We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
“Nice hotel in Manhattan”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nice hotel located in Manhattan at reasonable price. Rooms are comfortable and calm. It location, near to 49 St station is a good option to trip to other sites in NY. Reception desk personnel are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank German O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear German O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. As the Hotel Manager, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    1,158
    672
    319
    288
See reviews for
472
1,411
314
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elko
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Amsterdam Court is the kind of boutique hotel travelers hope for when they peruse web sites and look through travel brochures. I am as content as I can be with the hotel and the service, and I consider my three-day stay as one of my best visits to the Big Apple since my first in 1970. I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Richard H,

Your kind words and glowing feedback are humbly received. We thank you for joining us and hope we continue to wow you with each and every visit! Hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

the most thing wich i prefer this hotel than onother hotel in new work is hospitality.people whose work in amsterdam court hotel are very frendly especialy ABDELLAH the host ho was very kind and very helpful about every thing we needed me and my wife when i was a gest in this very beautiful hotel.
thank you ABDELLAH and thank you amsterdam court hotel to transform our honey moon for me and my wife on a very beautiful dream that i will never forger it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTHMANE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Othmane O,

Wow! We are so pleased to hear that your stay with us was most enjoyable, and that we were able to be a part of your Honeymoon memories. Trips like this are once in a lifetime and knowing that you both have these cherished remembrances truly brings a smile to us all. I will share your kind words with Abdullah as well. Thank you again for joining us.

Congratulations,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel during a business trip. Friendly doormen and great staff. Especially blond Carina deserves a special thank you for arranging room swaps and kindness allround.
Rooms are small(ish) but OK. My bathroom was rather outdated but everything worked.
As mentioned in the titel. The location of this hotel is excellent, so for that alone worth considering.
good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Lefere,

Thank for your kind words and pleasant feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will most definitely share your praise with Karina as well. We hope you had a rousing time in New York and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My title for this review is what we kept saying to ourselves during our stay, as we had to recognize that room size and amenities during our half-price stay would have been unacceptable for a luxury hotel at full price in any other US city. However, to be right in the NYC theater district, at the price we paid, made this, overall, an enjoyable stay.

We found out, pretty much by accident, that the period between New Year's Day and the MLK holiday is a GREAT time to find bargains in New York City. When we did an initial search for hotel prices at this time, we were surprised to find almost every place was offering rooms at about half to one-third the rack rate. And no gimmicks -- just amazingly low rates.

We thus made our choice based purely on location -- theater district but less than a block from a subway stop. We knew right from the start that their self-description as a "boutique" hotel means "small, cramped rooms," but we figured (and we were correct) that room size is not that critical when staying in NYC.

Thus, we were not terribly disappointed when Room 223 was small even by the standards of "boutique" lodging. There was less than a foot between each bed edge and the wall. The space between the bottom of the bed and the desk area was about three feet, so there wasn't a lot of area to spread out our luggage. There was no window that one could really look out of, let alone a view. The work area had room for a laptop, but not much else. Other than this desk, there was no table or chest of drawers to place anything -- if you want to keep your watch close to you when you go to sleep, you have to put it on the floor. Seating was limited to one chair, so in-room eating had to be done with one of us sitting on the bed. What really bothered us was that we had been promised a queen bed, but found the bed to be smaller than that -- we don't know if their was a mix-up or if our definition of "queen" is just different from theirs.

Except for the air conditioner unit and the electric heater on the floor, there was no way to control the temperature in the room. It was quite cold when we entered, but the heater did warm things up rapidly enough. The hotel did notify us that the AC should NOT be used without first contacting the office, because the window with the AC was blocked off. Despite this statement, a lot of cold air was coming through that window, enough for us to keep our sodas cool overnight. By the second day, the room was quite warm, but there was no way to lower the temperature -- the heater was turned off and unplugged, but the room was still too warm. If you like a "Goldilocks" temperature, be prepared to speak with the office.

Room 223 also had a full bath, phone, hair dryer, non-functional radio alarm (we don't use these, so we didn't complain), and TV with 33 channels. Their web site states all rooms have an iron and board, but we did not see either. The hotel has a lounge with free coffee, but parking (at reduced but still NYC rates) and exercise rooms are off-site. Wi-fi and a continental breakfast buffet are available for $10. Although their web site states they have smoking and non-smoking rooms, the entire facility is now non-smoking. Staff was friendly, efficient, and professional.

With all the negatives I note above, one might be surprised to see how highly I rate this place. That's because the location we got, at the price we paid, was an unbelievable value for NYC. The room was clean, quiet, and well-maintained -- although the walls are thin enough to clearly hear someone sneezing next door. Subway stops, theaters, stores, and innumerable places to eat are literally around the corner. Herald Square and Rockefeller Center are a five-minute walk, and Times Square is ten minutes.

If you can get the bargain price I got, and location is more important than amenities, then this is a place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear RabePaul,

Thank you for your honest and forthright feedback regarding your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. We are happy to hear that we met all your price, convenience and location needs and always try and exceed beyond that as well. While me may be a small "boutique" type hotel we are BIG in hospitality and guest service and do hope you felt that as well during your stay. Thank you again for joining us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Amsterdam Court is in a great location (W. 50th St) and has friendly doormen and staff. We will stay again despite minor annoyances: sparse room replenishment (towels, toilet paper, toiletries), poor printing services and overpriced breakfast. Also, make sure to look over your room when you first check in - We had no problem getting a new room, but in the first room we were given, there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling and huge chunks of the ceiling in the bathtub. It obviously hadn't been looked over for a while. We stayed for 8 days and, for us, without a doubt the location made up for the minor deficiencies.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Christine D,

Thank you for your recent review of The Amsterdam Court Hotel. We are so sorry for the room change inconveniences that you experienced. Please be assured that the room you first checked into had just sustained the issue in question less then an hour before your check-in. However we do apologize that you had to be troubled in any way and are just happy we were able to reconcile it within the first half hour of you arrival. I have passed your feedback to all the necessary department heads regarding your concerns and will take this under advisement. I do hope the rest of your trip was most memorable in more pleasant way and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is fantastically located close to Times Square and very clean. The downside is the heating system is very very noisy and prevents sleep with it hissing and cracking all night! Bring earplugs!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank George15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear George 15,

We are terribly sorry you may have lost sleep due to the sounds coming from the steam heat. With the weather being well below zero this past week we had to have our boilers running at full steam and this in turn may of caused the hissing noises you experienced. We again apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered but do hope to welcome you back and make things better the next time.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
896 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#356 of 467 in New York City
1,256 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#385 of 467 in New York City
4,175 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,061 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#333 of 467 in New York City
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Times Square in Our Boutique Accommodations. The Amsterdam Court Hotel in Times Square provides you with attentive guest services in its convenient Broadway Theater District location. Spend your next stay in the city at our boutique NYC hotel to experience all that the Amsterdam Court has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing