We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love The Lion King”
Review of The Lion King

The Lion King
Book In Advance
More Info
US$156.31*
and up
The Lion King On Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the stunning artistry, the unforgettable music and the exhilarating choreography of this musical theater phenomenon-one of the most awe-inspiring productions ever brought to life on stage. A remarkable tale of hope and adventure, THE LION KING has found its way into the hearts of millions. As The New York Times says, "There is simply nothing else like it." Now is the time to join the circle of life at THE LION KING, The Award-Winning Best Musical, playing on Broadway eight times a week at the Minskoff Theatre. The show running time is 2 hours 30 minutes. Performance times vary by season, please visit our website for current performance dates and times.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
den bosch
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“We love The Lion King”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We've seen quite a few shows in NYC, but this musical we've seen twice and we still think this is one of the best shows ever.The first time we sat balcony which was nice to get a good (bird)view on stage, but last summer we sat right at the 2nd row and that was nice too, then you have a really good sight at the costumes and faces.
We really recommend The Lion King. If you're in NYC and you would like to see a show, you should go there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,909
    1,028
    322
    70
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BsAs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Boring; not worth the money”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Contrary to what most people say, for me it's just plain boring. I didn't take the kids, but if I would have, they'd have arrived to the same conclusion since -to top it off- it's too long.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silvina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful costumes and theatrics!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was amazed at the brilliance of the costumes in the musical. I also liked the theatrics and the music. One of the female singers was excellent. The rest of the singers were just okay and the background singers saved their performance. I highly recommend singing this play.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong....We thought.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is an icon of Broadway and we were not disappointed in the production. However, we will never go to a matinee again! The rude people around us opening noisy candies while we were focused on the dialogue. If you are going, be considerate...EAT before you go!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank osborner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“blow your budget must see”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

went to see LION KING when in NY with my husband and 2 teenage boys - i was desperate to see it but others so so - went ahead and booked tickets although had already over spent - felt worried sick they would all be bored sick - but boy was i wrong - by 15 minutes into show they were well into it and thoroughly enjoyed the whole performance - this made my trip to The Big Apple complete !!!!cost £300 for the 4 of us but worth every penny - something we will all remember forever - cast brilliant - infamous story - sets etc brilliant - just go and find out for yourself you will love it !!!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion King also viewed

 

Been to The Lion King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing