We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouse Delight”
Review of Inn New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn New York City
Ranked #351 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Shushan, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Townhouse Delight”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

If you want a true New York experience without sacrificing any of the niceties of hotel ammenities, this is the place to stay. This classic townhouse is situated on a quiet street, but is within a short walk of Central Park, the 72nd street subway, and an abundance of taxis on the Avenues. We stayed in 'The Library', which is the entire top floor. The rooms were well appointed and lacked for nothing. We have stayed at condos with minimal accesories like dishes, but the Inn provides everything you could think of or want including food, wine, snacks, glasses, pots, pans, etc. etc. Even a washer/dryer! Since this is a 4 unit Inn, so you have complete privacy. But the owners were always available when called. We were entirely delighted.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbshushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
180
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

This was our first stay at the Inn and it blew us away. I was planning a surprise weekend for a special occassion, and as was looking to splurge for 4-5 star accomodations. The Plaza, Trump, and others were looking good but then I stumbled accross the Inn. Oh man, this place is awesome. Unlike a hotel, here you have all the comfort, space, and privacy of home. Elyn and the staff were so warm to us; they obviously take pride in their Inn.

We had the country-decorated Vermont Suite which has two levels. It has a private entrance off the street, so we felt like we were living in the city in our own place. Sweets, breakfast pastry, fresh fruit and other surprises greeted us.

This a real neighborhood and by staying here a couple of days you see a delightful side of New York City you can't experience at the big hotels. A good location: safe-clean-quiet, subway station at the corner, restaurants, bakeries, markets, church, Central Park, museums, all within walking distance; we walked home Saturday night from the MET.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJ_traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the Library Suite to celebrate a special birthday. I agree with the other reviewers concerning the uniqueness of such a place, the consideration shown by the owners, the attempts to think of everything one might need etc. We never saw or heard another guest, despite it being a full house. The location near LIncoln Center is superb. The only drawback is the lack of ability by the guest to control the use of the fireplace. The reason we chose this inn rather than a standard hotel was because of the fireplace. We were so looking forward to using it but discovered that use was limited to 11 AM to 5 PM and that the fire had to be set by the owners (due to insurance regulations). I can understand if they need to maintain this policy but I feel it should be noted on their website when they offer suites with working fireplaces. It was a major disappointment for us.

  • Liked — Having our own place in NYC with everything we might need provided.
  • Disliked — Fireplace restrictions.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnNewYorkCity, owner at Inn New York City, responded to this review, 10 February 2009
unfortunately our guests misread our "fireplace note" which states that we be notified by five p.m. if a fire is desired. Fires are lite between 11 a.m. and 9 p.m. and burn for approximately 2 1/2 to 3 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Stayed in the Vermont Suite which was lovely...so relaxing...coming through our own entrance each night made us feel like we owned our own slice of manhattan....!! We brought our own cds, put the music on, put our feet up, & read the ny times while drinking a glass (or two) of wine..perfect end to an evening - especially a cold winter night in NY!

Breakfast great with fresh supplies every morning from zabars as part of the price.

Not far from Central Park (15mins walk). Very close to underground, yet on a quiet side street. The stop also had express trains that get u to lower manhattan & times sq much quicker.

All in all a perfect stay and defintley would go back! Have already recommended to friends who have stayed and agreed with us!

  • Liked — Homely Ny style apartment
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelling76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We stayed at the inn for Christmas 2008. We had the Piano Suite which is on the ground floor.
After reading many reviews we thought we would give this place a go and we were not disapointed.
Before we arrived we asked Ruth if she would get us a Christmas tree, and indeed when we arrived it was in our suite waiting for us, Ruth also gave us a basket of festive decorations for us to decorate the tree.
The Suite was very clean and so so lovely . Huge fire place, stained glass ceiling, full kitchen ( with lots of food & drink items at no extra charge) his and hers dressing robes and of course the baby grand piano. Infact it had everything and more you could want.
The bathroom is quite small but very well equiped with everything you need.
We had a small terrace with chairs (which we didnt use as it was covered in snow) .

Would we return, well yes and no

Yes for a special occasion such as Christmas
No for a few days in NYC just for a quick shopping trip

If you can afford to stay here it is a wonderfull place its like having your own appartment in NYC. and if we ever return to NYC for Christmas again, we wouldnt hesitate to book into the Inn New York City.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank UkSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

My husband & I stayed in the Spa Suite December 13 - 15, 2008. It exceeded every expectation. Our room was on the second floor and was actually three seperate areas. The bedroom had a wonderful king sized bed that was very comfortable. The galley-type kitchen was fully functional - microwave, oven, dishwasher & refrigerator. The fridge was stocked with wine, cheese, quiche, milk, oj & water. Bagels, danishes, oatmeal, coffee were also right there at your fingertips. The bathroom was simply unbelieveable! Jacuzzi tub, sauna, seperate shower and a fire place. If you're looking for a romantic getaway - this is your place. The moment you walk into the house, you feel as though you're in your own private home. The Inn is in walking distance to the subway & neighborhood restaurants. It was just such a delightful alternative to the standard hotel. We really felt special and are looking foward to returning. The inn-keepers have thought of every detail.

  • Liked — feeling as though you're in a home, and not in a standard hotel
  • Disliked — not one complaint!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank gottatip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLA.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

This was our third time staying at the Inn. We stayed in the Library Suite for 8 days. I cried when I left. But one day into our stay we booked for next year. There aren't enough acalades to describe how we feel about the Inn, the way it's run, the ambiance and the owners - Ruth and Ellen -- it's absolutely incredible. Everything at the Inn is first rate - truly - from the decorating to the cleanilness of the suites and attention to detail even down to the way the towels are folded are top shelf. We have suggested in the past to go to their website to see what we're so excited about every time we stay there. We literally got home about three hours ago, unpacked and wanted to make sure to we didn't forget to do our trip advisor note because everyone deserves to feel like a superstar celebrity at least once in their lives. Believe us, if you stay at the Inn, you will. Enjoy.

Joseph and Diane from Florida

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — N/A BECAUSE WE LIKED EVERYTHING
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FLA-JOE-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#247 of 466 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#364 of 466 in New York City
184 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 466 in New York City
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 466 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 466 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 466 in New York City
5,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn New York City

Property: Inn New York City
Address: 266 W 71st St, New York City, NY 10023-3752
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn New York City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn New York City, a restored 19th century townhouse hotel on the upper west side, is a destination in itself. It is the ultimate in romance and exclusivity or just a great place to bring the family. Behind our unassuming and discreet façade are four sumptuous suites.The dramatic Opera Suite on the Parlor floor has a baby grand piano, a working fireplace, a stained glass ceiling and a quiet balcony overlooking the serene garden.Stay in the Spa Suite and indulge in your own personal spa with a Jacuzzi-for-two, sauna, rain shower and a king-size platform bed. In the Vermont Suite you will delight in our country style duplex tucked away with its own private entrance and a Victorian spiral staircase to the bedroom.The Library Suite is the most spacious with 14' pocket doors that can convert the living room to a 2nd bedroom. The suite has a working fireplace with an antique mantle, leaded-glass skylights, and a fine literary collection in its floor to ceiling bookcases.Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen stocked with complimentary wine, fruit basket, breakfast treats, snacks and beverages. 24 hour concierge, daily housekeeping and laundry services are provided with a judicious blend of presence and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Inn New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn New York City Hotel New York City
Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing