We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Room was average but we were happy to find a hotel that had a 2-bed room and a parking option. Staff was very nice and location was great. Easy walk to theaters and to Central Park area and relatively affordable for that area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Barbara L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Amsterdam Court the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of any further assistance now or in the future.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    1,127
    647
    302
    286
See reviews for
455
1,359
303
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have just come back to the UK from NYC having stayed there all last week.

The location is fantastic, a 2 min walk to Times Square, one minute to the Subway downtown and a short hop in to Hells Kitchen. The staff are fantastically friendly and always willing to help, chat or give advise. They seemed very flexible with arrival times, us having arrived much later than planned due to a screw up at the airport. There is coffee on tap, down stairs which was a nice touch. The Hotel is around the corner 50th and 8th from one of the tour bus stops so if you are an NYC newbie you are ideally placed to go on a bus trip too.

I got the feeling sitting in the lobby and listening to other guests' conversations that nothing was too much for the hard working staff.

The beds were comfortable and the AC kept the rooms a sensible temperature for poor brits who aren't used to the heat. The rooms are compact and there is plenty of hot water in the bathrooms. Each room has an iron and ironing board to keep you smart during your trip.

The position and rooms are fine, if a little dowdy. While we were there the wifi was hopeless, we gave up trying to use it in our rooms, on the first floor, early on. This isn't really a problem for a holiday trip as we could confirm our return tickets, update facebook and check emails by wandering round to Macy D's, Time Square or Starbucks all of which are around the corner and have free wifi.

We didn't eat there, but had breakfast in a diner on 8th. Seemed more like living the American dream.

All in all i would stay there again. The location and staff put you in a prime position to enjoy the Times Square, Mid Town and Hells Kitchen areas. There are at least 2 Citi Bike stations within a 5 minute walk and once you are on your bike the city is your oyster.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdgmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear rdgmck,

Thank you so much for such a detailed and stellar review. We are truly humbled by your kind words and are so pleased to hear that you found everything to your liking. It is so true when they say location is key and we definately can attest to that! Thank you for singling out out Front Office Team for their attention to guests needs and concerns, it is something they most pride themselves on.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again real soon and show you the continued hospitality The Amsterdam Court is known for.

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just got home from a lovely week in NYC and loved the trip, stayed for 4 nights and the room was on the 6th floor. The hotel staff was super friendly and fun, I especially loved to see the front desk people working so well together you can tell that they all love each other and love working with one another. Their response to problems was very quick, one night the bathroom lightbulb died and within 5 minutes of telling the front desk the bulb was changed...and this was well after 10:00. The room was nice and it was cleaned daily. The only complaint that I might have is that it would have been nice if the windows opened, especially in the bathroom, it got very stuffy after showering. Hotel is within walking distance to Time Square, the subway, and multiple broadway theaters. If you are a walker, it is also a pretty easy walk to Central Park and the many things you can see around it.

I will be visiting NYC again (someday!), and when I do, this is one place I would love to return to.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Gina V,

We are so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and truly appreciate your positive feedback. Hospitality is our number one goal and knowing that our staff was able to achieve that makes what we do so worth while. Thank you again so much as we look forward to that 'someday' when you come back and visit us...

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location - very close to Times Square - is the best thing about this hotel. Rooms are a little shabby. Not much space, but OK.

Didn't like having to argue with the manager/front desk about a fridge in the room. Online site had listed fridge 'on request', but they wanted to charge us extra. We did end up getting the fridge at no additional cost. Overall not good value at all. We did not get cheap rates, despite staying 6 nights. No wifi, no coffee making facilities. Pretty basic really. Rooms got very stuffy - windows did not open, so had to have the aircon on overnight. Little natural light. Noisy in the mornings.Very slow lifts...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear MelbourneLaura,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. We would like to however clarify that complimentary coffee, tea and lemon water are available 24/7 in our lower lobby level. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Amsterdam Court the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of any further assistance now or in the future.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Knoxville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We like this location--close to Broadway & most theaters, as well as a
variety of eateries. The little bar is nice for a busy day night cap, and
decor is relaxing, but also fun. The lady bartender was especially good
in her attentativeness (on-the-ball), and efficient.
We look forward to another visit to the Amsterdam!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Daer Joann H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Amsterdam Court with other like-minded travelers such as yourself. I am glad that you received great service from all members of our staff and found our location to be spot on as well. We are truly humbled by your kind words and look forward to your next visit with us!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at Amsterdam for 4 nights and could not believe how close it was to Times Square. Although the rooms were small (normal for NYC), I was actually surprised at how large the bathrooms were! Everything was so clean and the hotel staff cleaned up and made our bed everyday. One day my mom went out and I wanted to sleep in, so she left the privacy please sign on the door. When we both finally left for the city together are 1:30 we put the service please sign on the door. We came back to the room around 6 to recharge before dinner and our room was made up! Another day we ran out of towels so my mom went downstairs to ask for more and before she got back up to the room, someone had brought towels to me. The staff was so nice and always willing to help us navigate. Our flight out wasn't until 8pm so we were able to keep our luggage at the hotel until we left for the airport. Jose and Robert were awesome with our luggage and checking out. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Katelyn C,

Thank you for such a glowing review. We truly appreciate your kind words and also acknowledging both Jose and Robert for their efforts. However whats more important to us is that you had a most memorable stay and that we were able to accomodate all your needs. It was truly our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to when "Awesome Amsterdam" can do so again. Hurry back!

Warm regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here for 6 Nights at the beginning of January, the location is peffect if your travelling in the winter. As you walk out the hotel entrance' turn right literally a 20 second walk and your at times square! The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk to central park which I think is the best thing about new York!!

There is also a lounge/bar attached to the hotel which is really nice, I would have a drink while my partner would get ready Natsumi I think its called.

The only bad points I have is the heating, it was a dated heater which made a lot of racket it was like a ketting boiling and the room would go very humid, we rang reception and they sent there handy man up to take a look all he done was turn it off? but again that did not bother us. I would defiantly stay at Amsterdam court again. I am returning to nyc in January but this time we will be staying at the Edison hotel I did try booking Amsterdam court but I got a better deal with the Edison.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TyrionLanister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallo811, Manager at Amsterdam Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear TyrionLanister,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive Team to address within their respective departments. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Amsterdam Court the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please be assured that we will always match any rates that you find on line, do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at gm@amsterdamcourtnyc.com if I may be of any further assistance now or in the future.

Warm Regards,

Peter Gallo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#359 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,635 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Court Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Court Hotel
Address: 226 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockefeller Center 4 blocks. In the heart of the Theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Amsterdam Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amsterdam Court
Amsterdam Court Hotel New York
Amsterdam Hotel New York
Amsterdam Court New York City
Amsterdam Court Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing