We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, quiet, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Ranked #247 of 466 Hotels in New York City
USA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great hotel, quiet, great location”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I've stayed in many hotels in NYC and this is the first time I've stayed at a hotel where I barely heard any traffic outside. No horns honking, no beeping, only once did I hear sirens.
Location is near the South Street Seaport and that area which is a great area of the city. Quiet but unique. About a 15 minute walk to the nearest subway stops. I walked to Battery Park and could walk to the World Trade Center site - always plenty of people around felt safe walking around

Nice large room, and free wifi, refrigerator big pluses. Free continental breakfasts and free cookies in the afternoon available too. Staff was very nice, rooms clean.

I would highly recommend this hotel and location.

Only thing that turned me off is when I was leaving I asked if the person at the front desk could get me a taxi. She told me the price and then luckily said it was their car service not a taxi. I didn't want their overpriced car service and had to walk about a block away to flag a taxi myself

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    392
    90
    31
    21
See reviews for
305
273
54
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This was very good experience for me since it was first time i came to new york. Location, service, our room everything was excellent. we went to new york for our honeymoon and we didn't know the hotel in advance. But the hotel made us happy with all of its properties. Thanks a lot to all staff in best western.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didemarikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Dear Didemarikan,

Thank you for the wonderful review and choosing our hotel for your honeymoon. We are located near a wedding hall and know the challenge of hosting wedding guests and our staff always steps up to the occasion. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made it even more pleasurable . Hope to see you again soon.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We have stayed at the Seaport Inn twice and will definitely stay there whenever we are in New York City. Rooms are clean and beautiful, location is great- right next to where the Grey Line buses stop, quick walk to the subway and located in the Charming Seaport tourist area. Staff friendly and accomodating. A real find!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishtraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Dear Trishtraffic,

Thank you for the review. Our repeat guests are our best and most valued asset and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see again soon in the near future.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Hotel was extremely good quality for New York, we stayed in Room 508, with excellent views over Brooklyn Bridge, and the Seaport. Room was good size, and cleaned daily. Daughter especially liked the free WiFi. Breakfast was good and saved having to go elsewhere, also everybody liked the afternoon cookies. Good walking distance of subway and buses to get uptown, have stayed uptown before, this hotel better, and far quieter. Staff were all excellent, and were always helpful. Stayed over Christmas and New Year, and enjoyed the 6th worst snow storm New York has ever had.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Dear Briant53,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate when guests let us know how we are doing. Indeed, our rooms are spacious with excellent views of the Brooklyn Bridge and the city. We try our best to make a enjoyable stay for our guests and experience New York with comfort. Again, thank you and we hope to see you in the future.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My organization has a corporate account with the Best Western Seaport Inn. Each month we have lots of folks come to NYC and they only stay there. They love the location and the rooms. It is close to everything, yet tucked away in a historic part of downtown Manhattan. Free Breakfast and afternoon snacks are thoroughly enjoyed by all.

I deal with booking their rooms and I must say it is a pleasure to work with the staff! The front desk is manned by many - folks that really go above and beyond, like Marlenin, Tia and Suheidy. The Manager ZB is great to deal with and very accommodating. The Sales Rep Erica is wonderful. The hotel is a great value, clean and comfortable. They even have a small conference room which we have utilized several times when an off-site meeting was required. And there's a small fitness room that serves it's purpose.

This isn't your typical Best Western...this has a homey, Bed & Breakfast-like feel and I am sure everyone will enjoy their stay there, I know our staff sure does!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

In a very nice area (old seaport district), 5mn by foot to subway and brooklyn bridge, 15mn to wall street area and liberty statue departure.
Rooms are big enough and clean (we booked a 2-queenbeds for 4 pax), staff very helpfull.
Breakfast included, as wifi access and fitness room.
A very nice stay in this hotel, we recommend it for further journey in NYC

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yragael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Yragael:

We appreciate when guests let know how we are doing. Our location is ideal for visitors who want to stay close to attractions and have easy access to public transportation. Our rooms are larger than average “NY room” along with modern amenities makes a great value for first time comers to NYC. Again thank you for your review and happy New Year!


ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed in the Best Western Seaport Inn with my husband and daughter over Labor Day weekend 2010, as we were moving our daughter into an apartment in Brooklyn. Although the location of this place is fabulous, with great restaurants and shopping, and although the hotel seems clean and with updated furnishings, our experience of staying there alternated between laughable and hair raising. At breakfast the first morning, the fire alarm went off, followed in short order by the arrival of New York's finest--a full complement of hook and ladder trucks and firefighters. Never got the whole story (the front desk staff was uncommunicative at best), but it seemed to be a fire involving the elevator system. For the remainder of our stay, the elevators were out of order--good thing our room was only on the third floor!! The only explaination we received was a sign posted on the doors of the elevator. And about that room--clean enough (or so we thought) although very dark owing to a lovely view of a ventilation shaft--we encountered additional occupants in the form of...yes...bedbugs We think they were living in the sleeper sofa, as we did not find any evidence on or in the bed. Maybe just a matter of time though...when I mentioned this discovery discreetly to the front desk staff, I received a blank stare. No apology, no "we'll check it out right away", no offer to move us to another room. I asked about an extermination policy and was told that Housekeeping would be notified. We did not unknowingly carry bugs home with us or to our daughter's apartment, (we checked pretty thoroughly, believe me) so it was probably a fairly minor infestation at that time.

I actually hesitated to write this negative review, because I really wanted to like this hotel. It is in a wonderful part of lower Manhattan, really close to the Brooklyn Bridge, with lots of character, great bars and restaurants, and fairly good if expensive parking. We certainly were there on a difficult weekend, with the fire and the inoperative elevators ( and--ahem--little visitors) and I get that sometimes these things just happen. What was really inexcusable was the attitude of the front desk staff--they seemed completely clueless as to the impact that these inconveniences might have on their guests. This is the antithesis of hospitality--which is what hotels are supposed to be about, right?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kctraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaporthotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Dear KCtraveler21,

First and foremost we want to thank you for letting us know about your stay. If our guests do not communicate to us then we have no way of reacting to concerns and or problems. I want to ensure you that we have done a complete investigation on your room with our outside exterminating service and no evidence of any bugs were found. We take this very seriously and we spend considerable time and money in training and preventing this from
happening. The comments about the staff not providing you with proper and exceptional service is not acceptable and certainly not our normal way of doing business. We have shared your review with out team and continue to train to exceed our guest expectations. Thankfully there was no injury in the elevator fire and all services are restored, we thank you for your patience. I hope that with your daughter living close by you will give us another chance to WOW you with our service. Please contact me directly to make any future accommodations.

ZB Moham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#234 of 466 in New York City
1,030 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#187 of 466 in New York City
383 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#350 of 466 in New York City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#222 of 466 in New York City
537 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#273 of 466 in New York City
505 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#58 of 466 in New York City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
Address: 33 Peck Slip, New York City, NY 10038-1708
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Seaport Inn Downtown Hotel New York City
Best Western Seaport Hotel Downtown
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing