We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Ranked #126 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great outdoor space”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were looking for a hotel that offered a 2 bedroom suite and this is most reasonably priced in midtown that we found. Was plenty of room for party of 5. We had penthouse and had the most amazing and huge outdoor space which was really shocking in NYC. There were loungers and large table where you could eat. We just loved it and I almost gave 5 stars just for that reason. Did not as indoors could use a little refurbishing, like the heating system which was loud, furniture a bit old, bathrooms run down a bit. We did not notice street noise unless windows or door was open. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Location is perfect. I would highly recommend the penthouse just for that great outdoor space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your stay and review of your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your thoughts here. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a great experience for you and other guests in the future.

We were happy to see you liked the large balcony and outdoor area that comes with our penthouse, rare to have that in NYC.

We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and brand. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    383
    74
    18
    16
See reviews for
652
114
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment we were met at Reception by Mr Sharma, the 4 of us knew it was going to be good. We had a 2-bedroom apartment, with 2 large bedrooms, very large comfortable lounge/diner, well-equipped kitchen and clean modern bath/shower room.

Unusually, there was a very good breakfast room, with loads of hot and cold choices, free newspapers (NYST on Sunday!) and again, friendly and helpful staff; but the waffle mixture and the powdered egg-based omelette need some attention.

Just outside were 2 very good quality and popular Italian run restaurants. You might have to queue if peak time of 7 - 7.30 PM but are made to feel valued as you walk through their doors.

And it is so convenient for Rockefeller, Grand Central, and even Central Park was a pleasant walk away.

But being opposite a Marriott which had laundry and refuse service in the middle of the night and on a popular cross-town route, the noise level was very high from 12 midnight until about 4 AM. The earplugs supplied were useless so take your own if, like me, you sleep lightly; my wife said it did not affect her but she sleeps easily.

Two things the hotel should think about at next refurbishment: first the central heating system is so old and noisy and it leaks around the radiators; second, one lift/elevator is not enough to provide a good service.

We would happily stay there again

Room Tip: If there are rooms away from the street, go for one of them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 312Michael312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you for mentioning our service and our service staff (Sammy will be honored) and pointing out the many items offered at our breakfast.

We do realize the sounds of the city at night are difficult to adjust to and we are looking at various options to alleviate that concern. Our eggs are not powdered they are a prepared product, not anything mixed from a powder. We are glad you enjoyed our other food items. We are constrained for any additional elevator.

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over Easter. Family of four in a one bedroom apartment. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Kitchen was really handy. Nice to have coffee supplied for the coffee maker. My girls said the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable, could have done with a mattress topper or similar, but it didn't affect their sleep too much. We were on floor 8 at the back and didn't have too much noise at night. Breakfast good but breakfast room tiny and we didn't manage to sit and eat together, we had to eat in two's and take trays to our room - only problem there was that the one and only lift very busy in the mornings so breakfast was cold by the time we got it to our room. However, that was a minor problem in an overall fantastic hotel. Location is great, short walk to Rockerfeller and Grand Central for the subway. Supermarket 5 minutes walk. If you have kids there is a great playground called Macarthur playground on 49th street - walk directly east about 3 blocks until you're right at the river and you'll find it. Great for the little ones to let off some steam - and it has a loo!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
First of all thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post a positive review here. For future reference we do have memory foam toppers for the sofa beds upon request. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will recommend the playground to other guests as well.

We hope we get to serve you again someday.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London/Herts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked here by our travel agent, but what a find! Family of four (mum, dad, teenage son & daughter) had a full 1 bed apartment with double room and huge living room with sofa bed and fold out bed provided on request. Full kitchen with cooking facilities and bathroom. Didn't need to use the kitchen on this occasion as we ate out and breakfast was provided by hotel in downstairs dining room, as was free tea and coffee all day/night. All the staff from front desk to maids to maintenance guys were unfailingly polite and helpful. They all deserve to be Employee of the Month! Really central location - near subways and shopping streets. Very very best of New York-would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room on lower levels as lift can be slow to arrive-use stairs instead where possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theholidaycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your stay with us and your kind feedback for our team and hotel. I wish I could nominate the entire team for employee of the month as you mention!

We hope we get to see you again someday soon.

Warmest Regards,
Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of variety. We always managed to get a table although they don't mind if you take it up to your room. Good sized room with a full size kitchen, fab living area with a dining table and a good sized bathroom with a decent hairdryer that you don't have to keep your finger on the button to keep on. You just press on to dry and off when you have finished. I stayed with my daughter, my dad and my brother who flew in from North Carolina. Well located within walking distance of the subway and the Rockefeller Centre and Grand Central Station. Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are less noisy. If going to use the subway a lot buy a weeks travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your nice review and for your stay. Our team was so happy to hear that your family felt comfortable and at home for this reunion. That's wonderful. You really brought a smile to all by take the time to write this positive feedback. Our team is delighted to read this. We love to see happy experiences and memories created for beautiful families , like yours, that are brought to life here.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were 7 women friends out to see NYC. Perfect place to stay to be all together after a day of sightseeing. Great staff, good breakfast to start out the day and well located. The hotel has all apartments with full size kitchen, living room, real dining area, not bar and stools. We all had room to spread out. The staff was very helpful with any requests for assistance. Easy walk to Grand Central, near Times Square, Top of the Rock, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review and for your stay with us. We hope that all seven ladies took back some great memories to last a lifetime. We are so happy we were able to provide a comfortable place and good service for your visit. We hope to see you again one day!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Hospitality House for 5 nights. We were a family of four and were there to celebrate my stepdaughter's 40th birthday. It is very well located on 49th Av, just a few blocks away from the Rockefeller Centre and Grand Central Station. Next door on both sides are two good restaurants (San Martin and Cafe Linda) Also, there are 2 subway stations in easy walking distance. The lobby is small and can become congested when there are incoming and outgoing guests - but all the staff are charming and helpful.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor at the back of the building. The view was not great and we certainly came to realise that New York is certainly the city that never sleeps!. You learn to love the New York sirens ! There were some roadworks taking place overnight during our stay which was somewhat noisy but I am sure this is not an on-going problem.

The apartment is certainly big enough with a large living room area, a kitchen, decently sized bedrooms and a bathroom. Everything was kept spotless by housekeeping during our entire stay. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom well stocked with towels and amenities. There was always ample hot water. If you needed anything extra a note to housekeeping brought everything you needed promptly and with a smile.

The kitchen is well equipped with a fridge, dish washer, microwave, etc. and the welcome basket with water and some snacks was a nice gesture. After a whole day of sightseeing it is nice to have all that space to relax as a family and not be sitting in cramped separate hotel rooms.

Breakfast is complimentary and whilst not an extravagant buffet spread there was enough choice and quality was good. Each day you had a choice of different bagels and pastries, eggs, sausages, waffles, fruit, cereals, etc. The breakfast room is not big and is always busy so finding a table can be a challenge! This room also has computers and a printer for guest use - and the hotel offers free wi fi.

This is a comfortable, friendly apartment hotel and whilst not in the luxury category, I would challenge you to get better value for money in New York in such a central location. I would definitely come back and thoroughly recommend this hotel. If you want the Waldorf Astoria - just nip round the corner one block and have a drink in the bar!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginab1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hospitality House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
HAPPY MILESTONE BIRTHDAY WISHES!!

Our entire team was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry the city decided to repave the street one of the nights while you were here. They did not tell us and it only happens once every two years but without advance notice.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for pointing out the great value offered for your accommodation in NYC. We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#103 of 468 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,645 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hospitality House

Property: Best Western Plus Hospitality House
Address: 145 E 49th St, New York City, NY 10017-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hospitality House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing