We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Great place, great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We found this hotel at the last minute when our other accommodations fell through. The manager helped us with our booking and was professional and kind. He really calmed us down through a very chaotic situation. Unfortunately, there was one night in the middle of our stay that was full (something must have been going on in the neighborhood, all the area hotels were booked). The staff helped us find another Best Western property and get us there and back the next day, and when we returned, we had been upgraded to the penthouse! Everyone at this property, from the maintenance man to the manager was helpful and pleasant, especially Sam at the front desk. The property is clean and well maintained. It is great for groups/families and is near everything.

Room Tip: NY is noisy. If this is an issue for you, maybe try a room on the north side. We were on the south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
This is terrific to read. We are all so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and brand. We are honored to have guests like you staying with us.

Warmest Regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    375
    70
    19
    16
See reviews for
636
109
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parbold
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with two teenagers and it worked really well. Lots of space and very close to the subway. Pizza next door was good too. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Free fast wi fi & computers for free use were appreciated. Breakfast was a bit busy at times. We used the ear plugs! We would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParboldSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We hope you do come back! Thank you for your review and stay with us. We are glad you liked the pizza and our hotel.

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and brand.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here this past winter and had a great stay! Sam Sharma, the guest services representative was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a good variety and the room was really clean. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingemRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We can't wait to see you on your next visit. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to post this about us.

Sammy will be honored ,as is management, to see him mentioned here. Thank you for that as well!!!

It is our pleasure to serve you.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, Ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The husband and our two boys spent the night here. An impromptu find thanks to HotelTonight app on my cell. I save like $200 by using that app! But seriously, this is an excellent set up especially when traveling with kids. It's apartment style suits which is basically a 1 bedroom suit with a living room and full kitchen. So much space that it was an unbelievable find on NYC. Close to the subway and excellent food/bars. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraOnTheGoBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your stay , this review and for your recommendation! We are very happy that you and your famaily enjoyed your time with us.

We hope you are able to cvopme back and stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Best Western Hospitality House was obviously an apartment building in a previous life. Our room still had a doorbell left over from an earlier era. To me, it was amazing to have that much space in midtown Manhattan at the price we got it at. When one travels with kids for several days, it's nice for mom and dad to have their own space so this hotel is perfect for families. And since there is great dining in the neighborhood, it's nice to have a full kitchen in the room for reheating leftovers! There is a pizza joint one door over and a great Italian restaurant, San Martin, two doors down. Try the Smtih, which is 2 blocks away on 2nd Ave., for dinner. Best mac and cheese we've ever had.

PS The staff was outstanding in every way.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are roughly the same, having all been converted from apartments. The rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and for your very nice review. Your restaurant suggestions are spot on! We are so grateful for your business and kind mention of our staff.

We hope to see you again soon

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanikai, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Hospitality House is the best place I've stayed in NYC since I moved away in 2001. The staff is very accommodating and exceedingly helpful, especially Sam. When my friends who live in NYC visit me here, they say they wish they could live in the HH! The rooms are huge, very clean, and well appointed. I really can't say enough WONDERFUL things about the place.

Room Tip: We usually ask for a quiet room. The two times we've stayed there, our rooms were quiet, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Amber,

Thank you for your nice review about our hotel and staff. We are honored and grateful that you choose to stay with us. We are very happy that you like your time with us. We will especially recognize Sammy's service to you.

We appreciate your taking the time to post your experience here.

We hope to see you again soon!!
Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were here for 6 nights in late June 2103 in one of the 2 bedroom units fronting 49th Street.

the room was huge by hotel standards and easily accomodated our 3 daughters (9-16). The benefit of 3 distinct rooms was super especially compared to later hotel arrangements on our US trip.

We felt safe everywhere in New York and this area of Midtown seemed perfectly fine.

After the first morning we gave the breakfast room a miss as small and pretty crowded ( I think the hotel was full) and brought stuff back to rooms. We supplemented this with supplies from the excellent Morton & Williams supermarket which is only a block and a half away.

We found the location really convenient for Times Square, Central Park and whilst we walked everywhere until the end of our 6 days the 51st and Lexington subway is only 5 minutes away.

It was still al little noisy with the Residence Inn loading dock opposite us and they seemed to have a lot of cleaning trucks and coming and going but wasn't unbearable.

Aircon coped with +30 degree days ......just.

Overall a good trip and we would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your nice review about our hotel and for your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your taking the time to post your experience here. It helps us to improve.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Kindest most Warm Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing