We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #337 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed for 4 nights in Sept and had a fantastic time. The location is excellent walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions. Our room was spacious and kept very clean with a view of the street below perfect. The lady on reception was so helpful and Robert was a star. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Sh1965,

Thank you so much for sharing your "Perfect" experience here at The Amsterdam Court, We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time. I have shared your kind words with Robert and the rest of our Team and they were grinning from ear to ear.
You are family now and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time your travels bring you back to NYC!

Warm Regards,
Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    1,158
    672
    319
    288
See reviews for
472
1,411
314
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN USA
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This well located hotel near Times Square was a surprise. My company booked it and warned that many rooms are small and some lack windows.
I had a nice size with two windows.
Check in was fast and friendly.
Elevators are slow and small, but acceptable.
Bed was comfortable and flat screen TV had plenty of options,
Internet was included for my room, but is not always.
Temperature control was my only complaint. An old fashioned steam radiator was hard to control and there was a tiny window air con if needed.
Bathroom was updated.
I found that not having a mirror above the sink was annoying.
Hard to get balance of hot and cold for shower at first.
There was no in room safe and the front desk could not take my small laptop as they did not offer lockboxes that could accommodate even a small laptop. This was a big annoyance for me.
Staff was always excellent!!! I have to emphasize this was a nice surprise for New York.
Heat controls, shower and lack of safe cause me to lower my rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Pine129,

Thank you for your honest and forthright posting. We value any and all critique as we continue to grow to become the #1 hotel choice in NYC. I am pleased to hear that our front Office staff was welcoming and genuine and realize how important first impressions are! I do apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your past stay but assure that with our upcoming renovations you will be more than pleased with the changes. Please feel free to contact me directly at 212-459-1000 or via email pgallo@amsterdamhospitality.com if you would like to discuss further any particulars regarding your stay.

Warm regards,
Peter M. Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place is rated a 3 1/2 but is barely a 2. It's one thing to be an old building but another to look its age. The location is great but that's it. The smallest room I've ever been in. Housekeeping was terrible. Had to ask for towel replacement twice because they took the used ones without leaving fresh towels. When we asked the maid she failed to get them. We finally realized it was because she didn't understand English. The shower was modern without walls but the shower head was mounted so that the entire floor got wet during use. No shelf to place your toilet kit so the toilet lid was the only option. Yuck! Ice machine on our floor was broken the entire time so up 4 floors to get ice. The mattress was so soft I had a constant back ache and given that walking is the mode of transport there it was agonizing at times. Lights out in bathroom and you can't control the room temperature so we cooked at night even with the window wide open. In fairness the front desk staff were great but it was apparent they had no control over the way the place operates. The restaurant was very good. This could be a good place to stay if the owners put a serious renovation together but it isn't so choose another hotel even if its more money.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Kevin P,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. We are very sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize. We are working hard to make positive changes to the hotel and am sorry that your stay was less than exceptional. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly to discuss the matter further at 212 459 1000 or via Email at pgallo@amsterdamhospitality.com at your convenience.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Fantastic pictures on the web site beautiful Boutique hotel ? No I don't think so .
We were greeted in an average manor, Reception area and bar were not too bad , but the rooms are terrible , nothing like the picture on the web site!! Bath was not clean and a damp smell The room was so was so tiny I struggled to open my case ,there was a waste pipe running inside the building that made a noise all night .We were meant to stay 3 nights but one was enough
Don't sure why its called a boutique hotel more like a hostel !!!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvon-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear yvon-8,

On behalf the Amsterdam Court please accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us. We here at the Court pride ourselves on our welcoming smiles and are known for treating all our guests with cordiality and generosity. So I am so saddened when you say you did not get to experience that first hand. The hotel rooms may seem small but are on par with most NYC hotels however I can imagine this only added to your frustration.
All in all I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations and only hope you may allow me personally to one day welcome you to the Court again. If so, I will show you the Hospitably we are known for and offer you an upgrade to one of our more spacious rooms so you can truly enjoy NYC in the ways it is intended!

Warm regards,
Peter Gallo
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Ok, yes, the carpets could be retacked and cleaned, as noted by others. But the front desk folks are helpful and courteous, the rooms are cleaned daily, the two modernist armoires hold two people's week's luggage, Times Square is out the door YET IT'S QUIET AND SAFE, the shower is awesome and there's coffee, tea, lemon water 24/7 and a breakfast if you wish. I'd suggest free Wi-Fi and one more bathroom shelf and a light over the sink, but really, the important things are well provided especially kind helpful front staff, location, and artistically useful rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for exterior window if you want sidewalk visuals and noise; interior if you don't mind a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The best location for the first visit and some sightseeing! The personnel was very friendly, the location is amazing, but the rest doesn't worth even a quarter of the price. It's a very small hotel with tiny rooms and bathrooms, you cannot even walk in the room unless you put your luggage in the little wardrobe, if only it fits inside, and to close the bathroom door you need to lean on the bath or a toilet. The building itself and the interior look very old, the ancient TV without a remote and the inefficient medieval AC with a lot of noise made the experience even worse.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_CJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Visited with my teenage daughter and we wanted to feel safe walking home at night . The hotel was near to Times Square and we had no problems getting around,perfect location. Yet not too noisy .The staff were great the hotel was comfortable and clean. Small and friendly with lots of diners nearby for breakfast. We arrived and walked straight to the Rockefeller Centre to get to the top for dusk ,this was just along the street. Perfect. Travelled in February 2011 and it snowed ,the hotel was nice and warm.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#361 of 466 in New York City
896 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#356 of 466 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 466 in New York City
7,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,192 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,072 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 466 in New York City
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Times Square in Our Boutique Accommodations. The Amsterdam Court Hotel in Times Square provides you with attentive guest services in its convenient Broadway Theater District location. Spend your next stay in the city at our boutique NYC hotel to experience all that the Amsterdam Court has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing