We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“New York”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location for visiting New York at reasonable price.
Very central which saved us a lot of time when visiting all the attractions and places of interest.
Room compact which is normal for USA city.
Robert & all staff very helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear George O,

Thank you so much for your favorable feedback. We appreciate your kind words and are happy that you truly enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    1,146
    656
    309
    288
See reviews for
462
1,384
309
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As part of a 'package' this hotel gave us good value especially as we did not spend an awful lot of time there. The staff were welcoming and very helpful especially Peter the manager and his assistant as well as Karina on reception. The initial room allocated to us was very small and claustrophobic but we were swiftly moved to a larger room on request. This was clean with a comfortable bed although the furniture was a little tired. Fortunately we did not need to use the air con as it was not working. Towels were changed daily and the shower was great with plenty of hot water. The best thing was the hotel's great location- a stone's throw from Times Square and a few yards from a fabulous Irish Pub which serves great food as well as Applebees which sustained us daily with great breakfasts. A fantastic holiday for my self and my wife as well as our two friends .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear John B,

Thank you so much for your most recent review of our New York establisment. We at the Amsterdam Court are always pleased to hear when our guests had an enjoyable stay and especially when they found our services most accommodating as well. It was also comforting to know that our location was so beneficial to your traveling needs and as an added bonus you got to taste and savor the local fare. We are truly humbled by your kind words and hope to have the privilege to welcome you back again real soon!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

the location is great ! time square , metro, broadway , hells kitchen , bank , 24 hours shop , everything is around in a snap.
They tried to charge me 50 dollar in case anything goes wrong ?


I had two rooms.. 125 and 517 .
the first one was small but good enough for me. I was out most of the day anyway.
the second one was a bit more spacious. all arranged by the blonde girl.
she knows what a customer needs and answered all my questions.

unlucky some of her colleagues don't they tried to charge me 50 dollars after 5 days by coming up to my room. knocked the door and even tried to open it ' To see if I was in'.

They didn't mention anything about deposit. Not on check in, not on any paper i signed. So I used my no credit on it debit card why they even couldn't taky any deposit from it.

I'm fine with any deposit if people mention they take money from me. but they didn't and they should not do that !




  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Igor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Igor W,

Our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your time here at The Amsterdam Court. Like most other hotels throughout the world we do have a incidental deposit policy in place that is required upon check in and it is standard procedure by all front desk agents to convey this. I am sorry if this was not and that it caused you such dismay. I am however pleased that Karina was able to show you the hospitality we are known for and was able to fulfill all your needs. On behalf of all the staff here at The Court we are grateful for your patronage and hope to get the chance again to prove that to you.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Four of us have just returned from 4 fabulous nights in NYC. The Amsterdam Court was chosen with value in mind because we didn't expect to be spending a lot of time in the hotel. This was the case and whilst the bar and restaurant downstairs are really well decorated some of the cheaper rooms do need updating. Having said that they were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a superb position - Times Square 10 mins walking and if you don't wish to eat in the hotel there is plenty of choice close by. Staff were excellent with Peter the Manager very approachable and keen to ensure your stay is memorable as was Karina who always had a welcoming smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Les B,

Thank you so much for your gracious feedback and heartfelt review. It was lovely to hear you had a wonderful vacation and a comfortable stay. We truly enjoyed hosting all of you and hope to have the pleasure to do so again the next time your travels lead you this way.

Cheers,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
260 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed three nights at the Amsterdam Court Hotel on West 50th St the first week of April 2014 for pleasure. The end room was somewhat spacious compared to similar hotels in NYC. The staff, particularly Eddy and Ben were very pleasant and helpful with our needs. The location is spectacular...close to Times Square and easy access to trains. The price was very fair in comparison to other NYC hotels. We hope to stay once again on our next visit.

David B and Melissa H

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidB19922014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear DavidB19922014,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. As the Hotel Manager, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms most comfortable and spacious. Our staff was thrilled to work for you and are humbled by your kind words. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The amsterdam court is placed in a fantastic location. Sure the rooms are subject to noise but this is NYC! As we were there for a special occasion we emailed beforehand and the manager Peter very kindly upgraded us to a deluxe king room on the 6th floor. Staff were very helpful and couldn't do any more for us! My only issue was that there are no safety deposit boxes in the room and there were non available in reception on arrival and for the length of our stay. Overall great value for money and I would recommend staying here !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkbyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Kirkbyred,

Isn't a pleasure when a plan comes together! We corresponded from early on and I was so pleased to hear that everything worked out so perfectly for you. Our staff was truly humbled by your kind words and fully enjoyed the daily repartee from both you and your spouse. I do apologize that we were not able to accomodate your request for a safe deposit box but assure you that is something we are working on diligently to correct. We thank you wholeheartedly for joining us and look forward to when we can welcome you back again!

Warm regards from your friends at The Amsterdam Court

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Amsterdam Court is old, but clean and VERY convenient, as well as reasonably priced. The most notable thing about our stay at Amsterdam Court was the awesome service. Especially Natalie, Jose', and Marleny, and their manager, Peter. They were constantly helpful and friendly. Loved those folks!!! In addition, we were right in the middle of the Theatre District, two blocks from Times Square and very close to The Rock, and all the really exciting parts of Manhattan. Subway entrances are only a few steps in almost any direction- Very Convenient. Rooms are small, but adequate, very clean and absolutely wonderful service. The bathroom has been redone recently and was very nice. One drawback was there was no 'countertop' or shelf space. They could easily add a shelf over the clothes rod in the small closet to add storage, and some shelving in the bathroom and/or bedroom - the high ceilings would easily allow for that to improve the lodging experience. Complimentary coffee, tea, etc. in the lower level - 24/7. Not great coffee, but free. No snacks, but there are a lot of fast food and fine dining places in the area. If you like Mexican, we recommend The Green Rancho Restaurant just a couple of blocks away - for great soups, go to The Food Emporium. This was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: This is a very noisy part of Manhattan - lots of nite life and crowds coming and going from the thea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Robert C,

It was really a pleasure to have you stay with us here at The Amsterdam Court. Your kind words truly validate what it is we strive for here at the Court and we are so honored and pleased to have been able to afford you that. We are also so glad that you got to really enjoy all that New York City has to offer and that our convenient location made that easier as well. It is our hope that we will be able to welcome you back it the not so distant future and that we can get the chance to show you our gratitude once again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#360 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,877 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,210 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#378 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing