We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Night Theater District
Ranked #248 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 13 February 2008

well stayed at "Night" last saturday for one night in new york. firstly great location, 2 minutes from times square so that was gd and walking distance easily to all the shops and central park, rockerfella centre etc...
bit of a weird hotel! think i liked it ! small rooms with no view, but that is new york all over. very comfy bed and well equipped room, plasma , bose clock radio, even oxygen for sale in mini bar !
no bath just shower , very black in rooms but then theme of hotel is black and white so to be expected !
no porter on arrival, and reception staff ok but not particualry amazing, lift bit dirty but otherwise all okay, breakfast was minimal and no english breakfast in sight ! very light offering !
cost best part of £150 for the night so not that cheap, would reckon it worth more like £100 to £120 in reality.
so okay stay but would not rush back...

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,686 - 1,692 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2008

My wife booked flights to NY for a special birthday & as we usually do we spent quite a lot of time in picking our hotel. We selected the Night because it looked "a bit different" & certainly had good reviews from European visitors. We arrived on Saturday evening for a 5 night stay & although the first room that they showed us was tiny, the upgraded room was fine for the 2 of us. The staff on duty were all very polite, whatever time of the day or night, & the complimentary breakfast was plentiful.
Being so close to Times Square was brilliant & we hardly used our prepaid subway cards.
All in all a great choice for our first visit & I would definitely recommend the Night to anybody

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank k hole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

My wife and I went to New York for a 3 day weekend and booked our reservation with this hotel. The overall experience was very good. The location is great...just steps away from Broadway. There is plenty of shopping and dining just a few steps away from the hotel (along with a Starbucks next door to get our early morning caffeine fix).

The hotel room itself is small, but a standard size for a room in NYC. The room was very clean and well-kept. There was a Plasma TV in the room along with a Bose radio system. Both worked great! The lighting in the room created a nice atmosphere, especially the lighting around the base of the bed.

Probably the best part of the stay was the service we received from the staff. The entire staff was always friendly and was more than helpful when we asked questions regarding directions and other general questions about the area.

The only word of caution I would use regarding the hotel is its not a place for children. The photographs in the hallways and decor depicts some nudity (tastefully done). However, this is a very nice hotel for couples. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and we do plan to stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shok55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Arrived frazzled from flight, but was given a great welcome by the friendly people on reception. They were very helpful and gave me 'in residence cards' with my name printed on them - v helpful so I could my other friends in the city my details.
Room was brilliant. All the basics (clean, comfortable etc) but all done extremely stylishly from lighting to bathroom to bed to TV. Nice breakfast in the relaxing bar.
Was off afterwards to a boring, bog-standard conference hotel, but returned to the bar in this hotel as felt a lot more special and not just boring and mass produced.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank js9530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

we stayed here from the 29th december07 until 3rd january, and i have to say that there was no other hotel on all of manhattan that came in the same league to this hotel. it was an absolutely amazing stay with all the staff so helpful and friendly, they couldnt do enough to make sure that we had an memorable stay.

we knew on the outset that the rooms were small but hey were they smart looking. all the deco was very modern with a black and white theme through out hotel. it was so close to times square that we could see it from our front door.

we didnt eat in the hotel however there are a couple of nice irish bars and restaurants located right opposite the hotel and they served some really nice food.

we will definately be staying here again and we are currently planning our next trip to new york and to the night hotel in particular.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pudsey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-December in what was our first trip to New York, and we will definitely be coming back.

As almost everybody has pointed out previously, the rooms are small, but they are fine for what we wanted them for (sleeping in after long days sightseeing and shopping). The rooms are also incredibly clean and very smart indeed. The bathroom is quite big, the shower is powerful and the complementary toiletries are very nice. No complaints from us about the room.

The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly (both doormen were running up and down 7th Avenue trying to find us a taxi which would take us to JFK!). We didnt try the breakfast, but did eat in the restaurant/bar one night. We found the food to be over-priced, coming in small portions and very salty, so we didnt eat in again. The "20% Gratuity" added onto our food bill was rigorously upheld by the waiter when the tip I had left was somewhere nearer to 18%, which we felt was a little rude. That was the only gripe I had with the hotel at all.

Front desk saw that the window/fire escape in our room, on which the lock had broken, was fixed straight away, and they helped us with restaurant recommendations etc several times.

All in all, a great place to stay, about 50 paces from Times Square, 5 minutes walk from 5th Avenue, all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate_and_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We stayed at the Night from 18-23 December and had a fantastic time and were looked after incredibly well.

The location is absolutely perfect for a city break in New York, practically on Times Square and once you enter the hotel you can't hear any noise from the street.

The interior of the hotel is stunning...dark, gothic and stylish with a nice bar/breakfast area. The room was lovely, a good size with an incredibly comfy bed. The flatscreen tv was great, as was the cd player and the mini bar came in handy. The bathroom was clean and well equipped with a great shower and really nice bathrobes.

The staff were friendly and really helpful, and really made our trip by recommending restaurants and places to go. A big thank you to Carl, Brett and the rest of the team for all your help.

Overall, we couldn't fault the hotel. We will be recommending to all our friends and will definitely stay there again when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Insley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#348 of 473 in New York City
4,783 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#258 of 473 in New York City
4,262 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 473 in New York City
5,621 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#179 of 473 in New York City
863 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#75 of 473 in New York City
4,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Theater District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Theater District

Address: 132 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £88 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Theater District 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Accommodations in the Heart of Times Square. Find inspiration in the pulse and passion of New York City after dark at Night Theater District - a boutique hotel in Times Square and a study in modern aesthetics. Here, you will disappear into a realm of playful contrasts, from the black-and-white checkerboard floor in the lobby to the invitingly guest rooms and suites. Enjoy the excitement of Times Square. See a show just steps away in the Theater District. Allow Night to summon the aura of a stylish private residence in the heart of NYC. Voted Sexiest hotel in America by TripAdvisor Editors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, bedfinder AG, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Night Theater District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Night Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing