We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel on a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“nice hotel on a nice place”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice hotel on an nice place.
We enjoyed our trip to NYC. The hotel is in a very favorable position. The rooms are ok. A little bit old but clean and all equipment has worked. The employees are very friendly. We recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Jan Peter W,

Thank you for sharing your most recent review of your stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. We value your patronage and are delighted we were able to be part of your truly enjoyable holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to see you again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    1,146
    656
    309
    288
See reviews for
462
1,384
309
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Eddy and Natily at the front desk were outstanding. So was Kamel the bellman. The hotel was very clean and the staff was outstanding. The location was perfect for our Broadway based trip.

The hotel location was very close to an amazing array for restaurants. The neighborhood was clean and seemed very safe.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor to minimize traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Barbara R,

Thank you for your most gracious review of The Amsterdam Court Hotel. We enjoy serving our guests and we are so humbled that you recognized this. I have passed your kind words on to Eddy, Natalie and Kamel and they were so happy to hear to enjoyed your stay as well. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We arrived late around 1am from Las Vegas to the Amsterdam Court hotel, we we're put into a standard room, the room was very small and the double bed was more like single bed if we were hobbits, or dwarfs from The Lord of the rings, the bed would be fine, we then went to reception to complain, that this room was not acceptable, and there was no way two grown men could sleep in such a small bed, as we ordered two twin beds on arrival, we were then separated, and I was put into a single room for the night and we would be put into a king large king size bed the next night, as there were no single beds available.

However the king size room we was promised was quite good so we were pleased, as it might as well be two single beds!

The breakfast in the morning cost around 10 dollars and is very, very good for the price, boils eggs, toast serials, and as much tea and coffee as you can drink, the toast, which you make yourself, "to your liking" so lots of carbs to fuel you for the morning for your busy day in a fast paced New York City!!!

The Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart beat of New York, just around the corner from Times Square

Ok, the million dollar question,
"would I stay here again?
The answer is yes! The staff were great and friendly, but it's location is perfect for your New York holiday don't expect lavish rooms. If you want a clean room, and
your a in and out person, this for you.
On my next trip to New York , I will stay possibly somewhere else, the only reason, is I like to see what other hotels have to offer, and the experience of the hotel itself, but I can see myself returning to the Amsterdam court hotel

From Dave Regan
Liverpool UK

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princekato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Princekato,

Thank you for the feedback of your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court. Like in life we sometimes come across little bumps in the road as was your initial experience when you first arrived, however with a bit of attention and our never say no attitude I am happy we were able to turn things around. We apprecaite that recognition and are so pleased that you truly were able to enjoy the rest of your stay. It was our honor to service you and look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from NYC where we stayed For3 nights. Rooms were small but you go to NYC to go out and not stay in a hotel room so we had no complaints with it. The outside noise did wake us a couple of times but we got back you sleep OK. We never had the breakfast as we preferred to go out and find a diner for the authentic experience.

The location was the best part as only a five minute walk from times square and with subways at both ends of the street made getting about easy.

Staff were all very helpful and chasing up the shuttle which was running late for us which was appreciated.

Overall we had a great time and would go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Colin R,

So pleased to hear your compliments and to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you found our location so convenient. Thank you for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to New York.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

As far as NYC hotels go, it's ok for the price. Close to the subway, good and bad food in the area, super great coffee (Blue Bottle) and breakfast (Le Pain Quotidien) within 7 mins walk, close to art museums. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's like most things, you get what you pay for. Some rooms are small and cost less, bigger rooms cost more. My room was noisy, not from the street - I was offered and accepted a quiet room when I booked - but the internal heating system hissed every few minutes. The strongest water pressure in a shower ever! It's not super clean. I don't mean the bathroom and the linens, they were fine. But I could not see out the windows...at all. The carpet was very scary, I wouldn't take my shoes off. But these are things you can expect in NYC and I've stayed in worse. I probably won't go back but I'm not complaining - just observing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank moira k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear moira k,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Amsterdam Court the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of any further assistance now or in the future.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Did not expect much from a hotel that is 100 years old but it has been nicely renovated and will have a rooftop patio some day. Our room was small but had a full size tub and shower. The bed and pillows were very comfortable with good quality bedding. The hotel has a restaurant and bar with a decent European Breakfast for $11. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the Manager Peter went out of his way to fix a small problem we had.

Can't say enough about the location. It is right around the corner to Time Square and a few short blocks to Central Park. You won't find a better value for you buck.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front street are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Tim T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at The Amsterdam Court Hotel. As the Hotel Manager, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were all able to be a part of making it a success. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Someren, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Especially it's location in the middle of New York is great. The room we got after the first night was okay and was cleaned satisfactorily. Also the staff was very friendly, enthousiastic and helpful. We would like to thank them all for that.
A special thanks to the man who helped us get home after problems with the shuttle: we do not know his name, but he helpede us with the suitcases and got us a cab to get to the airport on time. Also the general manager deserves our compliments! Thanks for everything and who knows goodbye!

Wiljan van Vlerken

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank w_vanvlerken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear w_vanvlerken,

Thank you for your most recent and honest feedback. We appreciate your kind words and want to say what a pleasure it was to serve you both. Thank you again and please come back and visit us real soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#360 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,877 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,210 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#378 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing