We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

As far as NYC hotels go, it's ok for the price. Close to the subway, good and bad food in the area, super great coffee (Blue Bottle) and breakfast (Le Pain Quotidien) within 7 mins walk, close to art museums. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's like most things, you get what you pay for. Some rooms are small and cost less, bigger rooms cost more. My room was noisy, not from the street - I was offered and accepted a quiet room when I booked - but the internal heating system hissed every few minutes. The strongest water pressure in a shower ever! It's not super clean. I don't mean the bathroom and the linens, they were fine. But I could not see out the windows...at all. The carpet was very scary, I wouldn't take my shoes off. But these are things you can expect in NYC and I've stayed in worse. I probably won't go back but I'm not complaining - just observing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank moira k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear moira k,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Amsterdam Court the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of any further assistance now or in the future.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    1,127
    647
    302
    286
See reviews for
455
1,359
303
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Did not expect much from a hotel that is 100 years old but it has been nicely renovated and will have a rooftop patio some day. Our room was small but had a full size tub and shower. The bed and pillows were very comfortable with good quality bedding. The hotel has a restaurant and bar with a decent European Breakfast for $11. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the Manager Peter went out of his way to fix a small problem we had.

Can't say enough about the location. It is right around the corner to Time Square and a few short blocks to Central Park. You won't find a better value for you buck.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front street are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Tim T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. As the Hotel Manager, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were all able to be a part of making it a success. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Someren, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Especially it's location in the middle of New York is great. The room we got after the first night was okay and was cleaned satisfactorily. Also the staff was very friendly, enthousiastic and helpful. We would like to thank them all for that.
A special thanks to the man who helped us get home after problems with the shuttle: we do not know his name, but he helpede us with the suitcases and got us a cab to get to the airport on time. Also the general manager deserves our compliments! Thanks for everything and who knows goodbye!

Wiljan van Vlerken

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank w_vanvlerken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear w_vanvlerken,

Thank you for your most recent and honest feedback. We appreciate your kind words and want to say what a pleasure it was to serve you both. Thank you again and please come back and visit us real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Accommodation in NYC is expensive, so this seemed like a bargain for a nice hotel and the location, and I think it was! It's right off Times Square, so we did everything in NYC on foot, plus the hotel has a great restaurant (Natsumi) at the bottom plus really nice staff and a lovely reception area.

Only complaint would be that 2 of us were in a standard room and hardly any room for suitcases, and a bit claustrophobic, but didn't really bother me because it was clean and handy! Also, we were only there to sleep, so didn't really matter. Also, no natural light in the room, but again, clean and the staff were great.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luci144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear luci144,

Thank you so much for your most recent review of The Amsterdam Court Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and awesome recognition of the Hotels restauarant and amenities. Also we are pleased that you found the staff helpfully accommodating and the rooms comforting as well. We hope to welcome you back and look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked this hotel 6 months ago and was looking forward to a nice 3 night stay in New York. On arrival we were told that they only had 1 room, which was tiny, but that we would be moved the next day. Tiny wasn't the word! It only had a 3/4 bed which was pushed up against a radiator which wouldn't turn off. There wasn't even enough room for the suitcases, we had to put 1 in the toilet. We got moved to a slightly bigger one the next day, but it was still only a 3/4 bed to share and you couldn't unpack because there wasn't any room to put anything anywhere. Breakfast is $10.95 for coffee, orange juice, toast and cornflakes.
Absolutely diabolical.
Avoid!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GillMasefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Wify37,

We are terribly sorry that you did not have the positive experience most guests have when here at The Amsterdam Court. We apologize for any discomfort you may have had with the room size, as we always try to meet the room type reserved and believe we did here as well. The breakfast does offer much more than you described, including fresh fruit & yogurt, hard boiled eggs and egg sandwiches, pastries, bagels, croissants and hot oatmeal as well. I do apologize if you did not see that. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss this further and please again except our sincerest apology for a less than stellar stay.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Tulsa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms are very small but since I was out most of the day and evening it worked out fine. All the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming everytime your enter the lobby. Great location!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Deborah H,

It was so wonferful to have you join us here at The Amsterdam Court. Though a short visit, we are grateful for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you the next time you head our way, either for business or pleasure.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The room was tiny, you could feel the springs of the mattress through the bedding, the plywood under the carpet felt like it was giving way by the bathroom door, there was no heat. Not worth the $300!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Amy E,

Our sincerest apologies for any discomforts you may have experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately the Express rooms are a bit small as is explained in the website at 100 square feet and this is in fact what you reserved and by no means "false advertising". Having been that uncomfortable with the bed we would have been happy to move you to another room where you may have found the bedding more to your liking. Still, with all this clarified it still troubles me that you did not have an anjoyable stay. If you would ever be so kind as to stay with us again please reach out to me directly so I can assure a more pleasant stay.

Warmest regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#359 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,635 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing