We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“<3 ramem”
Review of Ramen Setagaya

Ramen Setagaya
Ranked #4,988 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighbourhood: East Village
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: East Village
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“<3 ramem”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Very very good ramem and gyoza! They accept credit card and not so crowded like toto ramem. Definitely recommended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank li-via12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Cosy ramen house”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Couldn't find the one on 1st Ave, so we end up with this one on St Marks. It's small snd crowded but perfect for a cold day outside. Though short on the menu, it offers standard but good ramen with efficient service and good prices. Go here if you don't want to pay exorbitant prices and wait forever in line at the more popular Ippudo close by.

Helpful?
Thank CityEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baar, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very good ramen”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

We came here and there was a long queue- must be good. We ordered the cha siu ramen - broth salty, it was very good especially on a cold day. Also had the gyorza - very good too. Would come back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“average ramen”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

the ramen is pretty good and reasonably priced, but i did not think it was as good as advertised. i tried both the spicy miso and tsukemen, and while the spicy miso was pretty good, the tsukemen is nothing like japanese tsukemen: the noodles are a bit too thick for my taste, and the soup is more like a korean kimchi based soup...rather than a traditional tantanmen type of spicy soup base (which was my impression since it was named "gekikara" or super spicy...and it wasn't that spicy to begin with). but still it was pretty good, i'd still recommend ramen totto over this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noriyasu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little expensive and nothing special.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

St. Marks is a great place to go for some late night food, or typically some cheap food.

However, I found this restaurant to be just average and to be a little pricey for what it was. I ordered the Spicy Miso Ramen which turned out to be $10.50, more than I'd like to pay for a bowl of noodles. It wasn't really spicy, so if you want a good dish with some flavor to warm you up on a cold, winter day then this is it. The food was fine, nothing great but it wasn't bad either.

The service was ok, I found the waiter to be a little rude. We were trying to split the bill on three cards but was told that we could only split the bill using two cards. He then told us we should've told him before we got the receipt that we wanted to split the bill. Nowhere in the restaurant does it say that. He had a slight attitude, but other than that, everything was just average.

There are, in my opinion, other places that would be much better and more worth your money on St. Marks.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avidrestauranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramen Setagaya also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ramen Setagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing