We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cute and Sweet Hotel”
Review of Roger Smith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roger Smith Hotel
Ranked #104 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

this is a very spacaious hotel room that we stayed in . End of the hall , corner junior suite . there was 3 of us and we each had our own bed and our own dresser / table to place / spread out our items . The bathroom was small and needs to be remodeld as well as the pipes that are visable in the corners of the floor along the wall of the room . But other then that it was very clean and comfy bed with minimal improvements needed .

Room Tip: get a room facing lexington avenue.. amazing views , shopping and food along this street . and walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatPrayTravel2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

The first impression at the hotel was the best. We arrived very early, around 7:30 in the morning, and the hotel was fully booked. Considering that we, probably, had to wait until the regular check in time at 3:00 pm, we store the luggage and head for a breakfast and, since the place were just at the corner, when we finished we decided to check the room availability and the front desk clerk manage to have a room for us very quickly. By 10:00 am we were unpacking and enjoying a nice shower. The room was surprisingly large for Manhattan standards. The staff was very friendly and the location is superb. Few blocks north of the Grand Central Station, three blocks south of the 51st Street subway station, so we could go around the Big Apple very easily.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicilian45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Roger Smith is awesome! It has so much character. The location ( 47th & Lex) is great. Your just a couple of blocks from Grand Central and walking distance to so many wonderful locations. The staff is about the best we've ever experienced. They are so charming, helpful and well informed about NYC. The rooms are immaculately clean, beds are so comfortable. The daily housekeeping great! Excellent location with all expected amenities! 1 week was just not enough. We can't wait to get back. Thanks so much to the entire staff at RS! We loved it! in one word "Awesome".

Paul & Susan Weir, N.O., La

Room Tip: Rm 811 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_WNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location is excellent, price paid was good for the place. Unfortunately the attitude and way of dealing with customers in front desk is horrible. Terrible hotelier. I strongly discourage a stay in this hotel hoping owners will change front desk management and workers.
Both front desk management and workers with an offensive attitude, unfriendly, and the opposite of what "hospitality"should mean.
In same holiday I stayed in two others hotel and had a much better service experience.

The awful service happened in two shifts:
11th April 2012 at 2pm
12th April 2012 at 10am

Shame yourself for how you conduct the business

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claudioita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlenny P, Manager at Roger Smith Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear, Caludioita,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay this April. I am delighted to hear that you found our location ideal for your travel. While you stayed in one of my personal favorite rooms, which has been recently renovated, I’m disappointed to hear about the unpleasant service you experienced from the front office staff. The Roger Smith Hotel has been recognized for the personal and friendly hospitality that we pride ourselves in, and the reason we retain our loyal guests. I will be following up with the front office and executive teams to ensure that this does not happen again. Please consider giving us a second opportunity to provide you with a memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Marlenny Paredes
wecare@rogersmith.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed in the Roger Smith for one night in mid april, had a reservation for a hotel in New Jersey that offered transportation every 30 minutes to NYC due to the fact that it's almost impossible to find a decent hotel at a decent price in Manhattan. But a friend suggested to try and see if we could find something through the internet, so he made a quick search in Hotels.com and found the Roger Smith at a good price ($198/night), so we decided to take it and avoid NJ. We were pleasantly surprised, as the hotel is in an excellent location, check-in took 2 minutes, and got a room on the 8th. floor (so no noise from Lexington Avenue). The room was a bit dated, but had a cozy feeling, had a mini fridge and a coffee maker, and the bathroom was very clean (although a bit dated too). No problems with the wireless network (even placed a couple of facetime calls which require at least an average internet speed), furniture could use some cleaning.
Overall a nice stay, would stay there again because of the price/value ratio.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pppjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is located in the centre of Manhattan a few minutes walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, and the Rockerfeller Centre. The Junior Suite we occupied was nicely appointed and very clean and the WiFi worked well.

The hotel is on a busy street so if your sleep is easily disturbed it may not be for you, but this didn't bother us at all.

We didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment.

Absolutely no cause for any complaint.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room so don't know what any of the others were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference and it quickly became my NYC home. The staff is great, they are friendly & very helpful with everything from locating a package to helping find a restaurant. My room was a very nice size, was clean, comfortable, and felt like a guest room in a home more than a hotel. The location is very convenient. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#124 of 470 in New York City
664 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 470 in New York City
547 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
723 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#199 of 470 in New York City
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roger Smith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Smith Hotel

Address: 501 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £108 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roger Smith Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic 1930's New York skyscraper - Midtown location on east side, 3 blocks to Grand Central Station. Home away from home. People. Art. Stories. Ideas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Roger Smith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roger Smith
Roger Smith Hotel New York
Roger Smith New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing