We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location and excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We (a family of four) stayed at the Best Western Hospitality House for 6 nights.
It is very well located on 49th Av, just a few blocks away from the Rockefeller Centre. In the immediate neighbourhood you've got plenty of restaurants, deli's and a supermarket.
Also, there are 2 subway staions nearby.

The lobby is small and not impressive, but don't let this put you off. The rooms (and certainly their size) more than make up for this.

We had a 1 bedroom appartement on the 9th floor at the back of the building. The view was not great, but the upshot is that we had almost no problems with streetnoise. Only the occasional siren can wake you at night. The appartement is certainly big enough with a large living room area, a kitchen, decently sized bedroom and a bathroom. Everything was kept spotless by housekeeping during our entire stay. The queensized bed was very comfortable and you had a choice of 2 pillows. The bathroom was a little dated, but also had a certain retro-charm. Plenty of hot water was welcome for the morning shower.
The kitchen is well equipped with a fridge, dish washer, microwave, etc... altough we didn't use it much. A nice touch is the welcome basket with water and some snacks.
After a whole day of walking through Manhattan, it is nice to have all that space and not be sitting in a cramped hotelroom.

Breakfast is complementary, which was nice. Don't expect a glorious buffet, but there was enough choice and quality was good. Each day you had a choice of different bagels and pastries, eggs, sausages, waffles, fruit, cereals, etc... During the whole day you have acces to free coffee and tea.
The sitting area is a little small, but we where lucky as we always found a free table.

You can use the gym and swimming facilities of the nearby YMCA, but I can't comment on them as we didn't use them.

This is a comfortable (though not luxurious) hotel that offers some of the biggest rooms in Manhattan. You probably have to stay in a suite at the Waldorf to get more space.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schietboog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again someday soon!

Warmest Regards,
Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    375
    70
    19
    16
See reviews for
636
109
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

5 of us stayed in a two bedroom apartment with sofa bed in lounge area - rooms large and beds comfortable. Having a small kitchen was also useful. Free self service breakfast was a bonus as we thought we had booked on a room only basis- the breakfast area was quite small and could become overcrowded but we always managed to find a table after a short wait. The scrambled eggs and the waffle making machine were a big hit with the family. Tea and coffee were also available at all times of the day in the breakfast area. Staff friendly and helpful. Ideal location for walking to midtown Manhattan - Rockefeller Centre approx. 10 mins walk. Only slight negative comment was the noise outside at night time - bin lorry emptying bins in the early hours was especially loud! The hotel do however provide earplugs! This hotel was recommended to us by friends and I would happily recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again someday soon!

Warmest Regards,

Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay, the staff were very helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a very nice part of town and local amenities close. We couldn't have asked for more on our first trip to New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your stay and positive review. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest Regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very clean1 bedroom Suite with modest furnishings, with full kitchen and very comfortable bed. Good location, no views out of windows but I didn't need that. Just wish I would have had time to take advantage of the kitchen. Everyone of the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your patronage and review of our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay. Positives - Location, huge rooms ( handy if you are staying with a family), Mr Sharma a real asset to the hotel always helpful.
The only negative is the breakfast which is monotonous and does not offer much variety.
Will definitely recommend.
Thanks
Jay

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. Sammy is indeed an asset to our service effort and we were thrilled to see that he made your experience special and notable. We are always updating and trying new things for our breakfast. For example we recently added flavored waffles (blueberry , banana nut, strawberry and whole wheat). We are constantly on the look out for ways to improve.

Thank you again!

We look forward to seeing you again , soon!

Warmest Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Wonderfully clean and spacious. We enjoyed our stay...especially because of Sam at the front desk. He was most helpful, professional and friendly. He went above and beyond to help us get where we needed to go and do what we wanted to do. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Leann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review and stay with us. We appreciate your recommendation. Sammy will be honored, as is management, to hear that. We hope you come back soon!

Warm Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our party of 7 women arrived on 8th March 2014 to stay for 5 nights and were given an upgrade as 1 of our party had a birthday. We found our rooms to not only be very large but comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great with plenty of variety to choose from which helped kick start the day and fuel us all for a day of New York shopping!! We couldnt fault the staff at BWHH, they were ALL very attentive to our needs and informative with any queries we had especially Sam (who we all loved) :)
All in all a fantastic place to stay and BWHH only made an amazing holiday all the more enjoyable.
A BIG thank you to all the management and staff from the 7 Northern Ireland ladies :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NISeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for your lovely review. We hope we get to see our ladies from Northern Ireland again some day! And HAPPY BIRTHDAY once more!

Warm Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing