We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it - Love it - Love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it - Love it - Love it”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My family and I have stayed her for the past two years - we range in age form 3-years-old to grand parents and number anywhere from 6 - 8 people....no problem; not even with just one bathroom. My husband and I are native New Yorkers and we love to bring the kids and grandkids up to experience the holidays in the one city that truly gets me in the Christmas Spirit. We've stayed other places but have not found any that equal this little jewel of a hotel. And the breakfast is a bargain :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for your stay and your review. We love to hear about returning New Yorkers!! We are glad your family enjoyed our hotel and service. We hope to see you agauin soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    383
    74
    18
    16
See reviews for
652
114
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

What makes our stay really enjoyable at BW Plus Hospitality is the exemplary service attitude of Mr. Robert Gaeta and its family-oriented atmosphere. USA is not short of any 5* hotels or cheaper options but one that has genuinely great customer service attitude is hard to come by as we have learnt from our many trips around the world.
Rob not only made a beautiful service recovery by inviting us to stay with them again on our way back to NYC so that he could personally see to our needs, which he did. he also reserved a room for our friend's family who was travelling with us out of goodwill. I am sure Rob could have rented the 2 bedroom suites for a higher price any time as the apt is always full to the brim.
Thomas Alvich, the chief maintenance office is also very efficient in rectifying any problems we had with the suite. The smiley Chinese lady serving breakfast is also very friendly and helfpful.
We congratulate Rob for managing a great team and would like to thank him for the opportunity to experience the great culture of the Best Western. Our holiday ends on a high note and we wish Rob and team a "Very Blessed and Merry Christmas, and a Very Happy New Year!"

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you so much for this beautiful review!! I have shared it with Tom and Cindy (from the breakfast) and Thanked them for their efforts. As a hotelier for almost 30 years now there is no greater satisfaction than having guests like you and your family!! You have given us the chance to improve and learn..
HAPPY NEW YEAR!! Health and Happiness in 2012. We hope to see you again!! Please let me know if you plan to return to NYC again. We, I, would get great pleasure in serving you again!!
Thank you again..
Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the very large apartment, big TVs 3 big kitchen, big bathroom very good breakfast as much as you want, waffel machine was fun. Wonderful staff. So near everything we walked to lots of the big attractions. We also used the subway which is near so I can recommend this hotel. If I had to find a niggle then maybe the traffic noise but it was ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for being our guests and for your positive review!! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon. Please consider me at your service if you should plan to return. Happy New Year to you and your family!!
Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

So much had been said of this apt so I thought I will just highlight two bad experiences instead:
1. Do not expect the counter staff to take or pass on your enquiries/ requests/instructions from one to another (the counter staff work in shifts and on different days) - apparently they don't.
2. Do not use the laundry services because they go by weight and you have no clue how heavy your clothes are unless you have a weighing machine. Ours cost a bomb and two Calvin Klein polos went missing. Instead of delivering the next day as promised, they took 3 days. So if you really need to use the laundry please make sure you budget for extra time and $. Otherwise take a 10 mins walk down the avenue and spend 2 hours waiting for your laundry to be done. We did not want to do the latter as we were on holiday and it was raining but only to encounter something so unreliable. We only got our clothes before check out and discovered the loss at our next destination. When we called BW to help, they said "we are not responsible". But certainly they can help to check with the laundromat for us as it was recommended by BW who have been using them all this time?

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VibrantAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear TrueSingaporean,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for your stay and apologize that the ourtside laundry service that we recommmend to our guests did not meet expectations. I am sorry they lost some of your items and were slow to deliver. We do not make any profit from using them and paying by the pound is much cheaper than your typical hotel charge which is usually billed by each garment. We will be changing the service that we use due to your feedback. Thank you for sharing that experience with us so we can improve.

I would very much like to speak with you about the missing items if you can please contact me I would be grateful.

We strive to create a world class service experience for our guests and I would very much like an opportunity to show you that we better than what you experienced. We can discuss that too when we speak.

Thank you for your kind consideration,

Warmest Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a 2 bedroom apartment number 3B.It is very spacious with a wonderful kitchen,bathroom and a fantastic hot and powerful shower.
The beds were very comfortable,however the sofa bed a bit lumpy.we stayed for 3 nights and each day the apartments were cleaned,beds, including the sofa bed were made up and we also got daily fresh towels.Breakfast was also included in the price,but to be honest the downtown diners are more authentic and tastier.
On our first night we found yhe place to be a little chilly,so asked for heating to be turned on.Apparently it is supposed to come on automatically...but it didn't.There are radiators in all the rooms but could only find one which actually could be turned on.At 4.30 am there was the most terrifying noise which lasted the remainder of the morning and the heat was unbelievable.i tried to turn it off but because the radiator was scalding hot I coudn't touch it.When we reported it someone did come to the apartment to fix it but it made no difference and the noise continued.
Apart from this it is great accommodation and so so handy.10 mins walk takes you to the Rockerfella centre! There are 2 restaurants on either side of the apartments and I can recommend them both,pricey but everything in New York is expensive.
I would stay here again...if they get their heating sorted or maybe I will pack ear plugs!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear Shannon Family,

Thank you for your patronage and for writing about your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Our heating system is a centralized steam system and which is very common in most NYC apartment buildings. I am sorry you found the radiators to make noise. We do bleed them regularly to reduce some of the steam pressure noise. The time period that you were here is a generally a challenge in NYC since if the heat is on it's too hot and if it's off it's a bit chilly as you describe. Our engineer is double checking the room you stayed in to make sure the radiators are working properly as I write this.

We would like an opportunity to have you visit us again. Please contact me if you would like to return.

Thank you for your kind consideration.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The Best Western Hospitality House is just that, great hospitality. We had the two bedroom suite and it was wonderful, clean, spacious and stylishly furnish. The location was great, close to everything we wanted to experience. The staff was friendly and always helpful with directions.
I have my daugthers and grandchilden with me and felt the hotel is safe and secure, I like especially that you needed to use your room card to access the elevator. The breakfast in the morning was also great. I would recommend this hotel for sure and will return to it on my next visit to New York City. Thank you staff for an excellent stay.
Las, Mt Airy

Room Tip: if you want a great location and place to stay, pick this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Thank you for your patronage and review!!

We are happy to hear about your good experience with us and about what you liked while here!

We hope to see you again sometime!

Thank you again!

Warmest Regards to You and Yours!

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

On arriving in New York I was so excited to see the hotel and the 2 bedroom apartment we had booked at the Best Western, I had seen all the reviews on trip advisor previously and had high expectations! I Was NOT disappointed!! The welcome was warm and inviting, we arrived at 2pm an hour before check in and this was not a problem and was promptly checked in. Our apartment was on the 5th floor and when we walked in we was hit by how spacious it was it was lovely. 2 large double rooms one with a queen bed and one with a king bed. A spotlessly clean apartment, nothing to fault at all! The kitchen had everything you would need if you wanted to stay in and cook one night and a very nice touch of a hamper in the fridge (water, coffee, milk, crisps, popcorn). The bathroom also had some nice toiletries and there is a hairdryer there so no need to pack one!
The staff were all so helpful no question or request was too much.
Breakfast was continental style, fruit salad (on request) cereal, muffins, Danish pastries, bagels, toast, eggs... The best thing of breakfast the waffle maker! Genius idea and one everyone seemed to enjoyed! I note that people have commented on the noise, there is no doubt it is noisy but this is not a fault of the hotel, it's a city and it's always loud due to sirens etc. But the hotel across the road ( not naming any names!) they have their linen collected from times between 2300 and 0200 every night and that is the only thing that woke me every night due to the banging and crashing of the dust cart! But hey it's the city that never sleeps!
Will recommend this hotel to all my friends going to New York. It is central to most things only a 10 min walk from the Rockefeller centre and Times Sq 5th avenue and St Patricks cathedral! Tour hop on off busses stop on Lexington avenue at junc with 49th which is where the hotel is so very convenient. Metro is the best way to get around and there is one of these across the road on 51st st two roads up! All round perfect location! Perfect hotel! Perfect holiday!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomarie57151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear JoMarie,

Wow!! Your review is wonderfully descriptive!! THANK YOU for being our guest and we are ecstatic that you enjoyed your time with us!!

We hope we get to have you stay with us again in the future!

Thank you again!!!

Warmest Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#103 of 468 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,645 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hospitality House

Property: Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hospitality House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing