We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Night Theater District
Ranked #246 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was with a party of 8, and we stayed here from 18th December to 22nd December 2013.

Checking in was easy and we unable to have rooms allocated on the same floor however they did allocate the rooms so that we were close to the lift which was excellent and appreciated.

WiFi is $10 for 24hrs which I think is reasonable. I paid for the first night.

The only issue with the stay was that we all had issues with the door keys, we were issued two cards per room. However one would work and the other would not, which made things annoying if we did not return together at the hotel. The hotel staff did everything they could short of changing the actual locks themselves. It turns out it was an issue with most of the locks in the hotel. Staff were baffled by the situation and for the inconvienence we were given free WiFi for the duration of our stay.

We found free wine in our rooms which was a lovely touch, the hotel new we were in NYC celebrating my 30th Birthday.

The staff were excellent, they chatted to us and were very informative when we had questions to ask. Whether it be the best place for breakfast or a place to get a good cup of coffee. Always had a little chat with them all upon my return from a day out. Really fantastic!

The hotel itself is awesome. I love the interior and exterior. I love the darkness and the black and white. The bed was all kinds of comfortable. I stayed in a queen room. Pillows were lovely as was the mattress. Decor is excellent!

In the bedside table you will not find a bible, but I shall not spoil the surprise of what was found!! !! Brilliant.

On my Birthday I came back to the hotel from the day out, pre evening out, I found a bottle of bubbly with compliments! Lovely gesture considering how well I was already looked after!

SO close to Times Square, a one minute walk, and a five minute walk to Rockerfeller Center/Radio City Music Hall.

I WILL BE BACK! I normally forget the names of hotels I stay at, such as my previous occasion to NYC 7 years prior. This hotel offers a completely different experience for the better and I cannot wait to re-visit.

EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: There is a starbucks next door, but the best coffee is across the road in the deli. There are two I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stvhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Stvhales, thank you for telling us about your experience at NIGHT. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. We would like to apologize again about the inconveniences with the room keys. This issue has already been solved.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    805
    288
    135
    71
See reviews for
183
1,189
194
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at the Night Hotel for 4 nights when I was in NY in autumn 2012. My friend highly reccomended the hotel, so I guess my expectations where excessive, - the value for the money we payed was not fulfilled. If you are looking for something special,- stay there: The rooms are stylish but small. Time Square's just arround the corner and the staff was always friendly and helpful. A 24/7 construction area nicked my sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine_Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Nadine_Sch, thank you for posting your review. We hope you can come and stay with us again. The construction across the street is over and you will have a more quiet sleep. Please email me directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE USA
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Professional staff - very accommodating and attentive, as I waited for the rest of our party. Cool urban hotel atmosphere and rooms were typical NYC size, but perfect for what we needed. The MidTown / Times Square location was perfect for our two night stay.
We had appetizers and a drink while we waited. Barmaid was personable and recommended the perfect vodka.
Also consider checking out sister hotel Dream on W 55th - nice rooftop bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for you great review ThePBR! We are delighted to know your stay was pleasant and that you were satisfied with the service provided by the hotel and bar staff. Please, email me directly for any future bookings. I will make sure you get a very nice room and welcome back amenity.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Be advised, this is a small boutique style hotel—that smells good! When I say small, I mean small. The lobby itself is compact so don't be surprised/disappointed when you come in. The rooms and hallways reminded me of our last cruise ship vacation. The benefit however; is a no-nonsense hotel lobby with no "loiterers".

After reading tons of reviews, we decided to stay in Time Square for our first time to NY to celebrate our 20 yr. anniversary. Some said the hotel was like a nightclub, and I did not want to be around a bunch of young club-hoppers, but we were pleasantly surprised by the guests. They ranged in age, but we rarely ran into other guests despite the compact size of the hotel. The decor is exactly as the pics show, black and white, sexy, and catered for adults. This was just what we wanted. We didn't want to stay in a "family" hotel with kids because we came to NY to escape our young kids. The hotel doesn't discriminate I'm sure; if you want to bring your kids you can, but it’s definitely a grown-up’s place. No real “security” at the hotel, and sometimes, no doorman. Maybe it would raise prices to have one full-time..hmm.

The only noises I could hear from other guests at night was their doors closing. Once closed, I could not hear anything else--thankfully :-). We didn't notice any problems with the elevator speed. The hotel has only 9 floors, so I didn't expect them to be as fast as the WTC or anything. I will say the room we stayed in is starting to show some minor wear. The bathroom tiles were missing grout in some areas, and as other reviewers mention, the lighting was a challenge even though our bathroom had a window. The wood on the bathroom vanity has endured some water damage, and the caulking had a bit of mold...nothing that a little elbow grease could not have fixed. The room itself was good (room 86). The bed was a little "saggy" for my taste, but I didn't lose any sleep over it. As warned by other guest reviews, we didn't touch the minibar due to it being "tripped". A full length mirror in the bathroom and room would be helpful both functionally and aesthetically. Graciously, the hotel sent us a bottle of Champagne to celebrate and allowed us a bit of an early and late check out as a courtesy. All in all, they were very good to us.

The only reason the review lost a star was due to housekeeping. I was a bit disturbed to find that on our first day of check-in, they left one used lotion bottle from the previous guest(s). That kept running through my mind because that was something that I could see, but what else was missed that I couldn’t see? Were the sheets/pillows washed etc.? That is a no-no in my book! Also, the next day while we were out, housekeeping came in to clean as normal and the same hair that was on the countertop and sink was also there when we returned. I was not happy about that either. I'm sure the housekeeping staff is in need of a refresher meeting.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and would recommend it if others wanted to stay in a discrete location geared towards adults near the buzz of the city. The location was awesome...only a block from all the action. Close to the 42nd street subway entrance that you will quickly become familiar with if you decide to ride the subway. Patrick gave us a quick Subway 101 crash-course, and we were subway pros by day 4. Patrick also recommended a place called Junior’s down the street for breakfast and it was excellent. He was very nice, although I'm sure us "pesky" tourists ask him the same questions over and over, he obliged us like we were old annoying friends of his :-).

Room Tip: Away from the elevators if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seashellstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Seashellstew, thank you for such a detailed review. The housekeeping issues were already addressed with our Housekeeping staff, but I assure you that rooms get cleaned and all sheets and towels get changed. I am glad you like our convenient location and our staff. All your suggestions and comments are important to us and we take them into consideration. We hope you can stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

-for couples only!
-take stairs and check out cute photos on every floor
-great restaurant (dinner only! on weekends)
-have to ask for coffee maker; not in the room by default
-umbrella/hair dryer to use, so do not drag yours
-if you are a Wyndham member (free to join)-you get free wifi
-NO breakfast, so plan to order from nearby cafes or bring your own
-bring chocolates to treat your special one
-free HBO (and other channels) on demand
-very helpful staff, just ask

Room Tip: i think all rooms are tiny, and yes it does get noisy in NY at night (pun intended ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatushaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear KatushaNY, thank you for staying with us at NIGHT and also for posting a review about your stay. We are delighted to know your stay was very good and hope to welcome you back in the future. Please email me directly for any future bookings.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I truly do not have a bad word to say about this hotel. We were warmly greeted from the moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left.

The hotel itself looks exactly like the pictures on the website, the rooms are not very big but that was fine, everything from room to the foyer was beautiful and well decorated and the location is right at Time Square.. What more could you need?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review and excellent rating, KnDtravellers! We appreciate your comments and are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Please, remember to contact us directly to offer you the best rate possible.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Night Hotel on 45th was surprisingly amazing! I stayed there for 5 nights. The place felt cozy and very close to Times Square. A gentleman named Rocky was extremely accommodating. He even comped me a drink at del Friscos. :-) the entire staff was helpful and the rate was reasonable. I had a pleasant experience. I'd stay here again next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfranco329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maringly M, Front Office Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Mfranco329, thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are glad it was great and we hope to welcome you back in the future. The Night hotel staff appreciate your comments, especially Robert.

Kind Regards,

Maringly Morrobel
Front Office Manager
mmorrobel@nighthotelny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#332 of 467 in New York City
4,422 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#268 of 467 in New York City
4,037 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#184 of 467 in New York City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#281 of 467 in New York City
5,226 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 467 in New York City
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Theater District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Theater District

Property: Night Theater District
Address: 132 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Theater District 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Accommodations in the Heart of Times Square. Find inspiration in the pulse and passion of New York City after dark at Night Theater District - a boutique hotel in Times Square and a study in modern aesthetics. Here, you will disappear into a realm of playful contrasts, from the black-and-white checkerboard floor in the lobby to the invitingly guest rooms and suites. Enjoy the excitement of Times Square. See a show just steps away in the Theater District. Allow Night to summon the aura of a stylish private residence in the heart of NYC. Voted Sexiest hotel in America by TripAdvisor Editors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Night Theater District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Night Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing