We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Night Theater District
Ranked #246 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the action”
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We have just returned from our stay in NYC and had a fantastic time.
The night hotel was a great find at a reasonable price. The staff were helpful and gave us details on the city, where to go and what to do.
My husband and I like Jazz music and they booked us a table at Jazz bar and eaterie. They also booked us a helicopter ride over the city.

The bar was only open in the evening but this didn't matter as we only used it for pre-dinner drinks. The hotel was right on the edge of Times Square so we didn't need to rely on cabs too much.
The only downside to the hotel is the size of the rooms- they are very small. I am told that this is the case in most city centre hotels.
The bed was sooo comfy though.

In contrast our friends stayed the Excellsior near central park and I found the staff up there very rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingy-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chotel321, General Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 20 December 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel.

I am thrilled that our level of service exceeded your expectations and you were able to enjoy the city as much as possible due to our staff's helpfulness.

I do apologize if the hours of our lounge were not accommodating to you however our bartenders only arrive in the evening. Also, I am glad that you were able to sleep comfortably in our beds, although our rooms are not that large, this may be quite common for a New York City hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next time in the city at Mwahnish@nighthotelny.com so I may personally oversee the details of your stay.

Kind regards,

Michelle Wahnish
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    805
    288
    135
    71
See reviews for
183
1,189
194
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I booked the hotel knowing the dark decor but thought it would be fun for my 30th birthday weekend in NYC. The hotel lived up to my expectations. It was clean, comfortable and beautiful. Yes, it is dark but the website clearly shows that. Yes, the rooms are small but ALL rooms in NYC are smaller than in other parts of the city.The room was well thought out though and the bed was oh so comfy. The location was amazing and the service was fantastic. The bartender-sorry I forget her name-was so helpful. She helped us find a tattoo shop, restaurant suggestions, discussed how to use the subway and more importantly, recommended a fantastic restaurant to my boyfriend for my birthday dinner and helped us get elusive reservations. She was one of the best parts of the trip and with her great suggestions, made my 30th birthday a trip of a lifetime. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazypegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chotel321, General Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 28 December 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for having written such a kind review on our property.

I am very happy to hear that your birthday weekend met your expectations due to our staff and cleanliness. Also, I sincerely appreciate your kind comments regarding our bartender and how helpful she was. Your kind words have been transmitted to our entire team as a great source of motivation for us all.

Please contact me at Mwahnish@nighthotelny.com when making your future plans to NYC, I will be more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,

Michelle Wahnish
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Arrived last Saturday for a week. Hotel is well located close to time square. Hotel is sexy even if rooms are small. Our room has no view but is very quiet (we are on 3rd floor). At least we can sleep well without being disturbed by the city noises.
It is clean ans staff is friendly and helpful. When we arrived on Saturday our room wasn't ready on time so we got offered a compensation gift.
Breakfast is good but damn I still don't get why we news to pay for Internet in a such expensive hotel.
I would recommend it, btw returning clients get a 15% off when booking online... Do you want the code ??

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebaz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chotel321, General Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 28 December 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to complete a review on your stay with us.

I am very happy to hear that you were able to sleep comfortably in our guest rooms as well as appreciated our friendly staff.

Although I do apologize if you did not expect to pay for Internet at our hotel, however this is due to an outside server contract.

Please contact me for your future stay in NYC at Mwahnish@nighthotelny.com so I may assist you with your travel plans.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Michelle Wahnish
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We have stayed there four times and love it! a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room when we arrived as a welcome back gesture. Staff so friendly. Will be back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tipplass29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chotel321, General Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to comment on your stay in our hotel!

It makes me very happy to know you appreciated your complimentary amenity upon arrival and that you felt as welcome as possible. We highly value your continued loyalty to our property and strive to earn faithful guests such as yourselves.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me personally before your next return trip to our hotel at Mwahnish@nighthotelny.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Michelle Wahnish
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

great location, small room, but perfect for new york few days stay.
and breakfast too, would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gercath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chotel321, General Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 5 December 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing your review on your stay at Night Hotel NYC.

I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast buffet.

I look forward to greeting you personally in the future and hope you will email me before your next arrival to New York City at Mwahnish@nighthotelny.com.

Best regards,

Michelle Wahnish
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The black & white palate might not be for everyone but this place was great. Sometimes the more boutique like places in nyc feel cheap or tacky but this one rose to the top. We loved the location, even being in time square. The entire hotel was in a night time theme, combine that with the nightlife offering of the hotel & the city and you have a perfect combination. The lounge was the perfect spot to have our friends meet us for drinks & light snacks. The rooms were not huge, but by new york standards, very comfortable. We really enjoyed our time in nyc & the night hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sobeKP305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chotel321, General Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Valued Guests:

Thank you so much for your recent visit, your business, and your feedback.

We love your catch phrase "Day or Night", and appreciate you noting the theme of the hotel matching the ambiance and decor. I am happy that you had a comforting experience in our lounge and in our hotel.

The next time you require room accommodations in New York, please email me personally at TCarpenter@Nighthotelny.com.

Best Regards

Thomas Carl Carpenter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I love staying here and have several times. I love the decor as it appeals to my own personal taste. Despite being fearfully close to Times Sq. it is not very touristy. Most patrons I've seen/heard are European. The staff are very nice and helpful. The beds are very comfortable and rooms spacious (especially for NYC). It's quiet (also not easy to find in NYC) and the bar downstairs is nice. Love the breakfast too. Great rates can be found online. Well worth the price and easy to get places since it's central.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly_J_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chotel321, General Manager at Night Theater District, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Valued Guest:

We truly thank you for your recent visit to our property and appreciate your business. I am delighted that you had a memorable experience.

I appreciate you mentioning the level of service on the staffs behalf, and also appreciate you including your appreciate of our bedding package.

The next time you require room accommodations, please email me personally at TCarpenter@NightHotelny.com.

Best Regards,

Thomas Carl Carpenter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#332 of 467 in New York City
4,422 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#268 of 467 in New York City
4,037 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#184 of 467 in New York City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#281 of 467 in New York City
5,226 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 467 in New York City
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Theater District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Theater District

Property: Night Theater District
Address: 132 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Theater District 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Accommodations in the Heart of Times Square. Find inspiration in the pulse and passion of New York City after dark at Night Theater District - a boutique hotel in Times Square and a study in modern aesthetics. Here, you will disappear into a realm of playful contrasts, from the black-and-white checkerboard floor in the lobby to the invitingly guest rooms and suites. Enjoy the excitement of Times Square. See a show just steps away in the Theater District. Allow Night to summon the aura of a stylish private residence in the heart of NYC. Voted Sexiest hotel in America by TripAdvisor Editors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Night Theater District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Night Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing