We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NYC Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Best Western Hospitality House is a little gem to find so close to the middle of Manhatten. Staff are all friendly and would do anything to help. Special little touches were the goody basket of things we received upon arrival in the room, was slightly put out by the lack of tea/coffee making in our room, but found out in the morning at the brilliant breakfast that fresh filter coffee with flavoured creamers is left out all day for you to help yourself to - a real winner. Could not rate this Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Wow! Thank you , that's so nice to heart. We are honored by your review and are so grateful for your stay with us. Our team is very happy you liked our hotel. We strive to add the little comforts of home when ever possible.

We hope you return one day soon!

Warmest Regards,
Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    377
    71
    18
    16
See reviews for
642
109
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 10 days here in a 1 bedroom apartment. 2 adults and 2 children were very happy, lots of room, comfy beds, kitchen, two tvs and wonderful service. We will only stay here next time we visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank De P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review of our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you as our guest and we thank you for your business.

We are very happy that you found it to be "blissful"

We hope to see you again soon!!

Thank you , again.

Warmest Regards
Robert Geeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom room on the back side of the hotel. The room had no view, but was very quiet.. It seems like a room in the back might be a best bet. The living room faces the back of a restaurant and the bedroom faced a parking lot. The lack of a view is well made up for in space. Literally this was an over 500 square foot apartment. The hotel actually used to be apartments. This seems like a great option for larger groups who might also want to save by preparing a few meals in the complete kitchen.

The hotel is centrally located in midtown east with the shops of Madison ave and the sights of 5th avenue a short walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teradactyltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this nice review of our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you as our guest and we thank you for your business.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Warmest Regards
Robert Geeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The friendly staff responded promptly to all requests. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, so no problems for a celiac vegetarian. Located close to supermarket, post office, hospital, restaurants and subway. The gym had an amazing offering of classes throughout the day and gave an opportunity to mix with locals. We appreciated the wifi, two public computers, housekeeping, plenty of space for 4 travellers to share, very comfortable beds, extra rest room in lobby and 24 hour front desk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this nice review of our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you as our guest and we thank you for your business.

We hope to see you again soon!!

Warmest Regards
Robert Geeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Being a travel agent I had thoroughly research hotels and places to stay, on arrival we were pleasantly surprised by our 2 bedroom apartment. However after the first night we realised that the windows were not double glazed and being although we were on the 5th floor the noise from the street made it the most tiring stay, the earplugs left by the bed did little to dull the roar of NewYork nightlife. I am surprised no one has commented on this before and would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations with regard to the urban NYC sounds at night.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to explore other improvements that might offer a better experience for future guests not used to the sounds of our city.

We do have double pained glass at our hotel and do provide ear plugs free but if one is not used to the urban sounds, NYC can be admittedly tough for sleeping. We are exploring other measures that might be taken.

We are in a much quieter neighborhood than Times Square and we are on a side street. The Avenues tend to be noisier. Even being high up in a tall building does not elliminate the sirens and sounds of the city. NYC is 24 hours of hustle and bustle.

We hope you would re-consider visiting our hotel should you ever return to NY.

Thank you again for knid consideration.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

On arriving in NY we checked into our hotel with no fuss and went up to our room which faced the street. i have to say the main living area was huge and the 2 bedrooms had ample room to spread out. In the main bedroom there is a desk on which you can spread out the laptop and all of the other devices that seem to need charging in todays world. If you ever felt like cooking in the room there is a large kitchen but i have to admit with all the places you can eat around the area we never used it.
We never took advantage of the free breakfast as we felt it was in a rather small room in the hotel on the inside and as we had travelled all the way to NY we preferred to get out and choose some where local with a view of the street.
I have to say for us non New Yorkers the rooms are very noisy and there is constant traffic noise which could be improved if the air conditioners in the windows were fitted with a lot more accuracy but in defence of the hotel when we found the ear plugs provided in the side drawer we then got a great nights sleep.
The staff are fantastic and nothing seems to be an issue and all of our requests where dealt with in a very friendly and efficient manner. They even have a room where you can store your bags if you have a late flight out that evening and want to spend a bit more time wandering this great city.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street which did give us something to look at but there is a fair amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and for your stay. We appreciate your kind appreciation of our staff and hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyredlips93
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

really can't fault this place. location was great, walking distance to times square, close to shops and amenities. we stayed in a 2-bed room, the master was HUGE, the second room also very large. one small bathroom to share between 5 but was fine for the 4 days we stayed there. breakfasts were good and had a nice spread of different things, would be good if the had more waffle toppings though. heaters/radiators worked very nicely and tv was great. overall good little spot, i believe from what I've heard that the rooms are all very very big by new york standards so this would be a great place to stay if you like space to put all your suitcases and stuff out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyredlips93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for your review here!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are adding flavors to the waffles such as blueberry, strawberry and banana nut. We should have that in place by next week. Thank you for the suggestion!

Warmst Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing