We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good place to stay with small kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A really good place to stay with small kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Myself, my husband and my two children (6 and 10 months) stayed here at the end of June for 4 days. It was our first time to NYC and we were really unsure where to stay but ended up booking this hotel based on reviews here plus that it offered a separate bedroom. We arrived quite late at night (1am) and neither the sofa bed for our 6 year old nor the crib for the baby were set up which was really inconvenient after a long flight from Europe. we called front desk who sent someone up but he struggled to find linen. the next day we complained to the duty manager who apologised and later that day sent a bottle of wine to our room. That's what I call customer service. Later in our holiday at a different place we had a similar thing happen but were told that it was because they couldn't accept liability for setting up the pac'n'play which I guess makes sense. So I feel a bit bad that I complained to BW. we had one other hiccup at the hotel and they resolved it by refunding part of the stay. A really nice and unexpected gesture.

So the hotel: clean, great location, high chairs for babies, not bad breakfast buffet (a bit more fruit wouldn't go amiss), our 6 year old loved being able to make his own waffles. All the staff were really friendly and helped us book transport to La Guardia when we were leaving. This is not a fancy place but is a great base if you have small kids and especially if you want extra space. The rooms were really nice and the kitchen well equipped. I will recommend this to friends. We didn't stay here on our way to Europe purely and simply because we wanted a roof top bar for our last night so stayed round the corner at the Kimberly otherwise we would have been back here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banany73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review. I remember your visit with us. We are happy that we resolved the items pointed out to your satisfaction. I hope you liked the wine.

Since you left we have purchased all new cribs, new linen supplies and blankets for them. Our staff was retrained in making up the cribs for the guests , when they arrive.

We do offer Oranges , Banana's and Apples at the breakfast daily. More fruit is a great idea. We will explore the possibility.

Thank you for staying wit us!!! We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    375
    70
    19
    16
See reviews for
636
109
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've always wanted to travel to New York and what a hotel to stay in. We loved the place. Steeped in history, this has to be the place to stay in New York. The customer service was second to none. It just seems that Americans have the edge on customer service compared to us Brits.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironman2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your stay and for sharing your experience.

We are very happy to hear you found our service to be warm and hospitable. We strive to create an air of warmth and a home for our guests to feel comfortable in.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Thank you agian.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

1/2 through our stay in this hotel and so far everything is good. There's 3 of us in a spacious 2 bedroom. The sofa bed isn't very comfortable but the beds are good. The location is good and rooms are clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful despite some pretty demanding clients that we saw at breakfast complaining about having no bagels! The free wifi is wonderful and is great!

We are switching rooms today to a bigger room to accommodate another friend joining us... so will post again to see how that room is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayward888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your stay and for sharing your experience with us here.

We appreciate your business and are always looking for ways to improve.

We do provide memory foam for the sofa beds upon request in case in the future you need to use the sofa bed and need that. .

We never run our of bagels. We were surprised and upset too that we ran out. I can't blame the guest because there is nothing like a NYC bagel with cream cheese!!

We hope to see youi agin soon!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

First stop of our US trip with 2 teenagers and a 2,5 years old girl, this place was perfect to land and rest for a few days after our 8 hours flight and 6 hours jetlag. Large flat with 2 bedrooms, kitchen fully equipped, living room, properly working WIFI (it has not always been the case in the following places we've been), in the center of Manhattan, walking distance from 5th Avenue, easy to jump into a taxi to get anywhere in the city. Breakfast a bit poor but usual for BW, very friendly personel. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are noisy. Although on the 8th floor, poor isolation of AC (incorporated in the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregIstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We were very happy to read here that you and your daughters enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Warm Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I planned a New York trip for the 2 grand daughters to take them shopping, see the Lion King etc, etc. We stayed 5 nights at the Hospitality House and enjoyed every moment of our stay, it seemed that nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff.
The apartment was without doubt the best we have ever had in New York, being spacious and equipped with everything you could think of and a lot you would not. It was kept spotlessly clean by a team of very professional cleaners at a time that was convenient to us and the front desk was always there with advice and assistance to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast here is not to be missed, buffet style and always plenty of everything whatever your taste.
The location of the hotel is ideal for getting to all the things you want to see and is handy for the subway should you want to visit Ground Zero and the various ferries etc downtown.
I would happily stay here again and recommend this Hotel, our thanks to everyone at the Hospitality House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your nice review and your stay with us. We are very happy you and your Grand Daughters enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Always at your service...,

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

After staying around Times Square for all my previous visits I decided to change location. By choosing the Best Western Hospitality House I chose a fabulous hotel in a really great location. Within walking distance to theaters, shopping and lots of great restaurants this is the place to stay when visiting NYC. The subway is only a short walk away and has good access to many of the city's hot spots. The rooms are spacious, most are like apartments and a super breakfast is included. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kluane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. We hope to see you agin soon!!!

It was our pleasure to have served you!

Kindest Regards,
Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is the only place I will be staying form now on when I am in the city. We went to New York to celebrate my husbands birthday and found this place to be a great little find. Just a couple blocks from 5th Ave and high end shopping or a short cab ride to SOHO and Times Square. Like most places in New York this is a older building but is well maintained and very clean. Staff is extremely nice and helpful and I love having my own kitchen complete with stove and refrigerator for storing and reheating leftovers from all the great restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your hotel of choice in NYC. We are bvery happy you were liked our hotel and apartments plus were able to fully utilize the apartments kitchen!!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
'
Warmest Regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing