We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Night Theater District
Ranked #251 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed here a lot primarily for work. My office is three blocks away so this hotel is convenient. The prices have gone up though so I have been staying somewhere else due to company budget. One thing that sets this hotel apart is not only the vibe but the staff. I haven't been to any other hotel where the staff actually remembers my name. The food in the restaurant is great too. I always seem to get an upgrade or in one of the better rooms when I used to come here. Get to know the staff, Robert and Luis in particular.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoanGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear ChicagoanGeek, we really appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff, It make us very happy when we read positive reviews like yours. Rates are higher during the 4th quarter, but we hope to you have you back soon. Thank you for your preference. Please email me directly the next time you would like to come back, we will offer you the best available rate since you have stayed with us before.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here as part of our Honeymoon and was impressed with the hotel from the moment we walked in. The guy at the front door helped my wife with her bags and was extreamly polite. The guy behind the check-in desk was also very nice and ordered a bottle of bubbly to our room. Check-in went without a hitch.

The rooms are small but from what we read previously this is the norm for NYC. The decor is very stylish with black and white tiling, very chic indeed. The bed was comfortable and the room itself was very clean. The lighting in the room itself was dim but added to the effect the designers were trying to achieve. Music playing in the hallway is very cool and reading the previous reviews IT CANNOT be heard once in your room.

The air-con is noisy when on but isnt unbearable and didnt effect our sleep. The room comes complete with a flat screen with lots of channels and on-demand movies. We noticed a crack in the window upon our arrival but this was measured and replaced before we left and were assured that it would not compromise the security of the room. Wifi was complementary as a result.

Patrick on the front desk was very helpful and actually saved us a lot of time and money with directing us towards the attractions we wanted to see. His knowledge of the area is second to none and was extreamly polite.

The location is excellent as it is literally in Times square with lots of places to eat. Central Park and the top of the rock only a short walk away. Looking to return to NYC in the future and would not hesitate to return to this very well looked after hotel. Thanks very much we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 62 and although small was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Mr. Craig D, thank you for very much for your detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, especially since you were here for a special occasion. We are thrilled to know the staff was helpful during your stay and that our engineer fixed the window in your room before you checked out.
We hope you stay with us again in the future. Please email me directly and I will personally assist you with your booking to make sure you receive great rates and a larger room.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We was greeted and given the key to our room it was compact but just what you would expect and had everything that you would need including an iron! The hotel is an ideal location and a stones throw from Times Square we slept very well indeed the entire hotel is decorated in grey and black which is very stylish although I must say it would be great to have maybe a mirror in the bedroom perhaps full length and also the lighting isn't the best when it comes to doing your make up. Other than that perfect! We went to the reception for advice on bus tours and also to book us a taxi to the airport and they was nothing but helpful. I would definitely come back and stay here again in the sexiest hotel in NYC :-).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisamarieellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review Lisamarieellis!
We are delighted to know your stay was great and you agree that this is the sexiest hotel. We take into consideration your suggestions and look forward to welcome you back some time in the future. Please email us directly for any future reservation, you will be well taken care of.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked this hotel on Expedia, whilst they had a 'sale', still expensive, but it is NY city and you can't argue with the location. I was disappointed that the tax wasn't shown when booking, it simply said 'tax may or may not be included'. That is a failing of Expedia!

The hotel itself is very well presented as you enter. Staff are friendly and very helpful should you need any assistance. The attached bar has 'happy hour' specials each evening which is welcome after a long day on your feet. One evening we arrived to find that most of the bar had been booked out to a company so it was standing room only, however we were welcome to take our drinks to enjoy in our room as we got ready for the night ahead.

The lifts are very slow, but as we were on floor 3 the stairs were our preferred method of reaching our room without much hassle.

Room was much more spacious than other NY city rooms I have stayed in. The bathroom was a decent size and clean.

Overall I was satisfied with the stay, it was nothing special and now that I have spent a bit of time in NY I would perhaps stay in a different location that wasn't so filled with tourists. i would consider the hotel if I was heading to NY for a theatre trip.

We stayed here in September 2013 when there were roadworks outside the hotel. This added to the overnight noise, but not something the hotel can avoid.

Room Tip: A low level room will avoid having to wait for the really slow elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boost74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Boost74, thank you for your detailed review about the hotel and your stay here. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back some time in the future. Please email us directly for any future reservations and we will offer you the best available rate.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights on the 8th floor no noise up there apart from emergency vehicles which seemed frequent. Room small but well presented little space for suitcases but as we only slept there not a great problem. Reception staff very friendly and helpful also the porters? who always had a pleasant word for you. Bar was another matter $16 for 2 Coronas + tax and a reminder on the tab of how much was expected in a tip. Too rich for me and the staff spent most of their time in conversation with their selves. Good location to get about New York

Room Tip: Go high to cut down the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamsg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear jamsg111, thank you for your feedback; it's well appreciated. I am glad your experience at our hotel was pleasant. We will discuss your experience with the restaurant/lounge staff. We hope you stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

small boutique hotel, great location, easy to find and get to, easy to get anywhere from here. room was clean and very well taken care of while we were out. i thought the rates we had were pretty good for the quality and service, especially right off times square. everbody was pretty cool and helpful, any question or request was taken care of immedialtey, folks were always friendly, polite and had plenty of time for you. Patrick at the front desk was great, full of accurate information, super friendly and very conversational, pleasant guy. entire staff was very good, but he made the difference in the stay...much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisNKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear ChrisNKristin, we appreciate your review and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay during your anniversary trip. I am glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Please email me directly for any future reservations. We would love to flag you reservation as VIP- returned guest.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location two min walk from Times Square. The look is cool, dark, and I get what they were trying to do. There isn't much to do at the hotel except sleep but the service was acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear saar G, thank you for taking the time to review this hotel based on your stay. We hope you can stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#349 of 471 in New York City
4,709 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#265 of 471 in New York City
4,197 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 471 in New York City
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#303 of 471 in New York City
5,577 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#174 of 471 in New York City
849 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#71 of 471 in New York City
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Theater District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Theater District

Address: 132 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £92 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Theater District 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Accommodations in the Heart of Times Square. Find inspiration in the pulse and passion of New York City after dark at Night Theater District - a boutique hotel in Times Square and a study in modern aesthetics. Here, you will disappear into a realm of playful contrasts, from the black-and-white checkerboard floor in the lobby to the invitingly guest rooms and suites. Enjoy the excitement of Times Square. See a show just steps away in the Theater District. Allow Night to summon the aura of a stylish private residence in the heart of NYC. Voted Sexiest hotel in America by TripAdvisor Editors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Night Theater District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Night Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing