to subway, noise level, bed comfort, room size, safety of area, air conditioning, quality of food nearby...everything. Again and again, Best Western Seaport Inn kept popping up in my top 5. And I was so glad that was our choice. Stayed 4 nights and couldn't have asked for a more courteous and genuine staff. Hurricane Sandy hit this area hard and stepping through the front doors you'd never know. Lobby is so clean and welcoming. Rooms were ready upon arrival and I was impressed with the space for a NYC room. Bed was so comfy, plenty of pillows, curtains blocked the morning sunshine. Shower pressure was perfect, mini fridge was cold and the whole experience was perfect. BTW, continental breakfast was a good size spread but it's New York...go get breakfast somewhere else if you're a foodie like me. Oh, and also loved the 6 restaurants within walking distance to the hotel which I'll probably review also. Night life was pretty awesome a few blocks down. Needless to say, this Best Western will be my #1 choice for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncrae77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I brought our kids to New York for a few days of sightseeing, and I found great rate for this hotel through Costco Travel. The hotel was clean and comfortable. It doesn't have a "traditional" front desk/lobby, rather a small, more informal lobby where the associates sit at desks in the lobby area. All of the employees we met were really friendly and were very concerned with making our stay a pleasant one. I was worried about street/traffic noise and requested a room on the upper floors away from elevator/ice/vending, but we were placed in room 206 - directly above the lobby, two doors down from the elevator and stairwell. I was surprised (and happy) that noise from the street, hallways and other guests wasn't a problem at all, and I'm a light sleeper. The air conditioning cycling on/off during the night was a little loud, but I've encountered that at most hotels that use window/room units. The room was clean and linen/towel service was prompt. The bathroom was a little dated and some of the grout/caulk wasn't as 'fresh looking" as I would have liked, but for $200 a night in Manhattan, I wasn't going to complain. The Brooklyn Bridge, Chinatown, Little Italy, Wall Street and Battery Park were all within walking distance. We paid quite a bit for taxis to go to midtown/uptown, but that's mostly because we have younger kids and it was really (REALLY) hot the week we were there. I would definitely recommend a stay here. One final note, if you ask for any recommendations like a tour bus, entertainment, etc. be sure to ask the associate if it's his/her personal recommendation or one encouraged by a vendor's agreement with the hotel. For example: we wanted to book a sightseeing tour bus for a day. The front desk associate recommended a newer company that had an agreement with the hotel to promote their business. If we'd taken that recommendation, it would have cost us $280 for the 2-day pass. Instead, I did a little more searching and found a similar 2-day pass for $158... Best to do your homework and look at several options.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#348 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Financial District
Eurostars Wall Street
Eurostars Wall Street
#398 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing