We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the Trip Advisor "Excellent" reviews”
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn New York City
Ranked #350 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Trip Advisor "Excellent" reviews”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our stay was over the Dec. 13th weekend. We so enjoyed the two floors of the Vermont suite, charmingly decorated and so warm and comfortable. It was a relief not to have to go out for breakfast on a snowy morning. The breakfast treats and snacks were just right in the privacy of our suite. We have a new place to stay when we visit NYC! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeMayLover309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
180
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FLA.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

For the eighth time we went "home" to our home away from home in NYC and stayed at the "Inn", After all this time, it doesn't seem possible that something that you've done so many times before can still continue to WOW you. But, the Inn in NYC does just that. From the minute you arrive you feel like royalty. Your suite is always prepared flawlessly, and if you are lucky enough to be a return visitor, they remember what your favorite treats are and have them for you. The attention to detail each and every day is amazing. More accommodating the staff and owners could not be. The beauty, cleanliness and pure elegance coupled with such a warmth is a truly remarkable combination. As you can tell, no matter how many times my husband and I stay there, we always feel at a loss in conveying how wonderful it really is. Everyone should be treated the way Ruth and Ellen (plus their amazing staff) treat each guest. A more wonderful place to stay in NY - I think not. Looking forward to this year's stay - we're already booked!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLA-JOE-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Dear Elyn Mensch & Robin,

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay with you last week.

The Opera Suite was classically chic, frozen in time, preserving an elegance missing from today busy lives and transporting occupants back into an era of gentle tranquillity.

The only thing that surpassed the suite was the lovely dedication you all took in looking after us all, each and every encounter.....nothing was ever too much trouble.... From the urgent dentist to the hairdresser to the special sheets to the airport transports & music room bookings, it was all done so wonderfully and caringly.

The treats that were delivered each night for turn down service we a special delight to come back to each evening as was the manner in which you engaged with us all.

We will definitely be recommending you to all our friends when they stay in NYC. We lived here for 2 years and never encountered the hospitality and friendliness that you all displayed....you are all truly a unique oasis of tranquillity, calm and caring in the sea of the best city in the
world that could learn a lot from your approach to life.

Keep well all of you until we meet again.

Yours Sincerely
Angela, Michael & Daniel

Room Tip: The internet is accurate,,,,or just ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelTauber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We searched and searched for the perfect NYC getaway hotel for our 15yr anniversary and hit the jackpot. This luxurious Inn was exactly what we were looking for, and more. Intimate and quiet, beautiful and private, convenient and practical. We saw almost noone the entire time. For the three nights and four days we stayed we saw the caretaker once at check-in and the housekeeper twice- once in passing and once at checkout. We never saw or heard one guest, which was so cool- really made the experience seem private and homey. We chose the romantic spa room. The decor was beautiful, tons of hardwood and vintage pieces without being stuffy and musty (I have allergies to dust and mold and had zero trouble). There was an extremely comfortable kingsized bed and the spa room itself was beautiful, enjoyable and relaxing. They provided us with delicious cakes and pastries, snacks and nuts, juices, wine, coffee and sodas every day and had a full kitchen and accessories in the kitchen. There was never a need to go out for breakfast and we actually saved a bunch of money by eating the provided goodies. The location was extremely convenient: The subway was very close by with just a quick ride to Times Square and Broadway Shows. Central Park is only a few blocks away. Also, Amsterdam Ave is a block away providing tons of great restaurants to choose from (we recommend Jacob's Pickles if you like great pub food and are a microbrew aficionado). In short: Highly recommended. If you have disposable income- go now. If you don't- save up... and enjoy!

Room Tip: We LOVED our Spa room. So nice to be able to relax in the tub morn, noon and night. A real treat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After days and days of searching for the perfect romantic and intimate hotel to propose to my girlfriend I came upon this gem!

I stayed at the opera suite which included a grand piano, real working fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and outstanding decor.

The owner Elyn was extremely helpful, she gave me romantic suggestions for the evening and included great romantic details in the room such as fresh roses, chocolates, fresh fruit, a bottle of wine and many other light bites.

I decided to make this evening the most romantic evening of my girlfriends life by setting up a couples massage, then having a romantic dinner prepared by a personal chef alongside live music performed on the grand piano within the room.

Elyn and the staff worked with me and the others who I hired to make sure the timing of the evening was perfect. It was indeed the PERFECT night thanks to the help and beautiful atmosphere setup by INN New York City.

I look forward to returning for another evening of romance at this INN. It was truly a unique and remarkable event that everyone should experience. Thank you INN New York City for making my proposal a success!

- Jason O.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn new York City over the Veterans Day Holiday as we were celebrating our anniversary. From the time we exited the cab in front of the Inn on West 71st Street until our departure on Monday we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were greeted at the front door by our Hostess Elyn who welcomed us and gave us a tour of the room and all of the amenities of the property. We stayed in the Spa Suite as it is one of 4 rooms at the Inn. The room consisted of bedroom, fully appointed kitchen with granite counter tops and a wonderful spa room which consisted of a large jacuzzi and spa. All first class in their operation. This is quite the Inn/hotel, and a wonderful way to spend your stay in NYC. The room was thoroughly cleaned each day and the kitchen restocked with drinks, pastry, cheeses etc., all of which are included in the price of the room. We were surprised when we arrived as the owners had baked us a delicious chocolate cake in recognition of our anniversary. I know of no other location in the NYC area with these type of accommodations. All in all is was memorable weekend and much was attributed to our delightful stay at the Inn I highly recommend the Inn and we are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Inn, along with another couple, so we had 2 of their 4 suites for two nights on the weekend of the NY Marathon. We weren't sure what to expect, but we loved it. The Inn is an ordinary brownstone building built, I think in 1890. Walk the few steps to the front door and ring the bell, then wait to be welcomed in to what feels like it's someone's home... because it is. The suites are all entirely private (one on each floor), with the old world warmth combined with every modern amenity (great beds/linens, plush spa towels, complementary stocked kitchenettes, etc). If you want the sterile feel of a large hotel and/or need room service, then stay away. If you want something entirely different and wonderful, then give it a try.
The location is fabulous with nearby walking access to central park and all the attractions of the upper west side. We'll be back!
The only downside is that there is no designated parking, but the street is surprisingly quiet and there are parking lots nearby (about $30/night).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_and_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#253 of 466 in New York City
2,257 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#369 of 466 in New York City
165 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 466 in New York City
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,990 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Property: Inn New York City
Address: 266 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3752
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing