We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
country WA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

After researching on TA, this hotel seemed to have what we needed and it definitely did. Sam, on the front desk was extremely helpful with all sorts of info on locations of restaurants, tours and the best way to get to anywhere in the NYC area. Our 2 bed apartment was a great size for our family of 5 - 2 adults/3 teens, and it was really nice to come back to. The location was ideal, close to subway, HOHO tour bus, restaurants and shops. We found it better to walk most places as that was how we saw so much. Walking to a restaurant for dinner one night, we saw 30 Rock filming at the Rockefeller Centre(just a few blocks from the hotel. We would stay here again and intend to recommend it to anyone we know travelling to NYC.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleepre, request a room on top floors or use the supplied aearplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iloveholidays077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback and visit with us! Sam will be so happy to see that his service to you was noted here.. Walking is easy from our hotel and the best way to travel around midtown, fastest way to go and to see things. I always suggest to bring your walking shoes to NYC!!
Thank you for staying with us! We hope you return someday soon!
Warmest Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    387
    74
    19
    17
See reviews for
661
116
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Booked this hotel on Priceline for a great price! We (3 friends) were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a very well-equipped kitchen, living/dining room with sofabed, large bedroom and spacious bathroom. The location was very convenient and the staff was quite helpful and friendly. We were only there for the weekend, but we all commented that we'd wished we had booked another night. There are good places to dine in the area and we found that the room was very quiet....would definitely return again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viclapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for staying with us.. We hope you saved that extra night to come be with us another time! we would love to see you again. We are glad it was a pleasant and memorable trip to the Big Apple. Come back soon!!
Yours in Service...
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Four of us stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed our experience.
Having been to New York before and was expecting a lot less for our money, we were pleasently surprised by the space, cleanliness and excellent location of this hotel.The breakfast was adequate and plentiful, but would suggest that two toasters is more appropriate for the volume of guests.
Rooms were well heated for a snowy January and the staff were always helpful and welcoming.
Yes, it is on a busy street, but you are in the heart of Manhattan. Take wax earplugs, or the hotel does provide foam ones. We would all definately return to this hotel and although the proximity the street was not a problem for me, two other members of our party would request a suite on a higher floor in future, but this did not stop our enjoyment of the hotel, or New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you have trouble sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for this review and your patronage! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! The toaster at the breakfast is a double four slot, we will look at perhaps adding another. We are space challenged at our breakfast especially now that we also have hot eggs and sausage (or bacon). Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We hope to see you aagin soon!!
Yours in Service....
Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel in a fantastic location. We easily walked home from a Broadway show at night and felt perfectly safe. We walked almost everywhere we wanted to go but there was a subway station very close by which we used to get down to Battery Park one morning. And when we decided to do the City Sights Hop On/Hop Off bus there was a stop for that just around the corner too. (And when my teenage daughters and I did the Gossip Girl tour the meeting place was also only a couple of blocks away!)

Breakfast was included and there was a very generous selection compared to some we've had and we loved making the waffles! They only have plastic cutlery and plates in the breakfast room downstairs which my husband couldn't stand so we brought our own cutlery down from our suite or we took the breakfast upstairs a couple of times and enjoyed it at the dining table in the spacious apartment style 2br suite. We didn't actually cook so I'm not quite sure how well equipped the kitchen was with pots and pans etc.. We did have a couple of dinners in but we brought in stuff from delis which just needed heating in the microwave (the food arcade part of Grand Central Station was a great find for bringing food in rather than eating out all the time). We appreciated the complimentary water bottles and snacks in the fridge!

We didn't actually talk to any staff very much but there was always someone at the desk with a friendly greeting when we came in and when we were checking out the guy at the desk was very helpful about advising us and organising our transport to Newark airport.

Hospitality House would be excellent if it weren't for the noise at night. There seems to be rubbish collection in the street every night and also a lot of cars seem to turn off 1st Ave onto 49th Street and it seemed continual all night. I was a bit miffed because I had booked about 8 months in advance and made a request for a room in the quietest part of the hotel. I'm not sure if my request was ignored or if there is no quiet part... We were on the 3rd floor with the main bedroom looking out onto 49th. Ear plugs were supplied in the bedside table drawers and they did help...

Despite the night noise, I think that Hospitality House was great value accommodation for a family of 4 in midtown Manhattan (we paid about $300 a night for a 2br apartment suite).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Escapade10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your review and business. We appreciate your feedback and use it to improve.
I see that you did request a higher floor and we do our very best to honor all requests. We had many rooms occupied from before New Years Eve at that time and no high floor rooms were checking out on the day of your arrival. I hope that would not influence your decision to stay with us again. We are looking into other options to inhibit the urban noise. Generally our hotel is in a quieter part of town than many NYC neighborhoods, like Times Square..

We hope to see you again someday soon!!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment suite! It was so perfect for a family of 5. The beds were SO comfortable. Everything was so clean. We have been to New York 7 or 8 times staying in different hotels and this was by far our best experience. It is centrally located so it was an easy walk to Time Square. The staff was so accommodating. The pictures on the website are exactly how our room appeared. Breakfast was fabulous. Loved our stay so much. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3mmartinlexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your greta review and stay!! We are very happy you found it to be a nice experience for you and your family. It's nice to hear that you have tried other NY hotels as welI and liked our. I will let our houskeepers know your mention of cleanliness too. Our ungsung heros!! will make sure to recognize their service to you. We hope to see you again someday soon!!
Warmest Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed in January with our family in a 2 bedroom apartment. Had a good amount of space for being so close to things in the city. Could use the kitchen, but you would miss out on the restuarants nearby on 2nd avenue.All the staff were great and helpful, especially Sam on the front desk who helped fix a mixup with our booking while looking after us. Being close to the city was great (if a bit noisy, but hey it's NY). Would recommend it to anyone who has a family travelling together.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your review and business. We are delighted you found it to be a positive experience for you and your family. Thank you for mentioning Sam, I will make sure to recognize his service to you. We hope to see you agian someday soon!!
Warmest Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here with family in January. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were given the penthouse with our own roof terrace garden as an added bonus. Really spacious apartment with everything needed - separate kitchen, dining and lounge rooms with 2 spacious (and comfy) bedrooms.

Breakfast is included in the breakfast room downstairs - good enough variety of cereal, waffles, pastries and juice. Staff were friendly and accommodating - rearranging things so that we could check in early.

Great location with lots to see and do nearby - 10 minutes walk to Times Square or Central Park. Didn't find noise to be a problem although there are some quirky building noises (heating, etc) but not enough to put you off your sleep. Besides, the beds are so comfy, you can't resist falling asleep!

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and can't imagine staying anywhere better in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pink_bear19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your review and stay!

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time here! We hope that we get to serve you again the future!

Yours in hospitality!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 467 in New York City
2,674 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
1,739 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#154 of 467 in New York City
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hospitality House

Property: Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hospitality House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing